Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.
Wow. Thanks for these great responses. Very, very helpful. I really appreciate you both taking the time to field my question. Indeed, you both make perfect sense, especially about not being able to use the card at all unless there are clearly 2+ cards in the discard.
This is helpful, thanks. If you find a ruling, I would still be curious. I think you're right, though. The attack of 80 is very strong for needing just one energy and not having the ability to take the "plea" seemed unfair. Appreciate the response!