• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Graphic✓] Are Day & Night Graphics Possible in PokeEmerald?

Years
    • Seen Apr 7, 2024
    I'm relatively new to decomp ROM hacking and wanted to add a visible change between day & night in PokeEmerald. I figured since it's present in Gen 2 games, it must be possible for Gen 3, even though it wasn't implemented in the official games. I can't seem to find any resources or information on how to implement it though. I thought perhaps I could create a second "night" version of each map and set the warps to be time dependent, but then I'd need to create "night" versions of each sprite as well and make sure the correct one shows at the correct time. I imagine there must be a better solution where the graphics somehow change the colour value of each pixel on the screen at night, making them more blueish-black, or maybe the solution would be to create an overworld effect, like fog, but just call it a "night tint" so it changes everything a bit darker. Or maybe the solution would be a time dependent weather effect. Thunderstorms darken the world so perhaps it would be possible to create a "night" weather effect like thunderstorms without the rain or lightning. Has anyone successfully implemented day/night graphics, and if so, how?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
    Years
    • Seen Aug 13, 2023
    There are a few different public repos for Day/Night cycles, that are in various stages of recency/development.