Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Research & Development
Reload this Page Development: Pokémon Fire Red Hacked Engine

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
Research & Development programs in this forum are subject to moderator approval before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #301    
Old October 5th, 2010 (12:35 PM).
Super Ultra Mega Charizard Super Ultra Mega Charizard is offline
not a beginner trainer :P
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: over there
Gender: Male
Posts: 51
Quote originally posted by Black pass:
The guide is not complete at all (sorry, I think that some parts of the guide is only for very advanced rom hackers, I don't understand all the guide then).

I don't want to offense the creator of this engine, but I think that he's ignoring us (he got tired of us, how depressing -.-). Of course, there's no help for my problem, I'm only a mortal person, BUT my problem is talking about a glitch, so imagine, how can a tutorial tell me about repairing a hack tool?

chriskid198: Behaviour is the overworld state. For example, facing up, facing down, walking up, walking down, walking right and left, hidden, etc. You have a behaviour list in Advance Map as well.

Bye.
Maybe he's ignoring you because duh? He hasn't finished the tool yet so you have to wait. It wasn't obvious? 0_o
__________________
can you raed tihs? Bcueas if you can you jsut wetasd yuor tmie.
Reply With Quote
  #302    
Old October 9th, 2010 (11:45 PM).
プラチナ・ベルリッツ's Avatar
プラチナ・ベルリッツ プラチナ・ベルリッツ is offline
~してんのうの カトレア!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Isshu with Zuruzukin!
Age: 19
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Posts: 14
Hey there! I am absolutely loving your hacked engine! It made me do the stuff that I need to do so badly with minimum effort. Thank you so much!

One thing though, I can add new OW palettes nicely but the problem is I can only load the new palettes in the slots 0x0 (player) and 0xA. Because when I try to load it into the other slots, they don't change at all they just remain the same. I've tried anything that I can do but no dice. I want it to load in any slot so, any help that I could get?

Thanks anyway! :D
__________________
CURRENT
POKéMON BLACK TEAM!

Reply With Quote
  #303    
Old October 19th, 2010 (11:49 PM).
mindfreak's Avatar
mindfreak mindfreak is offline
Belgium Rom hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Hey,
I've a problem with the extra ow palettes.

Everything works fine until the 27 pal.
For some reason all palettes after 0x1a24D8 won't work...

Does this happen to anyone else and are there any solutions?

Every Idea is welcome,
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #304    
Old October 25th, 2010 (02:45 AM). Edited October 25th, 2010 by JPAN.
JPAN JPAN is offline
pokemon rom researcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Sorry for the late replies, everyone, my PC died and took quite a while to get a new one.
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
After applying the Overworld Hack (Table of tables, hero switching etc), the surfing stops working in my rom. Just the surfing mind, nothing else.
Certain sprites need specific palette values to work with certain animations. Surf is one of them. If it crashes while using the original sprite, it may be because you have a pokemon in the box, as Var 0x7000 up are located from box one onwards (GameFreaks didn't need to worry, as they knew from the start the memory layout).
Also, not only that but also the hero VS-seeker animations must be correct in order for surf and fly (and any other HM) to work. Check those both first.

Quote:
Another minor bug to report. If you apply the trainer flag hack, the game crashes and resets if you are challenged by a trainer who is 4 or more steps away from you. That is, whenever the move camera to show sprite response is triggered, the game crashes. Dunno if anyone has noticed this as yet.
This doesn't happen on a unedited Fire Red rom I applied it with, so it must be because of the OW hack. Currently, however, I can't find anything wrong with it. Crashes may also follow because of the first question.


Quote originally posted by プラチナ・ベルリッツ:
One thing though, I can add new OW palettes nicely but the problem is I can only load the new palettes in the slots 0x0 (player) and 0xA. Because when I try to load it into the other slots, they don't change at all they just remain the same. I've tried anything that I can do but no dice. I want it to load in any slot so, any help that I could get?
That is a problem I didn't encounter until mentioned, as I always tested with OW palette 0 and A (no reason why, though, just happened). As such, I didn't know about the "forced load" on start that only happens once per map. This should fix it.
Using a hex editor, replace the following values
starting at 0x0805E5E0, place 70 88 09 07 09 0f 00 29 01 d0 05 e0,
then at 0x0805e5f8 place 03 e0

Also, another "problem" arises from the mist weather. palette slot 0x1, 0x6 to 0x9 and 0xb are reserved for the mist weather effect. If you don't plan on using it on your hack, and need the extra palettes, you can use them after disabling the effect.
at 0x0805f680 place 22 e0 (for palette slots 0x6-0x9 + 0xb),
at 0x0805f60c place 20 e0 (for palette slot 0x1, the player mist slot).
If you wish to have the player enter misty areas, do not apply the last one.

Quote originally posted by mindfreak:
Everything works fine until the 27 pal.
For some reason all palettes after 0x1a24D8 won't work...
I've made plenty of tests, and this problem only exists because of the previous one. After correcting, I tried 0x50 random generated palettes, and worked perfectly.

Also, I'm working right now in remaking this hack in light of recent developments (The variable problem). Also, It will take quite a while before it's released, as the new verison should be compatible with both Emerald and Fire Red. Besides a much less annoying interface, it will be wiritten in Java, meaning it should be useable in all OS that support it (Unix-based, OSx and Windows included). It will also feature a "revert to Original" feature that allows you to remove the hack "safely" from your ROM, and implement a new version (or the original ROM, if so desired).
__________________
Here are the links for my work


Currently working on:
Battle Script Documentation
Another large project
Reply With Quote
  #305    
Old October 25th, 2010 (04:11 AM). Edited October 26th, 2010 by プラチナ・ベルリッツ.
プラチナ・ベルリッツ's Avatar
プラチナ・ベルリッツ プラチナ・ベルリッツ is offline
~してんのうの カトレア!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Isshu with Zuruzukin!
Age: 19
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by JPAN:
That is a problem I didn't encounter until mentioned, as I always tested with OW palette 0 and A (no reason why, though, just happened). As such, I didn't know about the "forced load" on start that only happens once per map. This should fix it.
at 0x0805E5E0, place 70 88 09 07 09 0f 00 29 01 d0 05 e0,
then at 0x085e5ef8 place 03 e0
Umm... How are you going to put this? By using writebytetooffset or hex-editing? I tried to hex-edit it at 0x5E5E0 & 0x5E5EF8 (because 0x08 means ROM?) but I think nothing happened and it won't load the palette to 0xA anymore.

Maybe I did something wrong...


EDIT: Wow, amazing! Totally works now! Thank you very much! ^.^
__________________
CURRENT
POKéMON BLACK TEAM!

Reply With Quote
  #306    
Old October 25th, 2010 (10:11 AM).
mindfreak's Avatar
mindfreak mindfreak is offline
Belgium Rom hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Quote originally posted by プラチナ・ベルリッツ:
Umm... How are you going to put this? By using writebytetooffset or hex-editing? I tried to hex-edit it at 0x5E5E0 & 0x5E5EF8 (because 0x08 means ROM?) but I think nothing happened and it won't load the palette to 0xA anymore.

Maybe I did something wrong...
You need to insert it with a hex editor,


@Jpan, Thanks for your response but your fix worked only half.
The palettes after my 27t pal work but I still cant use other slot's than 0,1A,1B and now these slots only work after you refresh the screen (By opening the bag,Pokedex,Options....).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #307    
Old October 26th, 2010 (06:54 PM).
itistheriz's Avatar
itistheriz itistheriz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 29
One quick question...

Does this make the rom too big to be written to a blank gba cartridge? I want to make a hack that can be written to 2 blank cartidges so me and my friend can play and trade.
Reply With Quote
  #308    
Old October 26th, 2010 (08:33 PM).
プラチナ・ベルリッツ's Avatar
プラチナ・ベルリッツ プラチナ・ベルリッツ is offline
~してんのうの カトレア!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Isshu with Zuruzukin!
Age: 19
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by itistheriz:
One quick question...

Does this make the rom too big to be written to a blank gba cartridge? I want to make a hack that can be written to 2 blank cartidges so me and my friend can play and trade.
No, it shouldn't be big. The hack actually erases content (e.g. scripts and OW's on the maps). I don't know about expanded ROM's, though.

Off-topic: Make sure you don't sell 'em!
__________________
CURRENT
POKéMON BLACK TEAM!

Reply With Quote
  #309    
Old November 5th, 2010 (06:56 AM).
masterquestmq's Avatar
masterquestmq masterquestmq is offline
Enthusiastic Rom Hacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
just wanted to double check when i downloaded this none of the warps work..... cant even leave the house... do we have to redo all the warps again?
Reply With Quote
  #310    
Old November 5th, 2010 (03:08 PM).
プラチナ・ベルリッツ's Avatar
プラチナ・ベルリッツ プラチナ・ベルリッツ is offline
~してんのうの カトレア!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Isshu with Zuruzukin!
Age: 19
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by masterquestmq:
just wanted to double check when i downloaded this none of the warps work..... cant even leave the house... do we have to redo all the warps again?
No, you don't have too. The only place where the warps are messed up is Pallet Town and that's it. Just add new warps that lead to Pallet Town to make it work again.
__________________
CURRENT
POKéMON BLACK TEAM!

Reply With Quote
  #311    
Old November 27th, 2010 (09:20 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
I found a bug: when using the tile bytes type of script, it doesn't update the PLAYERFACING variable as it does when you use any other type of regular script.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #312    
Old November 29th, 2010 (11:33 AM).
psychicboy's Avatar
psychicboy psychicboy is offline
Hacking is all that matters...
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twilight Town
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 534
I have a question. I already researched and apparently SMCA doesn't work with this patch. How do I hex edit the starting location? And what free hex editor would be good for this? Thanks in advance ~
__________________
Soon to be Hacking legend...
~Psy







Wanna play my hack? Check it out here!

My sig was "too big brah", so I shortened it.
Reply With Quote
  #313    
Old November 30th, 2010 (01:06 AM).
NintendoBoyDX NintendoBoyDX is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 94
At which addresses can I find the data for losing a trainerbattle(specifically trainerbattle ?9) before and after applying this hack? (goal is to eliminate writing out after.trainerbattle losses.
Reply With Quote
  #314    
Old November 30th, 2010 (02:52 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
Building on what's said above, you should make it so we can set a variable and different things will happen upon losing a battle.
EX. 0 = to last healing spot
1= continue after beaten

Also, another suggestion: can you make the "what happened on your last save" thing when you press continue disabled? It really interferes with some things, making the currently applied OW appear before it was applied, for example.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #315    
Old December 4th, 2010 (12:36 PM). Edited December 4th, 2010 by NintendoBoyDX.
NintendoBoyDX NintendoBoyDX is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 94
I was wondering, what are the most commonly used sizes for the OW table, backsprite sets, and image locations(0x18b) with this hack? One would imagine you wouldn't need 60k worth of OW sprites.
Reply With Quote
  #316    
Old December 21st, 2010 (09:42 PM).
Germaniac's Avatar
Germaniac Germaniac is offline
Victoria Concordia Crescit
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 558
Wow! Good job! What about expand the pokemon? So it can be more than 411 Pokemon in a game
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #317    
Old January 4th, 2011 (04:23 AM).
>Dante<'s Avatar
>Dante< >Dante< is offline
Call me Steven
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torino (ITA)
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 204
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to >Dante<
I'm too confused about the trainer backsprite.
JPAN said:
"The third and final Trainer customization is the backsprite switch. This is a very special one, as it not only switches the trainer’s back Sprite, as it does with all back Sprites, like the Old man, or the Poke Dude from Teachy TV. To do so, just set a value superior to 0x0 in variable 0x4062. This hack will search if the backsprite to be displayed is one of the original ones, so if your hack requires it, change the backsprite on that position, as well as the palette on that position. Very important: DO NOT REPOINT THE ORIGINALS. If the backsprite table at 0x234718 is changed even by a bit, this code will not work."

Well...I've tried to use setvar 0x4062 0x1 and I work well. The trainer backsprite were changed into the old man's backsprite. But what is the value to set to obtined the girl backsprite...or the TeachTV backsprite???
There are a lot of backsprite in fire red...such as the R/S trainers.

Could enyone help me??
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #318    
Old January 7th, 2011 (09:46 PM).
Johto_legend's Avatar
Johto_legend Johto_legend is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
Im not sure if its possible or anything, but i think it would be a good idea to add the ability to expand the pokedex to be able to fit around 500 pokemon instead of the 3rd gen 386. im not the most knowledgeable person on this subject but i think its a good idea.
Reply With Quote
  #319    
Old January 10th, 2011 (09:29 PM).
psychicboy's Avatar
psychicboy psychicboy is offline
Hacking is all that matters...
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twilight Town
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 534
Quote originally posted by psychicboy:
I have a question. I already researched and apparently SMCA doesn't work with this patch. How do I hex edit the starting location? And what free hex editor would be good for this? Thanks in advance ~
Bump for the lolz. No one has an answer?
__________________
Soon to be Hacking legend...
~Psy







Wanna play my hack? Check it out here!

My sig was "too big brah", so I shortened it.
Reply With Quote
  #320    
Old January 16th, 2011 (03:12 PM). Edited January 16th, 2011 by Jambo51.
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 730
For anyone who was having the same problem as me with the tool version of the Overworld Hack (Where it glitches out on trying to use the surf sprite, and it glitches out when trying to move the camera to show the (!) above a trainer's head), navigate to 0x5F2E4. There is a "bad" pointer here. When the game accesses it, it crashes. What you must do to fix it is copy the pointer at 0x5F2D0 and replace the pointer at 0x5F2E4 with it.

Credit for this fix goes to Diegoisawesome. I only posted it because he's busy.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
Reply With Quote
  #321    
Old January 24th, 2011 (04:13 AM).
masterquestmq's Avatar
masterquestmq masterquestmq is offline
Enthusiastic Rom Hacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
I've been having trouble with the nurse joy script on this hacked engine

the game crashes after she gives me back the pokemon(before the hope we see you again script)

is it the script or we just cant recreate the nurse joy script?

some help here

#dynamic 0x720000
#org @nurse_start
lock
faceplayer
special 0x187
compare LASTRESULT 0x2
if 0x1 goto @error_release
preparemsg @heal_q '"Welcome to our POKéMON CENTER!\pWo..."
waitmsg
multichoice 0x13 0x8 0x0 0x2
copyvar 0x8000 LASTRESULT
compare 0x8000 0x0
if 0x1 goto @set_heal_poke
compare 0x8000 0x1
if 0x1 goto @go_away
compare 0x8000 0x7F
if 0x1 goto @go_away
release
end

'---------------
#org @error_release
release
end

'---------------
#org @set_heal_poke
cmdc3 0xF
preparemsg @will_heal '"Okay, I'll take your POKéMON for a..."
waitmsg
call @heal_anime
special 0x169
goto @check_wireless

'---------------
#org @go_away
msgbox @goodbye MSG_KEEPOPEN '"We hope to see you again!"
release
end
Reply With Quote
  #322    
Old January 27th, 2011 (11:30 PM).
s270171's Avatar
s270171 s270171 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Posts: 20
YEA! i agree. expanding the pokedex would basically make you, JPAN, the ONE PERSON to think of everything i could possibly need... besides lu-ho and hackmew
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #323    
Old January 31st, 2011 (09:21 AM).
masterquestmq's Avatar
masterquestmq masterquestmq is offline
Enthusiastic Rom Hacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
I have a problem

everytime I compile scripts they work perfectly in the game.
its been great for a week until today

After I compile scripts in the game they work normally
but after a few hours when i reload my rom some scripts just disappear. (some old scripts some new ones life signposts talking scripts and even my mom script

Now im so paranoid i check my rom every few hours and some scripts are still disappearing. when i click the open script tab on AM it shows me an empty XSE screen with just the offset.

I use XSE to script and i search from beginning of rom to get my offset


am i doing something wrong
or its a major bug on my rom?
Reply With Quote
  #324    
Old January 31st, 2011 (09:56 AM).
Johto_legend's Avatar
Johto_legend Johto_legend is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 188
Quote originally posted by masterquestmq:
I have a problem

everytime I compile scripts they work perfectly in the game.
its been great for a week until today

After I compile scripts in the game they work normally
but after a few hours when i reload my rom some scripts just disappear. (some old scripts some new ones life signposts talking scripts and even my mom script

Now im so paranoid i check my rom every few hours and some scripts are still disappearing. when i click the open script tab on AM it shows me an empty XSE screen with just the offset.

I use XSE to script and i search from beginning of rom to get my offset


am i doing something wrong
or its a major bug on my rom?
well most people start at 800000 when looking for an offset, only because things that are happening to you do occur. try using offsets from 800000 and up.
Reply With Quote
  #325    
Old January 31st, 2011 (12:26 PM).
Sora's Nobody's Avatar
Sora's Nobody Sora's Nobody is offline
The Official Roxas
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Destiny Island
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 1,111
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Sora's Nobody
Does someone know why this happens when i mess around in A-MAP. The rom is patched with the engine. It happens everytime i add a event and then try doing something else (more or less...)
__________________

Sora's Nobody ★ Nothing Yet!
♠The Official Roxas♠ My Stuff:


Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:51 AM.