• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Other✓] Are there practical limitations that I'm not aware of, or am I just a beginner who's in over their head?

chloapsoap

Anonymous Trash
Years
  • Apologies in advance for general ignorance on my part. This is my first time posting to this community for help and I recognize that I may be making a fool out of myself. Please bare with me lol

So a few months ago I started working on my first romhack (Emerald). I had some naive ideas of what I wanted to achieve before I even started doing any work, and I'm having trouble finding information for a few things I had in mind. I suspect that there are practical limitations I'm not aware of.

I was hoping someone could help me to better understand the technology I'm working with. The specific questions I have are kind of a mixed bag, but they're really just examples of me not understanding the landscape I'm working in:

1. Regarding memory: I've heard it said that FRLG are superior to RSE in terms of how much free space is available. If this is the case, how does this manifest itself? How much additional space are we talking about here? Elaboration on how memory is managed in these games would be appreciated (if appropriate).

2. Regarding the opening sequence: How much of this can be altered? I was surprised at how little discussion I was able to find about this, and I'd really appreciate some help tracking it down if it exists.