• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Forming first EV team! advise appreciated!

Years
    • Seen Jun 25, 2010
    So I'm starting a team of all EV leved pokemon but altho ive read up on this stuff a ton im fairly new to actually doing it.

I havn't figured out my skill sets yet except for a few skills here and there so skill set suggestions would be much appreciated.

pokemon I am certainly including:

Blissey - she will be my infuriating-wall-tank. EV's: 252 hp / 252 def

Starmie - supa fast damage. EV's: 252 SpA / 252 Spd

SRONGLY considering (but not necessarily all in the same team):

Jolteon - 252 SpA / 252 Spd

Charizard - 252 At OR 252 SpA (havn't decided) / 252 Spd

Intrigued to consider:

Spiritomb - a beast of a pokemon, just not sure how big of an asset it'd be against a well formed team

Slaking - somewhat of a "back up tank" that can dish out a ton of damage. Not so sure about the whole skipping every turn though.

EV training a togekiss is also very tempting to me b/c i already have one and love it. I just have no clue how it'd fit into my team setup.

I feel like out of these options I am way too heavy on special attack damager pokemon and need to think more about 1) being well rounded, and 2) coming up with skill sets that will not only do good damage but will help the team as well.

I've read a bunch of guides at Smogen University site, but I'm not really look to copy a guide to the T.

I've also been wondering about bug, fighting, and steel pokemon..still lookin around though.