• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Good Japanese RPGs?

Years
    • Age 29
    • Seen Jan 28, 2019
    So I'm kind of new at gaming and I'm looking for games similar to Final Fantasy. I'm planning to get Catherine, Disgaea 4, Tales of Grace F, and Resonance of Fate. But, I was wondering if there were any other ones you would recommend. Also, a little description of them wouldn't hurt either, haha. Thanks!

I apologize if we aren't allowed to post these kinds of threads, I read in the rules and I didn't see anything against it.

Alice

(>^.(>0.0)>
    Years
    My absolute favorite is Tales of Vesperia, though I think a lot of people would say they like Tales of Symphonia, or Tales of the Abyss better.

Oh, Skies of Arcadia and Legend of Legaia too, if you're okay with slightly older games.

Last edited:

Zet

Years
    Persona 3 and 4 are great games, that I(and many others) still love. And I'm bad at describing so maybe someone else can do that for me :X

Jarred0809

The Eternal Lurker
    Years
    My second favorite would be Final Fantasy 6. It gets kinda grindy near the end, but what JRPG doesn't?

Last edited:

Jarred0809

The Eternal Lurker
    Years
    Actually, my real favorite is Chrono Trigger. You start out at a festival in a modern-day setting, but things happen and you end up getting thrown into the middle ages. You rescue a girl that ends up in the portal with you and travel to several time periods over the course of the game and try to stop the apocalypse. It's also hilarious, and has over a dozen endings.

ソラ

Im gonna be the King of the Pirates
    Years