Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19926    
Old November 9th, 2011 (12:48 PM).
pidizz's Avatar
pidizz pidizz is offline
ludicolo Will defeat anything!
Team Sinnoh
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Leksand, Sweden
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 6
Thanks anbujas_bloody for the help, even though it didn't work i really appreciate it.
Maybe i should stick to fire red since i've made my titlescreen on it.
But anyway thanks again for the help and tutorials !
  #19927    
Old November 9th, 2011 (03:42 PM).
jojo1250's Avatar
jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
Team Johto
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 26
hi im here again, with yet another sprite inserting question. im inserting sprites with advance pokemon sprite editor and after i resize and fix a "bigger" sprite and try to insert it, then the sprite gets all screwed up and only certain parts of the sprite show up.
how do i fix this? and how did it happen so it doesnt happen agian?
thnks!
  #19928    
Old November 9th, 2011 (06:56 PM).
kkj1116 kkj1116 is offline
New Account: jwibagi
Team Kalos
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 42
Okay, so I'm super OCD and in my Ruby game, I play my Elite Four with a special Pokemon order so that it registers in the Hall of Fame with the exact same order on all of my tries.

I stopped playing on my emulator for a couple of months and came back - and I beat Steven with two Pokemon switched.

Can anyone point me to the RAM offset where I could switch the two Pokemon in my 8th Hall of Fame? Or better yet, is anyone willing to do it themselves (saving the pain of explaining to me what to do)?

Thanks if you can help :-) !
  #19929    
Old November 9th, 2011 (07:53 PM). Edited November 9th, 2011 by Jay the penguin.
Jay the penguin's Avatar
Jay the penguin Jay the penguin is offline
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 31
How do you hack the title screen.. I did search aroud and try it but I still can't get it right

Okay back again... I cant seem to find out how to give the hero the national pokedex.. Does anyone know how?
__________________


My Hack!
Visit the thread!
  #19930    
Old November 10th, 2011 (07:17 AM). Edited November 10th, 2011 by Rasenshurikenbum.
Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
ASM is very cool!
Team Sinnoh
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 68
Quote originally posted by jojo1250:
hi im here again, with yet another sprite inserting question. im inserting sprites with advance pokemon sprite editor and after i resize and fix a "bigger" sprite and try to insert it, then the sprite gets all screwed up and only certain parts of the sprite show up.
how do i fix this? and how did it happen so it doesnt happen agian?
thnks!
Could you make a screenshot and upload it on imageshack?
Of course make the link censored cause you don't have 15 post yet...

Quote originally posted by Jay the penguin:
How do you hack the title screen.. I did search aroud and try it but I still can't get it right

Okay back again... I cant seem to find out how to give the hero the national pokedex.. Does anyone know how?

1. Title screen... ruby, fire red? PLEASE always write the version
2. You have to write a script (the best would be in XSE cause you can simultaneously compile it). If you don't know how to do it then find kind of "HUGE XSE TUTORIAL". There's everything you need to write the script (with national pokedex special command too)
  #19931    
Old November 10th, 2011 (09:40 AM).
Ivee's Avatar
Ivee Ivee is offline
Ask me about Trailblazer :3
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 62
This is going to sound super noobish but...
I'm using Advance Text, and didn't see the Gym sign for Vermilion. I also can't open its script through Advance Map. How to I search for it in PKSV, since that seems to be the only thing I can do?
  #19932    
Old November 10th, 2011 (11:27 AM).
Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
ASM is very cool!
Team Sinnoh
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 68
Quote originally posted by Ivee:
This is going to sound super noobish but...
I'm using Advance Text, and didn't see the Gym sign for Vermilion. I also can't open its script through Advance Map. How to I search for it in PKSV, since that seems to be the only thing I can do?
Try to find it in hex editor, like Thingy32. Of course you need table with characters. You can make your own in program called TaBuLar (character set here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=189143 in attached files below). Then open Thingy32 and TWICE open the table (tbl) file. Then press s for search and write your text you want to edit. If it doesn't work try to do it in another hex editor like Hex Workshop.
  #19933    
Old November 10th, 2011 (12:45 PM). Edited November 10th, 2011 by jojo1250.
jojo1250's Avatar
jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
Team Johto
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by Rasenshurikenbum:
Could you make a screenshot and upload it on imageshack?
Of course make the link censored cause you don't have 15 post yet...
I will post an image the next post i make, im at 14 posts at the moment
  #19934    
Old November 10th, 2011 (01:18 PM).
DavidJCobb DavidJCobb is offline
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
Team Hoenn
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by Ivee:
This is going to sound super noobish but...
I'm using Advance Text, and didn't see the Gym sign for Vermilion. I also can't open its script through Advance Map. How to I search for it in PKSV, since that seems to be the only thing I can do?
Use AdvanceMap to find the Signpost Event for the Gym sign, and then copy down its offset. Use PKSV or XSE to decompile the script at that offset. Inside the script, there should be another offset pointing to the location of the text.
__________________
  #19935    
Old November 10th, 2011 (03:11 PM).
dribs357 dribs357 is offline
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
is any tools for hacking the dialogue in any mystery dungeon game? I know of the starter hack and that weird one by grovyle91 but is there anything else?
  #19936    
Old November 11th, 2011 (04:20 AM).
jojo1250's Avatar
jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
Team Johto
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by Rasenshurikenbum:
Could you make a screenshot and upload it on imageshack?
Of course make the link censored cause you don't have 15 post yet...
heres the image bare in mind its a test doodle, not the actual sprite.
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/404/76339053.png/
  #19937    
Old November 11th, 2011 (09:12 AM).
Epitaph93's Avatar
Epitaph93 Epitaph93 is offline
Intermediate Digidestined
Team Hoenn
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 119
I'm looking for some sort of fusion script. I was looking around on the site for some sort of custom script, but never found anything. Then I started looking for a hack that instilled a fusion system. I have yet to find one that's even in beta, as it seems most of them were abandoned over a year ago. Can anyone point me in the right direction? If I don't get this script then my DIGIMON don't get to DNA Digivolve
__________________
I'm Epitaph and I plan on releasing the first full-fledged Digimon hack of Pokemon Fire Red. We're getting close to the first release so come check it out in the Progressing hacks, and see how you can help us with the project.
  #19938    
Old November 11th, 2011 (05:15 PM).
Jay the penguin's Avatar
Jay the penguin Jay the penguin is offline
Team Kanto
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 31
How could you allow the hero to run inside?
could you explain on it and how to do it
__________________


My Hack!
Visit the thread!
  #19939    
Old November 11th, 2011 (05:39 PM).
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage hinkage is offline
Go make some new disaster
Team Unova
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 19
Posts: 378
Quote originally posted by Jay the penguin:
How could you allow the hero to run inside?
could you explain on it and how to do it
If you are using FR/LG, change the "Show name on entering" to 02

If you are using R/S/E, change the "Show name on entering" to 0F, and change the Type to Secret Base.
__________________
(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
  #19940    
Old November 11th, 2011 (07:18 PM).
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
Team Kalos
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 330
Quote originally posted by Jay the penguin:
How could you allow the hero to run inside?
could you explain on it and how to do it
Quote originally posted by hinkage:
If you are using FR/LG, change the "Show name on entering" to 02

If you are using R/S/E, change the "Show name on entering" to 0F, and change the Type to Secret Base.
Or you could use Hackmew's quick hex edit...

Found here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=207026
  #19941    
Old November 11th, 2011 (07:24 PM).
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
Divider of Zero
Team Unova
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 693
So, does anybody here have an idea about making a script work on one map and then changing maps but still have the script run fluently?

Pretty much, my dilemma is that I want to recreate the script on this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RWE41apkGSo&feature=fvwrel
from 0:50-1:06

I can make the script work until it leaves the map to Route 1, then it stops. Level scripts don't work when I force the player to move to Route 1, and script tiles don't work by the same conditions either. Do you guys ave any idea?
__________________
Coming soon...
  #19942    
Old November 12th, 2011 (08:27 AM).
Fuyuki Osari Fuyuki Osari is offline
Team Hoenn
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
So I may just be a crazy newbie, but here goes.

I'm thinking of making a hack. I already have most of the basic tools, I've read some tutorials, checked out the R&D board a bit, etc. The community and its products have all been very helpful, needless to say. However, I didn't find anything on this--maybe I didn't look hard enough, maybe no one else has had an interest, whatever.

Part of the concept for the hack involves some changes to the plot and mechanics of the Pokedex... Some or all of my questions may be outside the scope of a "Simple Questions" thread, but I'm not sure, so I'll post them here first.

1) I want the Dex to show full information (what normally displays when they're Caught) on most Pokemon and partial information (what normally displays when they're Seen) on all but the rarest Pokemon by default. However, I don't want the game to consider them Seen/Caught until they actually are, so just setting up a script to set those flags isn't enough. Any ideas how I would go about accomplishing this?

2) The player won't be able to catch legendaries, period. However, they will be encountered. (I assume setting their Catch Rate to 0 would be enough to accomplish this, but correct me if I'm wrong.) However, I want the Dex to treat them as if they were just captured once they've been KO'd, popping up with the entry and everything. Is this feasible? If so, how?
  #19943    
Old November 12th, 2011 (08:57 AM).
infersaime's Avatar
infersaime infersaime is offline
Come and get me
Team Johto
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 278
Send a message via Skype™ to infersaime
Can you put both Hoenn and Kanto(without the Sevii Islands) in one Firered/leafgreen rom?
__________________
My youtube account: http://www.youtube.com/user/infersaime
  #19944    
Old November 12th, 2011 (03:31 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
Team Sinnoh
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,989
Quote originally posted by infersaime:
Can you put both Hoenn and Kanto(without the Sevii Islands) in one Firered/leafgreen rom?
Probably. There's enough space on there for it, I guess, but whether you'd be able to tweak in the flying spots (see: not enough in the Sevii Isles combined for Hoenn, so you need to add some or do something shifty) and stuff is what matters. You can do it, yeah.
__________________
Brony represent.
  #19945    
Old November 13th, 2011 (05:16 AM).
Krika Krika is offline
Team Sinnoh
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
When I try to open some routes in Pokemon Emerald for editing in Advance Map 1.95, I get the error message "ERROR: (ENotAPointer) AdvanceMapError(5): Value $DF1E0A". The value is different for each route that has this error. When I click past it, the Pokemon Encounter lists have been erased (which were what I've been editing with Advance Map).

I would imagine that this is because it's trying to reach a hex value that either doesn't exist, or is filled with stuff that can't be read properly, or something like that, but I'm relatively new to this, so I don't actually know. The only thing I've done is change the Pokemon Encounter charts, so as far as I know, I haven't done anything with scripting. Can anyone tell me what is going wrong?
  #19946    
Old November 13th, 2011 (05:45 AM).
ryanblst ryanblst is offline
Pokemon Balance Grey Creator
Team Johto
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 14
I have a bit of an important question, this issue has been bugging me all day! Basically i inserted overworlds into a ruby rom, i changed the size of frame from 16x32 to 32x32 and for the first few it was fine but after the third overworld insertion something strange occurred! the overworlds got these streaky lines through them that only show up when the hack is played! can someone help me out please: heres a picture of the problem:
__________________
Pokemon Balance Grey Version!
  #19947    
Old November 13th, 2011 (06:23 AM).
ryanblst ryanblst is offline
Pokemon Balance Grey Creator
Team Johto
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 14
i have a big problem for you and you would be a genius if you know how to fix it! basically what happened is that i inserted new overworlds into my rom, i changed the fram size from 16x32 to 32x32 and this happened: the overworlds gained streaky lines through them which are only visible when the hack is played:
__________________
Pokemon Balance Grey Version!
  #19948    
Old November 13th, 2011 (06:33 AM).
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage hinkage is offline
Go make some new disaster
Team Unova
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 19
Posts: 378
Quote originally posted by Krika:
When I try to open some routes in Pokemon Emerald for editing in Advance Map 1.95, I get the error message "ERROR: (ENotAPointer) AdvanceMapError(5): Value $DF1E0A". The value is different for each route that has this error. When I click past it, the Pokemon Encounter lists have been erased (which were what I've been editing with Advance Map).

I would imagine that this is because it's trying to reach a hex value that either doesn't exist, or is filled with stuff that can't be read properly, or something like that, but I'm relatively new to this, so I don't actually know. The only thing I've done is change the Pokemon Encounter charts, so as far as I know, I haven't done anything with scripting. Can anyone tell me what is going wrong?
Advance Map 1.95 is buggy with ANYTHING related to data.
Whether you're changing/removing/adding/inserting anything, A-Map 1.95 will rape it and then laugh at you for being so gullible.

Use A-Map 1.92, and you'll never have these problems. As far as I know, the only safe thing in 1.95 is map editing. In fact, if you use 1.92, and clear out the Pokemon data, then re-add it, the map will work.
__________________
(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
  #19949    
Old November 13th, 2011 (08:33 AM).
SwirlyBirds's Avatar
SwirlyBirds SwirlyBirds is offline
apparently not quite dead
Team Kanto
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: May 2010
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 813
Quote originally posted by hinkage:
Advance Map 1.95 is buggy with ANYTHING related to data.
Whether you're changing/removing/adding/inserting anything, A-Map 1.95 will rape it and then laugh at you for being so gullible.

Use A-Map 1.92, and you'll never have these problems. As far as I know, the only safe thing in 1.95 is map editing. In fact, if you use 1.92, and clear out the Pokemon data, then re-add it, the map will work.
Wrong. I've gotten those problems with 1.92. If you've messed up the wild Pokemon list, you're screwed. Unless you want to hex edit it back, my advice would be to reuse the map for something that doesn't require wild Pokemon, like a town or house interior.
__________________
this is not a signature
  #19950    
Old November 13th, 2011 (09:41 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
Team Johto
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by ryanblst:
I have a bit of an important question, this issue has been bugging me all day! Basically i inserted overworlds into a ruby rom, i changed the size of frame from 16x32 to 32x32 and for the first few it was fine but after the third overworld insertion something strange occurred! the overworlds got these streaky lines through them that only show up when the hack is played! can someone help me out please: heres a picture of the problem:
Make sure that the frames are inserted at offsets that end in 0, 4, 8, or C.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:47 PM.