• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

How can you make an item reward random?

Years
  • Age 37
  • Seen Dec 23, 2015
Hi guys, as you knwo from my toher posts I'm pretty new to pokemon essentials and I was wondering if there's a way to make a reward random generated (or random froma list), I mean, for example, a guy asked me to bring him a potion, then when I give it to him it can give me a pokeball, or a berryjuice, or something else random. Is there a way to make a reward random generated or randomly picked from a preselected list? I have been trying with variables and switches but my programming skills seems to be as good as a jellyfish ones. Thanks in advance guys :D.

Years
  • Age 37
  • Seen Dec 23, 2015
Excuse my ignorance... but... what? lol, I cannot understand a single line of what you said. By the way, thanks a lot man!

Years
Excuse my ignorance... but... what? lol, I cannot understand a single line of what you said. By the way, thanks a lot man!

The first line, you place all the possible rewards into an array. Those are "symbol characters" that are the items' internal names.
The second line randomly chooses from the array. This is like picking a name from a hat.
The last line converts from a symbol to a number, because items are actually stored as numbers.

Years
  • Age 37
  • Seen Dec 23, 2015
The first line, you place all the possible rewards into an array. Those are "symbol characters" that are the items' internal names.
The second line randomly chooses from the array. This is like picking a name from a hat.
The last line converts from a symbol to a number, because items are actually stored as numbers.