• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Python Pokemon!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Full Metal

C(++) Developer.
Years

• python_pokemon_by_pedro121-d4snmax.png

About Me.
    Well, some of you may know me from RH. I'm a programmer. And I despise RPGXP / RPGVX and Game Maker. And RH is just becoming annoying at this point. I'm a chill dude, and I write on a blog. I also write SOFTWARES. :)

Intro.

Here's the gist of this game: I don't know. As of now it is being written in Python. I am mostly working on the engine right now, and it is so early in development I haven't even began to work out a story-line or plot. Anyways I'll catch you up on what has been done so far, and what the future goal is. The future goal is a game playable on the GBA, and the computer with multi-player functions! What has been done so far is a text-based engine that isn't entirely complete. For now this is in Python. Why? Python is a great prototyping language that allows you to focus on the bigger picture rather than tiny details. Once I'm satisfied with my text-based python engine, I'll work on re-writing the text-based part in C++. Once I have that done comes the fun part. Programming the graphics / sound parts, which will be based on the C++ text project, but will differ in implementations. I've seen SDL libraries on the NDS and Wii, so heck, I might even go for that, but I doubt it. One cool thing about this game, is that there are TONS of random things!
    • Maps have random amounts of trainers in random spots, but still the option is there for statically placed trainers.
    • Trainers are randomly generated based on their class.