• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Script] Script disappearing in AdvanceMap

Years
    • Seen Sep 17, 2020
    I'm very new to ROM hacking and i feel like i'm being dumb but I've been stuck on this for hours.

I'm trying to make a simple person event where you talk to an npc but every time i'm done close of XSE and open the script again, the written script is gone.
    I have compiled and saved it but every time i open it, it just goes back to:

'---------------
    #org 0x800200
    end

and my written script is gone.
    This is the script i wrote:

#dynamic 0x800200

#org @start
    lock
    faceplayer
    msgbox @test 0x6
    release
    end

#org @test
    = This is a test.

This is my first time posting here so excuse me if i made some kind of mistake.
    Thanks in advance

Years
    • Seen Apr 5, 2024
    well, how new are u to scripting? I remember when I couldnt compile a single script, but luckily this place has taught me a lot, now usually when u look for free space I start at 0x740000....but I think 0x800000 and above is ok. After you compile your script, you need to copy the offset that the compile gave you....usually if u havent compiled anything after 0x800000, then ur first offset given by the compiler would be 0x800001, just add that offset to ur person event on AM 1.95

Years
    • Seen Sep 17, 2020