• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

ROM Hacking Basics

Neo-Wolf

I am back!
Years
ROM Hacking Basics

Introduction -

Hi ! I am Neo-Wolf, and here's my first contribution to PC.
Browsing through the Scrapbox, I saw many hacks being made by people who don't even know the H of hacking. Seeing their plight, I was reminded of my own beginning days, where I was lost in the big, big world of hacking
This is a guide for complete newbies who do not know hacking but want to start a hack.

Getting Started -
What is hacking about?

Hacking is a way to change lots of things in the original Pokemon Games. This way, you can create your dream Pokemon Hacks. Hacking can be done to create New Events like someone gives you a Pokemon, Item etc. ,changing the in-game Pokemons, making new Towns and Routes and much more.

Limitations-
What are the limitations in hacks?

A hack cannot have everything of your choice. There are some limitations. These can be averted in the future, but it can not be done now.

1) You cannot put ALL the regions in a single hack. A hack has a storage capacity. It can't go ahead of this ( 32 MB ) . So, FireRed, the hack having largest capacity can have a maximum of 2 big regions and 1 mini region.

2) All Pokemons in 1 hack are not possible yet. It is not possible till now to put all Pokemons (493) in 1 hack. They are limited to Kanto-Johto-Hoenn 386 + 25 ( Maybe more ).However, you can replace these Pokemons. This means that you can put your Pokemons instead of the original ones.

3) Making Pokemons follow you is not possible.

Main parts in Hacking -
What are the main jobs in Hacking?