• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Other] Were should I start?

Years
    • PA
    • Seen Oct 20, 2009
    Hey there, I am new to emulating but I can't find out how to get started. I want to get a ROM but I hear downloading is illegial. Can someone please help me?

DawnRyder

I cannot believe I'm back -.-
    Years
    • Seen Nov 12, 2011
    OK.

We are not allowed to disclose links to ROM's.

However, searching google for ROM downloads is okay(ish).

A good place to start your GBA/NDS emulating is Emulator-Zone.com

SiegHart

Guardian of Time
    Years
  • 1. Google is your friend.
    2. It's not illegal if you have the original game. So don't go downloading Pokemon Gold if you don't have Gold. See?
    3. Use VisualBoy Advance for your emulating needs.

a rom is illegal whether you own the game or not but most companies dont really say anything about it, so download what you want at your own risk in case a company decides to do something

SharpPoint

Suicune used Surf!
    Years
  • a rom is illegal whether you own the game or not but most companies dont really say anything about it, so download what you want at your own risk in case a company decides to do something

But I doubt Nintendo with take action on games they released years ago.

Years
  • In the UK as far as im aware you can have 1 back up copy of anything you own so 1 rom would be legal same with dvds etc.