ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #27051    
Old October 20th, 2013 (11:43 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
(☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
  • Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
Yeah I just checked and you were right, Abra was 12 02 0000 and dragonite was 12 02 0000.

How do I change these do they are different? Is that all I have to do? just change one of these values so they are different?
Change one of them and you will go into the game to find them lookin' good.
Just a fact, 0 is for the hero.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

Support me at my site!
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Relevant Advertising!

  #27052    
Old October 20th, 2013 (11:53 AM).
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1 awipe1 is offline
     
    Join Date: Aug 2012
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 215
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
    Change one of them and you will go into the game to find them lookin' good.
    Just a fact, 0 is for the hero.
    Okay thanks but how do I change them?
    __________________
    Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
      #27053    
    Old October 20th, 2013 (11:54 AM).
    GoGoJJTech's Avatar
    GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
    (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Earth
    Age: 18
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 2,477
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
    Okay thanks but how do I change them?
    Change the bytes
    Just change the bytes
    There's no explanation for changing bytes
    __________________
    I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
    The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
    Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

    Support me at my site!
    Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
      #27054    
    Old October 20th, 2013 (12:03 PM). Edited October 20th, 2013 by karatekid552.
    karatekid552's Avatar
    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
    What happens if I push it?....
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 1,766
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
      Change the bytes
      Just change the bytes
      There's no explanation for changing bytes
      Yes there is. He wants to know HOW to change them, which you can't do in NSE.

      Awipe1: You need to use a hex editor.

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by exidia View Post
      How can I make an person event hidden (invisible) until a flag is set (in the same area)?
      The person ID in A-map controls this. If the flag is set, the person will be hidden. If the flag is unset, the person will be visible. So, you just need to work backwards. Set the flag before hand, then clear it later.
      __________________

      Paired with Simba
        #27055    
      Old October 20th, 2013 (12:33 PM).
      awipe1's Avatar
      awipe1 awipe1 is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2012
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 215
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
        Yes there is. He wants to know HOW to change them, which you can't do in NSE.

        Awipe1: You need to use a hex editor.



        The person ID in A-map controls this. If the flag is set, the person will be hidden. If the flag is unset, the person will be visible. So, you just need to work backwards. Set the flag before hand, then clear it later.
        Thanks karate for clearing that up I figured out how to change the sprites OAM data. So I have been spending a little while measing around with that for a bit but I don't get how it works. I will change abras to 12 01 00 00 and dragonites to 12 02 00 00 and I would still have the same issue.

        I would change abras to 12 01 00 00 and dragonites to 13 01 00 00 and then dragonite would change to the color pink.

        I would change abras to 12 01 00 00 and dragonites to 20 01 00 00 and both those sprites would be fine but the moment the player walks in, his palette gets all messed up.

        Is there a thread explain what this OAM value actually does? Cause it doesnt make sence to me.
        __________________
        Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
          #27056    
        Old October 20th, 2013 (1:18 PM).
        Alice's Avatar
        Alice Alice is offline
        (>^.(>0.0)>
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Mar 2009
        Location: Oregon
        Age: 25
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Careful
        Posts: 3,081
        I've inserted a new map for a building interior, and have a warp leading to it. I've done everything properly afaik (exactly the same as the other stock buildings) but the screen goes black and freezes when I enter it. The same warp leading to a stock map doesn't do this. Anyone know why? (I have a feeling this is a super basic question, but I can't find any other posts on it.)
          #27057    
        Old October 20th, 2013 (2:15 PM).
        iZackefx iZackefx is offline
           
          Join Date: Apr 2013
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 16
          I have one more question(For Now) I've cleared everything from my rom with a patch, and then expanded my rom to 32 Mb. What is the offset that I start on to start adding scripts and such? (Since I expanded my rom, I would like to know the offset the expanded part starts on) I hope I don't sound too stupid/noobish. Correct me if you know what I'm talking about, but I'm not saying it right.. I really need help on this.. Is it possible? Thanks!
            #27058    
          Old October 20th, 2013 (2:20 PM).
          Nelsyv's Avatar
          Nelsyv Nelsyv is offline
             
            Join Date: Sep 2013
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 69
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by iZackefx View Post
            I have one more question(For Now) I've cleared everything from my rom with a patch, and then expanded my rom to 32 Mb. What is the offset that I start on to start adding scripts and such? (Since I expanded my rom, I would like to know the offset the expanded part starts on) I hope I don't sound too stupid/noobish. Correct me if you know what I'm talking about, but I'm not saying it right.. I really need help on this.. Is it possible? Thanks!
            Use Free Space Finder (FSF)...
            __________________

            I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
            92% of teens moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% who listens to real music, copy and paste this into your signature.
              #27059    
            Old October 20th, 2013 (2:34 PM).
            iZackefx iZackefx is offline
               
              Join Date: Apr 2013
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 16
              I knew that it was simple. One more stupid question, do I start from the beginning of the rom? Or what offset do I start off with..? Is it 800000?
                #27060    
              Old October 20th, 2013 (2:42 PM). Edited October 20th, 2013 by karatekid552.
              karatekid552's Avatar
              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
              What happens if I push it?....
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 1,766
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by iZackefx View Post
                I knew that it was simple. One more stupid question, do I start from the beginning of the rom? Or what offset do I start off with..? Is it 800000?
                The original 16mb are in the 800000s, but the second 16mb are in the 900000s.

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
                Thanks karate for clearing that up I figured out how to change the sprites OAM data. So I have been spending a little while measing around with that for a bit but I don't get how it works. I will change abras to 12 01 00 00 and dragonites to 12 02 00 00 and I would still have the same issue.

                I would change abras to 12 01 00 00 and dragonites to 13 01 00 00 and then dragonite would change to the color pink.

                I would change abras to 12 01 00 00 and dragonites to 20 01 00 00 and both those sprites would be fine but the moment the player walks in, his palette gets all messed up.

                Is there a thread explain what this OAM value actually does? Cause it doesnt make sence to me.
                All we care about is the first byte. That byte controls the palette slot. Open up VBA, then go Tools->Palette Viewer and look at the obj palettes. 0 is the first one on top.

                Now, back to the byte. I'll make it a generic: XY

                The first half: X, does absolutely nothing that I can find. Every routine that I have seen use this byte simply throws it away by ANDing the byte with 0xF.

                The second half: Y, IS the palette slot.

                In your last scenario, the conflict with the player is because the player uses slot 0.

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by QuilavaKing View Post
                I've inserted a new map for a building interior, and have a warp leading to it. I've done everything properly afaik (exactly the same as the other stock buildings) but the screen goes black and freezes when I enter it. The same warp leading to a stock map doesn't do this. Anyone know why? (I have a feeling this is a super basic question, but I can't find any other posts on it.)
                Simple answer: corruption.

                Just insert the map into a new bank and slot and it should work fine. That is what I always do and it tends to work most of the time.
                __________________

                Paired with Simba
                  #27061    
                Old October 20th, 2013 (3:03 PM).
                awipe1's Avatar
                awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 215
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                  All we care about is the first byte. That byte controls the palette slot. Open up VBA, then go Tools->Palette Viewer and look at the obj palettes. 0 is the first one on top.

                  Now, back to the byte. I'll make it a generic: XY

                  The first half: X, does absolutely nothing that I can find. Every routine that I have seen use this byte simply throws it away by ANDing the byte with 0xF.

                  The second half: Y, IS the palette slot.

                  In your last scenario, the conflict with the player is because the player uses slot 0.
                  OH OKAY THANKS A LOT THAT MAKES A LOT MORE SENSE!

                  However ... does that mean I only have 16 options? But 2 are going to be used for my 2 hero's (male a female) so does that mean I can only have 14 different colored sprites on at a time? That really sucks!
                  __________________
                  Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
                    #27062    
                  Old October 20th, 2013 (3:24 PM).
                  Rezordaxx's Avatar
                  Rezordaxx Rezordaxx is offline
                  Asks many questions!
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2013
                    Location: The Netherlands
                    Age: 18
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 290
                    How can i edit the intro ASM routine is there a tutorial can anybody tell me how to do it?!
                    __________________

                    My hack
                      #27063    
                    Old October 20th, 2013 (3:28 PM). Edited October 20th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                    karatekid552's Avatar
                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                    What happens if I push it?....
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bold
                      Posts: 1,766
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Rezordaxx View Post
                      How can i edit the intro ASM routine is there a tutorial can anybody tell me how to do it?!
                      Only shinyquagsire has done it, and he wrote down most of everything. It is an extremely advanced concept, as even I don't understand it completely.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
                      OH OKAY THANKS A LOT THAT MAKES A LOT MORE SENSE!

                      However ... does that mean I only have 16 options? But 2 are going to be used for my 2 hero's (male a female) so does that mean I can only have 14 different colored sprites on at a time? That really sucks!
                      Actually, you have less. For some reason, I could only get 0-A to work when I was doing this.

                      This is the MAIN reason that GF had so few OW palettes to begin with. If you made your hero and heroine share the same palette you can free up one slot. Sharing palettes is the best way to go. Also, you can only have 16 NPCs on screen at once, if I remember correctly, because of a limitation in the way the NPCs are stored in the RAM. So, you were already limited already.
                      __________________

                      Paired with Simba
                        #27064    
                      Old October 20th, 2013 (5:10 PM).
                      Kurapika's Avatar
                      Kurapika Kurapika is offline
                      Grudgebearer
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2013
                        Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Naughty
                        Posts: 406
                        Does anyone know the offset of the original script that gives 1 Premier Ball after buying 10 Poké Balls in FireRed?
                        (Apparently, JPAN's hacked engine erases it.)

                        Thanks
                        __________________
                          #27065    
                        Old October 20th, 2013 (5:36 PM). Edited October 20th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                        karatekid552's Avatar
                        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                        What happens if I push it?....
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 1,766
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Kurapika View Post
                          Does anyone know the offset of the original script that gives 1 Premier Ball after buying 10 Poké Balls in FireRed?
                          (Apparently, JPAN's hacked engine erases it.)

                          Thanks
                          I'm looking at the mart script right now, and it isn't in there. Let me keep looking. I think it make be an excess script that is called by the mart command separately.

                          edit: Apparently, it doesn't exist at all. I just bought 99 pokeballs on my clean FR rom and I didn't get a premier ball, however I did get one when I tried it on Ruby. The string of text used in Ruby also doesn't exist in FR.
                          __________________

                          Paired with Simba
                            #27066    
                          Old October 20th, 2013 (6:40 PM).
                          PokéMew's Avatar
                          PokéMew PokéMew is offline
                          Pokémon Fuchsia
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2013
                          Location: Refresh
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 490
                          Does anyone know how to change the town map in fire red, not the actual maps, the region maps that you see at pkmn centers and on the town maps? I have been eager to learn how ever since I started hacking. An example of what I am talking about is the Pokemon shiny gold map, liquid crystal map, flora sky map, etc. Those maps all have the same style and I need to know how to do that. A guide or tut would be great.

                          Thanks, PokéMew
                            #27067    
                          Old October 20th, 2013 (9:00 PM).
                          awipe1's Avatar
                          awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 215
                            Anyone know where to change the palette of the hero's backsprites?

                            I go to NSE and I go to bookmarks and then I go to the backsprites. I can't change the palette the same why you normally would (because it is grayed out). I checked out the sprite pointer but I can't change the palette there (not that I know of) because I need the sprites offset.

                            So does anyone know where I can change the palette?
                            __________________
                            Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
                              #27068    
                            Old October 21st, 2013 (2:17 AM).
                            ep!c ep!c is offline
                            Banned
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2013
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 124
                              Hello,
                              appearantly NSE provides a WRONG palette. (35B968, is the 1'th OW-palette)
                              The correct palette is located at: E76EE4 (just researched for you in 1 minute and 15 seconds.)
                              You can simply change the palette with "APE", the Advance Palette Editor.
                              Just enter E76EE4 and change the palette as you wish. (DO NOT ENTER 35B968, AS YOU **** UP THE HIRO OW THEN)
                                #27069    
                              Old October 21st, 2013 (4:56 AM).
                              awipe1's Avatar
                              awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 215
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by ep!c View Post
                                Hello,
                                appearantly NSE provides a WRONG palette. (35B968, is the 1'th OW-palette)
                                The correct palette is located at: E76EE4 (just researched for you in 1 minute and 15 seconds.)
                                You can simply change the palette with "APE", the Advance Palette Editor.
                                Just enter E76EE4 and change the palette as you wish. (DO NOT ENTER 35B968, AS YOU **** UP THE HIRO OW THEN)
                                Oh okay thanks!

                                But is palette E76EE4 exclusive to the backsrptie? Or If I change E76EE4 will it also change the palette of other things?
                                __________________
                                Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
                                  #27070    
                                Old October 21st, 2013 (5:20 AM). Edited October 21st, 2013 by Agro.
                                Agro Agro is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 11
                                  Are there any known alternatives to VGMTrans and VGMToolbox for ripping NDS samples and making them into DLS files? Neither of them seem to be able to open the ROMs I want them to. I've tried using ndssndext, which does rip the samples, but doesn't preserve them in a soundbank or tell me the looping points. Any ideas?

                                  Edit: Never mind! Found a new version which works! Yaaaaaay!
                                    #27071    
                                  Old October 21st, 2013 (6:06 AM).
                                  akihiko123's Avatar
                                  akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2013
                                    Location: Philippines
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Quiet
                                    Posts: 57
                                    What's the script for Elite Four? 'coz i want to add new membrmers of the elite :D
                                    __________________
                                    Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
                                    I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
                                    I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
                                    So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

                                    So, give me what you got!

                                    Like my page on Facebook : LINK
                                      #27072    
                                    Old October 21st, 2013 (6:17 AM).
                                    ep!c ep!c is offline
                                    Banned
                                       
                                      Join Date: Mar 2013
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 124
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
                                      Oh okay thanks!

                                      But is palette E76EE4 exclusive to the backsrptie? Or If I change E76EE4 will it also change the palette of other things?
                                      This palette is exclusive for the backsprite. Don't worry
                                        #27073    
                                      Old October 21st, 2013 (8:30 AM).
                                      karatekid552's Avatar
                                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                      What happens if I push it?....
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Bold
                                        Posts: 1,766
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by akihiko123 View Post
                                        What's the script for Elite Four? 'coz i want to add new membrmers of the elite :D
                                        Just go to their maps in A-Map. It's pretty simple.
                                        __________________

                                        Paired with Simba
                                          #27074    
                                        Old October 21st, 2013 (11:01 AM).
                                        Teh Blazer's Avatar
                                        Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
                                        Divider of Zero
                                           
                                          Join Date: Feb 2009
                                          Location: 'MERICA
                                          Age: 22
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Relaxed
                                          Posts: 772
                                          How do I create a table in HxD? Still fairly new to hex editing and not sure how a table looks in a hex editor.
                                          __________________
                                          Being a hero is overrated anyways
                                            #27075    
                                          Old October 21st, 2013 (11:09 AM).
                                          ep!c ep!c is offline
                                          Banned
                                             
                                            Join Date: Mar 2013
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 124
                                            Depending on what you want to hack, the table looks different..
                                            There is no main style how table are built.
                                            Closed Thread

                                            Quick Reply

                                            Join the conversation!

                                            Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                            Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:35 PM.