Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #8376    
Old February 24th, 2009 (06:05 AM).
Jerros's Avatar
Jerros
TloS FTW!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Quiet
I have a problem with giving a sprite to the 25 empty slots in >>EMERALD<<...
The sprite simply doesn't work for me...
I still encounter a "??" sprite called Togekiss (the one i'm trying to insert).
This is what I do:
First I have my Togekiss sprite.
It has 64x64 pixels and 16 colours.
Next, I go to unLZ, import the sprite, and click on "Write to Rom".
I only tick the "Image" box, since that's what i'm only caring for now.
I enter my empty offset in the "image offset" box in unZL (The offset is 00E5D080).
Now i click on "OK" in unLZ.
Next I open my rom in PEP, i go to the first questionmark (called Togekiss).
Now I enter E5D080 in the top box, called "Sprite offset".
I hit the save button, open the rom, but I still encounter a Togekiss with the ?? sprite.
What am I doing wrong!?Does Sprite inserting works differend in Emerald or something?
I know Emerald has bigger sprites, but I've tried inserting 128x64 and 64x128 sprites too.
It just doesn't seem to do anything.


Secondly,
Is there a way to edit the Trainer Battle intro's?
I want to change the big "Team Aqua Logo" that you see when a battle starts, to a "Team Rocket Logo".
The pictures aren't in unLZ, right? (I've searched through, but I'm not sure if it's L77T compressed (or something)).


And lastly (an easier one): How does a "map Script" work in advancemap?
I've tried just putting a regular script at the offset, and then experiment around with the Script Type (like 03 on entering map/menu close and all those things), but the screen just goes black, or nothing happens at all.
How can I, lets say, make the player jump as soon as he enters the map?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
  #8377    
Old February 24th, 2009 (06:24 AM). Edited February 24th, 2009 by Razer Rage.
Razer Rage
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Gender:
Quote originally posted by Razer Rage:
Well, after a brief search I couldn't find anything, so forgive me if this has been asked already.

In a nutshell, I am wondering how one would go about making custom multichoice menus. And besides that, how do you make new/custom items, decorations, etc.

Basically, I'm wondering how you customize or add new (for lack of a better word) objects into the hack. I know there isn't a "tell-all" solution for this, but if I could know how to make multi-choice menus (or a work around, at least), I would be much obliged.

I have many other questions, but that is the most pressing for me at the moment.
I could really use some help here...
__________________
Click here if you are a fan of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.
  #8378    
Old February 24th, 2009 (07:24 AM).
The One J-Cool
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:
Yeah you can add more free space to a rom thus expanding it. You can use a hex editor or xse to do it.
where in the hex do you have to go to edit the size? My friend cant find it.
  #8379    
Old February 24th, 2009 (01:40 PM).
evilottojr
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sure... why not?
Gender:
Could someone post a STEP-BY-STEP tutorial to put wild pokemon data back in the
Safari Zone in Pokemon Gold/Silver? (preferably in Score_Under's PKSV)

Thanks!
  #8380    
Old February 24th, 2009 (01:54 PM).
TB Pro's Avatar
TB Pro
Old-timer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Midwestern USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Jerros:
And lastly (an easier one): How does a "map Script" work in advancemap?
I've tried just putting a regular script at the offset, and then experiment around with the Script Type (like 03 on entering map/menu close and all those things), but the screen just goes black, or nothing happens at all.
How can I, lets say, make the player jump as soon as he enters the map?

Thanks in advance!
A map script is a Level script. The reason why it's not working is because you have to add setvar to the end of the script. Make sure to use a free variable, though.
__________________
--I'm a creepin'..
  #8381    
Old February 24th, 2009 (03:35 PM).
wtfman880's Avatar
wtfman880
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Gender:
Where do i get PkmnADV database installer? or, is there an easier way to create & use scripts in Advance Map? Also, i cannot get to "Map Header" to do things in-A-mapping like in some Youtube tuts.Also, I am hacking Emerald,an im doin it legally, too.


Btw i need to attach a new map to a city but can't.




Help me! Im drowning in Hex code and scripts!!!
  #8382    
Old February 24th, 2009 (07:54 PM).
IIMarckus's Avatar
IIMarckus
J946@5488AA97464
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
Quote originally posted by evilottojr:
Could someone post a STEP-BY-STEP tutorial to put wild pokemon data back in the
Safari Zone in Pokemon Gold/Silver? (preferably in Score_Under's PKSV)
It probably can’t be done in PKSV, because PKSV is a scripting tool and not a wild Pokémon editor. Try opening the ROM in a hex editor.

Starting at offset 0x02AB35 is a list of wild Pokémon and their locations, in the following format:
[2‐byte map number]
[wild Pokémon ratio morn][wild Pokémon ratio day][wild Pokémon ratio nite]
[level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species] (morn)
[level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species] (day)
[level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species][level][species] (nite)

The list continues this way until you reach a FF for the first byte, which signifies the end of the list.

So replacing a two‐byte map number with the Safari Zone’s map number (0350 in Gold) should make wild Pokémon appear in that map. If you don’t want to overwrite one location you can always repoint the list.
__________________
iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

Pokémon Red disassembly project

Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
  #8383    
Old February 24th, 2009 (09:37 PM).
UltraViolet
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Ok, so I'm trying to edit the title screen of pokemon firered.
I'm replacing the Charizard with an image within the correct dimensions.
After tilemapping and doing everything CORRECTLY:
I needed to change the palette, because instead of having proper colors(black and red), it was yellow and white. Finally, in the finishing product after using APE, it becomes invisible.
I need help, because I don't know what went wrong.
  #8384    
Old February 25th, 2009 (01:32 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
This is probably a noob-ish question, but how do you know how many bytes does a script need?
__________________
  #8385    
Old February 25th, 2009 (03:54 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by ~Watermelon:
This is probably a noob-ish question, but how do you know how many bytes does a script need?
My way to know how many bytes the script needs is if you save it either as an rbc file or just a plain txt file.
You can view it's properties and you can see the size.
__________________
#495 Snivy
Supporter Collab January 2015



  #8386    
Old February 25th, 2009 (04:05 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:

My way to know how many bytes the script needs is if you save it either as an rbc file or just a plain txt file.
You can view it's properties and you can see the size.
It's THAT simple?
Now I'll be making scripts. Imagine: Watermelon scripting. Cool, huh? (joke)
__________________
  #8387    
Old February 25th, 2009 (09:11 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by ~FunHouse~:
Does anyone Know, which is the palette of all casform forms?
You'll have to manually search for the pallets
Just look at HackMew's Knowledge, in the Documents and Tutorials Section, there is a tutorial on how to search for pallets in Advance Pallet Editor (APE)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #8388    
Old February 25th, 2009 (01:04 PM). Edited February 25th, 2009 by Perri Lightfoot.
Perri Lightfoot's Avatar
Perri Lightfoot
Proud to hack Ruby Version!
Community Supporter Tier 5
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nevada
Age: 29
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
I have a quick question that hopefully someone can help me with:

My hack is set in the United States, and I'd really like the prices of items, prize money, etc to reflect the American dollar rather than the Japanese yen (for example, Pokeballs costing 2 dollars rather than 200 "yen"). Now, changing the prices of items is easy enough, but my question concerns how to change the amout of money Trainers give out when you defeat them. Is there any way to change or edit this amount so that, say, your average Bug Catcher will give you only 2 dollars and, say, a Lady will reward you with a cool 20 bucks?

Edit to add: Is it also possible to alter the amount of money you start the game with? (This is a Ruby hack, for reference )
  #8389    
Old February 25th, 2009 (01:11 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by Pink Parka Girl:
I have a quick question that hopefully someone can help me with:

My hack is set in the United States, and I'd really like the prices of items, prize money, etc to reflect the American dollar rather than the Japanese yen (for example, Pokeballs costing 2 dollars rather than 200 dollars). Now, changing the prices of items is easy enough, but my question concerns how to change the amout of money Trainers give out when you defeat them. Is there any way to change or edit this amount so that, say, your average Bug Catcher will give you only 2 dollars and, say, a Lady will reward you with a cool 20 bucks?
use HackMew's new tool called Advance Trainer.
It can be found in the Toolbox section.
__________________
#495 Snivy
Supporter Collab January 2015



  #8390    
Old February 25th, 2009 (01:54 PM).
Sonikku17's Avatar
Sonikku17
Wanderer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 22
Nature: Impish
I hope someone can help me out here.

As far as I can tell, I haven't done anything out of the ordinary (I don't use advance text or anything like that), but out of nowhere, for some reason, when the game displays an apostrophe or a quotation mark in a message box, a weird little "phantom" comma appears under it. Anyone know how to fix or get rid of this?
  #8391    
Old February 25th, 2009 (01:55 PM).
evilottojr
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sure... why not?
Gender:
Quote originally posted by IIMarckus:
It would be easier to understand the problem if you could tell us exactly what changes you have made to your ROM.
I hadn't done much (some text, sprite, and attack editing) but due to that fact I just started it over. I was only like 4 hours work anyway. So problem solved
  #8392    
Old February 25th, 2009 (02:30 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:


use HackMew's new tool called Advance Trainer.
It can be found in the Toolbox section.

Well, you are going to have to edit the PokeYen Symbol in the game.

It can be found somewhere in the rom using Tile Molester or TLP. or another tile editing program... but you'll have to find that yourself...

Go in, find the $ symbol, and then copy it, then just paste it over the PokeYen sign.
PokeYen is a term used by HackMew to call the P shaped money symbol in pokemon games, I call it that too since it makes sense...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #8393    
Old February 25th, 2009 (03:39 PM).
chazethechat
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
How do I put an MP3 I want in Ruby?
__________________

Name: Entei
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
  #8394    
Old February 25th, 2009 (03:54 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by chazethechat:
How do I put an MP3 I want in Ruby?
Unfortunately, you cant put any MP3's in Pokemon games... all pokemon games use MIDI songs, converted into .s files, in order to play them...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #8395    
Old February 25th, 2009 (04:03 PM).
chazethechat
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
Unfortunately, you cant put any MP3's in Pokemon games... all pokemon games use MIDI songs, converted into .s files, in order to play them...
Is there anyway to convert?
__________________

Name: Entei
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
  #8396    
Old February 25th, 2009 (04:15 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by chazethechat:
Is there anyway to convert?
Well, it wouldn't matter, even if you could convert the song, because the song uses the incorrect instrument groups...
You might want to look in the Documents And Tutorials section for a music editing tutorial...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #8397    
Old February 25th, 2009 (04:42 PM).
Celebi_fan's Avatar
Celebi_fan
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2008
I searched the entire forums, and didn't find a single answer: How can I, or what tool do I use to, extend a GBA ROM? Whenever I go to insert a sprite with UNZLgba, it says that is is too big. So I replace the image offset with 00800000. Of course, I cannot use that again. (I tried, and whenever i got to the part where the image would be, the game freezes) I used HackMew's Free Space Finder, bu it doe the same thing. Is there a way, or a program, to extend the dataspace of a gba rom? (I am trying to Hack Pokemon LG)
__________________
I GOTZ NOH SIGNURTURE
  #8398    
Old February 25th, 2009 (05:08 PM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Quote originally posted by Celebi_fan:
I searched the entire forums, and didn't find a single answer: How can I, or what tool do I use to, extend a GBA ROM? Whenever I go to insert a sprite with UNZLgba, it says that is is too big. So I replace the image offset with 00800000. Of course, I cannot use that again. (I tried, and whenever i got to the part where the image would be, the game freezes) I used HackMew's Free Space Finder, bu it doe the same thing. Is there a way, or a program, to extend the dataspace of a gba rom? (I am trying to Hack Pokemon LG)
Quote originally posted by Gamer2020:
Yeah you can add more free space to a rom thus expanding it. You can use a hex editor or xse to do it.
as for the rest idk how to explain it so maybe someone else can...
__________________
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
Pokemon TCG Assistant!
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Accept no imitations!
  #8399    
Old February 25th, 2009 (05:17 PM). Edited March 2nd, 2009 by Destrozone.
Destrozone's Avatar
Destrozone
Finally Flyin' Solo
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Narnia Hills, California.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to Destrozone Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Destrozone
Extremely complicated question (I think):
How can I expand the amount of icon palettes in Pokemon Fire Red? I want to make it so that each pokemon has its own little palette so that I can truly change the icons. If I cannot do this, can someone please point me towards another way to take an actual rom (NOT Poccils essentials) and change the icon without the aid of Icon ed?

Heres a picture:

Instead of editing it, I'm now asking if there is a way to expand the amount of palettes from the 3 that come in game, to more like 150.

P.S. Please answer this I really need to know so that my hack may progress!

~Des
__________________
I have Returned!
  #8400    
Old February 25th, 2009 (08:54 PM).
IIMarckus's Avatar
IIMarckus
J946@5488AA97464
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:
My way to know how many bytes the script needs is if you save it either as an rbc file or just a plain txt file.
You can view it's properties and you can see the size.
That would be the size of the file, yes? How is that useful when what you really want is the size in bytes of the compiled script? Or am I misinterpreting something?
__________________
iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

Pokémon Red disassembly project

Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:59 PM.