• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Difficulty Options

Years
    • Online now
    I'm pretty new to JRPG's (I only started a couple years ago). Before that I just played Pokemon and some of the Mario ones.

I recently purchased Xenoblade: Definitive Edition and this is tough. Even after doing side quests, and being above boss levels I still get stomped. Earlier this year I finished Final Fantasy 13 which isn't a super easy game, so that boosted my confidence.

Then I figured out Xenoblade offers "Casual Mode", but there's some guilt I felt for turning this on. Almost like cheating when I obliterated the boss I was stuck on for an hour. But I admit, I've struggled to grasp many of these games mechanics, and I just want to enjoy the party members I like. (But I'm stuck with the same 3 because it's the only way I'm winning fights). I love the game though, it's even one of my favorite JRPG's so far. I'm rarely someone who enjoys side quests, but this game has been the exception.

Has anybody used an easy mode? Or maybe there's someone who prefers making games as challenging as possible.

I'm a fan of the WWE 2K games and the first thing I do is max out the AI difficulty settings as much as possible.

Do you typically mess with difficulty options or keep a default?

Years
  • I always play on the easiest difficulty settings and I've done that all my life. I get more out of a game that way since I play mainly for the story of a game and I would get agitated if I played on a higher difficulty even normal. I don't touch games that are intentionally made to be difficult like the Dark Souls series.

Years
    • they/them