Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old July 2nd, 2014 (1:43 PM). Edited July 5th, 2014 by esperance.
esperance's Avatar
esperance esperance is offline
  • Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ohio
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 3,818

Python IPS Patcher



Hello, all! I recently purchased an Apple computer, and I needed an easy way to apply IPS patches without using an app. So, to solve that problem I wrote up a little python script complete with a GUI to help out, keeping Mac users in mind.

Screens


Spoiler:


The patcher running on Mac.


The patcher running on Windows. Thanks Shufflejoy!


The patcher running on Linux. Thanks Shiny Quagsire!


Download


Version 1.0: Click
Note: To get it to run on Linux, change the first line to "#!/usr/bin/python2". Thanks to Shiny Quagsire.

I've only tested this on Mac, so if you use it on anything else let me know how it goes!
Also, should I improve it? Add a way to make a patch?
__________________

A Pokemon that is discriminated!
Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old July 3rd, 2014 (6:17 PM).
Shufflejoy's Avatar
Shufflejoy Shufflejoy is offline
Tutturu!
     
    Join Date: Sep 2013
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 23
    It appears to work perfectly well on Windows! I have Python 2.7.6 installed.



    It looks like it should work fine on Linux, but on my Arch install I don't have Tk configured and don't feel like setting it up to test. I do think you should add support for creating patches! I also think it would be cool if you added a way to use it from the command line. Something like:

    ./ips.py patch [IPS] [ROM]
    ./ips.py create [OLD] [NEW] [IPS]
    Reply With Quote
      #3    
    Old July 3rd, 2014 (7:25 PM).
    esperance's Avatar
    esperance esperance is offline
    • Platinum Tier
     
    Join Date: Mar 2010
    Location: Ohio
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 3,818
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Shufflejoy View Post
    It appears to work perfectly well on Windows! I have Python 2.7.6 installed.

    It looks like it should work fine on Linux, but on my Arch install I don't have Tk configured and don't feel like setting it up to test. I do think you should add support for creating patches! I also think it would be cool if you added a way to use it from the command line. Something like:

    ./ips.py patch [IPS] [ROM]
    ./ips.py create [OLD] [NEW] [IPS]
    Thanks for trying it out for me!
    It would be a simple matter to either add the command line format, or create a second script with that feature, so I'll probably do it.
    __________________

    A Pokemon that is discriminated!
    Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
    Reply With Quote
      #4    
    Old July 3rd, 2014 (9:14 PM).
    Shufflejoy's Avatar
    Shufflejoy Shufflejoy is offline
    Tutturu!
       
      Join Date: Sep 2013
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Quiet
      Posts: 23
      Awesome. Looking forward to it! ^_^
      Reply With Quote
        #5    
      Old July 4th, 2014 (12:58 PM).
      Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
      Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
      I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
         
        Join Date: May 2009
        Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
        Age: 19
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Jolly
        Posts: 700
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Shufflejoy View Post
        It looks like it should work fine on Linux, but on my Arch install I don't have Tk configured and don't feel like setting it up to test.
        Just tested on my personal Arch install, from the original .py I had to change the first line to this for it to work just executing it in bash:
        Code:
        #!/usr/bin/python2
        But that's only because it seemed to refuse to work with python 3, so launching it using python 2.7 is working so far:

        (The lack of border is due to my tiling window manager, since I only use keyboard shortcuts to close and resize windows).
        __________________



        Reply With Quote
          #6    
        Old July 5th, 2014 (4:52 PM).
        esperance's Avatar
        esperance esperance is offline
        • Platinum Tier
         
        Join Date: Mar 2010
        Location: Ohio
        Age: 20
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 3,818
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Shiny Quagsire View Post
        Just tested on my personal Arch install, from the original .py I had to change the first line to this for it to work just executing it in bash:
        Code:
        #!/usr/bin/python2
        But that's only because it seemed to refuse to work with python 3, so launching it using python 2.7 is working so far:

        (The lack of border is due to my tiling window manager, since I only use keyboard shortcuts to close and resize windows).
        Thanks for trying it out!
        I don't have Linux on any of my computers, so I appreciate you testing this for me.
        __________________

        A Pokemon that is discriminated!
        Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
        Reply With Quote
          #7    
        Old July 5th, 2014 (9:37 PM).
        Shufflejoy's Avatar
        Shufflejoy Shufflejoy is offline
        Tutturu!
           
          Join Date: Sep 2013
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 23
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Shiny Quagsire View Post
          Just tested on my personal Arch install, from the original .py I had to change the first line to this for it to work just executing it in bash:
          Code:
          #!/usr/bin/python2
          But that's only because it seemed to refuse to work with python 3, so launching it using python 2.7 is working so far:

          (The lack of border is due to my tiling window manager, since I only use keyboard shortcuts to close and resize windows).
          Yeah, I had to change that line as well since my only Python install exists in /opt/android-build/python :p
          Reply With Quote
            #8    
          Old July 7th, 2014 (9:05 PM).
          AluminiumOxide's Avatar
          AluminiumOxide AluminiumOxide is offline
          Aka Ansirent
             
            Join Date: Sep 2013
            Location: India
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 874
            NEW IPS PATHCER !!!!!!!!! Yes i was thinking to find something like this. Hope this will be lot easier then Lunar ips.
            __________________

            My Club |Paired With IndianCharizard |
            "I CAN'T LET YOU TOUCH MY FAMILY!!!!!"

            Reply With Quote
              #9    
            Old August 4th, 2014 (1:11 AM). Edited August 4th, 2014 by sky_queen3.
            sky_queen3's Avatar
            sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
            Mimikyu is cute :3
               
              Join Date: Feb 2009
              Location: Australia
              Age: 27
              Gender: Female
              Nature: Naive
              Posts: 263
              Why is it not working for me, I have Windows 7 and Python 3.4.1. I click the program, a black window with text appears and closes before I can read the text.

              Ok, after 100 screenshots of the window flashing I thin it reads:

              Traceback (most recent call last):
              File “C:\Users\HP\Downloads\Python IPS Patcher\ips.py”, line 10 in <module>
              from Tkinter import *
              ImportError: No module named ‘Tkinter’
              __________________
              Mimic me, mimic you
              Reply With Quote
                #10    
              Old August 4th, 2014 (2:36 AM).
              Touched's Avatar
              Touched Touched is offline
              Resident ASMAGICIAN
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2014
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 623
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by sky_queen3 View Post
                Why is it not working for me, I have Windows 7 and Python 3.4.1. I click the program, a black window with text appears and closes before I can read the text.

                Ok, after 100 screenshots of the window flashing I thin it reads:

                Traceback (most recent call last):
                File “C:\Users\HP\Downloads\Python IPS Patcher\ips.py”, line 10 in <module>
                from Tkinter import *
                ImportError: No module named ‘Tkinter’
                This won't work with Python 3. It's written for Python 2. Python 3 is not backwards compatible, with one of the many changes being the renaming of several modules (Tkinter -> tkinter, for example). Either attempt to run this through a Python 2to3 tool (should have been bundled with your Python installation) or download Python 2.7 and use that. You'll probably want to keep both versions installed, for situations like this.
                Reply With Quote
                  #11    
                Old August 5th, 2014 (2:42 AM).
                sky_queen3's Avatar
                sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
                Mimikyu is cute :3
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2009
                  Location: Australia
                  Age: 27
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Naive
                  Posts: 263
                  Ok, I got 2.7, it works fine now, thank you.
                  __________________
                  Mimic me, mimic you
                  Reply With Quote
                  Reply
                  Quick Reply

                  Sponsored Links
                  Thread Tools

                  Posting Rules
                  You may not post new threads
                  You may not post replies
                  You may not post attachments
                  You may not edit your posts

                  BB code is On
                  Smilies are On
                  [IMG] code is On
                  HTML code is Off

                  Forum Jump


                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:19 PM.