• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Other] Advanced Sprite Editor Data?

Years
    • Seen Aug 7, 2016
    Hi super experienced Rom hackers!

I'll preface this thread by warning you that this may come off as quite naive of me:

I have a problem dealing with the compatibility between 2 different .ips files.
    I'm trying to have my ROM work with Moemon .ips patch, but the 2 ROMS have data in the same offsets! (Hindsight is 20/20)

Anyways, Moemon uses Wichu's Advanced Sprite Editor to add new sprites. I'm not familiar with this tool, so I don't know how it handles the data (I'm not a programmer, so please forgive my stupidity).

Is it "easy/simple" to move data from Moemon .ips patch (data is located from x71A23C-x79C57C and x800000-x800DB0) to offset x900000 via a hex editor? Or am I looking at a lost cause...

Any help is appreciated. If anything, I just want to understand how Wichu's Advanced Sprite Editor moves [repoints?] data, and whether or not it is feasible to move all of that data via hex, myself.

Thank you so much, happy new year!

- lilroosterbutt

Years
    • Seen Aug 7, 2016
    Thank you so much Eclipse.

Just for clarification, I just need to change the offsets in the .ini of ASE and then move the data to the new offsets, correct?
    Do I need to open my ROM in ASE and then hit save or something? I just don't see how the game is able to now recognize that the new data is in a new location, without messing with anything else. I'm a newb :|

DarkenedEclipse

Project Oak
    Years
  • Thank you so much Eclipse.