• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Archive] Pokemon Essentials: Starter Kit for RPG Maker XP

Status
Not open for further replies.
1,748
Posts
14
Years
  • I'm getting the same error, anyone able to help?
    delete audio.dll then it should work.


    I have a problem too.
    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    Exception: NoMethodError
    Message: undefined method `setBitmap' for #<SpriteWrapper:0x477cd20>
    PokemonEditor:1084:in `refresh'
    PokemonEditor:879:in `pbListScreenBlock'
    PokemonEditor:874:in `loop'
    PokemonEditor:899:in `pbListScreenBlock'
    PokemonEditor:2919:in `pbTrainerTypeEditor'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbEditorMenu'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbFadeOutIn'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbEditorMenu'
    EditorMain:26:in `loop'
    EditorMain:97:in `pbEditorMenu'

    This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.
    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------


    That's what happens when i want to make a trainer using an existing battle.
     
    4
    Posts
    14
    Years
    • Seen Oct 2, 2009
    Runtime Error when Adding a Foreign Pokémon....

    Heyy guys,

    I was wondering if anybody has yet to figure out how to fix this runtime error I'm getting when I try to add a foreign pokemon to my party using pokemon essentials. Here is the error I'm getting...

    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    Exception: RuntimeError

    Message: Script error within event 2, map 51 (Intro):

    (eval):1:in `pbAddForeignPokemon'wrong number of arguments(3 for 4)

    ***Full script:

    pbAddForeignPokemon(PBSpecies::PIKACHU,100,_I("Prof. Oak"))

    Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'

    (eval):1:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:789:in `eval'

    Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:789:in `command_111'

    Interpreter:322:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:190:in `update'

    Interpreter:104:in `loop'

    Interpreter:195:in `update'

    Scene_Map:100:in `update'



    Interpreter:279:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:789:in `command_111'

    Interpreter:322:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:190:in `update'

    Interpreter:104:in `loop'

    Interpreter:195:in `update'

    Scene_Map:100:in `update'

    Scene_Map:98:in `loop'

    Scene_Map:111:in `update'

    Scene_Map:67:in `main'



    This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.

    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    Can anybody fix this problem?? Please, let me know!! Thanks!! Bye!! P.S. The first person who fixes this problem will be in my game as the 8th Gym Leader.... Anyways, thanks again.... bye!!
     
    102
    Posts
    15
    Years
    • Seen Jul 19, 2017
    You haven't used all the fields for the script. Take a look at the example in the notes:

    Code:
    [COLOR=#0000ff][COLOR=Black]pbAddForeignPokemon(PBSpecies::SHUCKLE,20,_I("MARK"),_I("SHUCKIE"))[/COLOR]
    [/COLOR]
    You didn't add the nickname for the Pikachu you are trying to add. It should be something like this:

    Code:
    pbAddForeignPokemon(PBSpecies::PIKACHU,100,_I("Prof. Oak"),_I("PIKACHU"))
     

    The Smell

    Doof-Man
    212
    Posts
    17
    Years
  • Can Prof. Oak count? I thought there was a 7 character limit. Try Prof Oak instead.

    Code:
    @>Conditional Branch: Script: pbAddForeignPokemon(PBSpecies::PIKACHU,100,_I("Prof Oak"),_I("PIKACHU"))
      @>
     : Else
      @>
     : Branch End
    @>

    Remember to make it a conditional branch?
     
    4
    Posts
    14
    Years
    • Seen Oct 2, 2009
    Sill the same...

    Still getting the same error, even in a conditional branch.... I think it was coded wrong when the code was written... If I was better at programming, which i am currently learning at ITT Tech. for Computer Networking, I would try and rewrite the script... But, I don't know much, so, I can't... But... Has anybody gotten it to work at all..?? So you guys know, the reason I say it was coded wrong, in my opinion, is because when I looked at the code in PokemonUtilities, it seems to only have an "if" statement, and there is no "then" or "else" statements... For example...

    def pbAddForeignPokemon(species,level,ownerName,nickname)
    if $Trainer.party.length==6
    return false
    end

    There should be an "else" statement right after the "if" statement, but it just continues on with the code below...

    speciesname=PBSpecies.getName(species)
    Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("{1} received a Pokémon from {2}.\1",$Trainer.name,ownerName))
    pokemon=PokeBattle_Pokemon.new(species,level,$Trainer)
    # Set ID and OT name to a foreign one
    pokemon.id=$Trainer.getForeignID
    pokemon.ot=ownerName
    # Set nickname
    if nickname
    pokemon.name=nickname[0,10]
    end
    # Recalculate stats
    pokemon.calcStats
    pbStorePokemon(pokemon)
    return true
    end

    Let me know if you think there should be an "else" statement also.... Another thing is that to me it does not look like "ownerName" is an actual variable, b/c i looked through it, and i can't even find it initalized anywhere... And, variables are supposed to be initalized so that the memory for it doesn't get used by something else that is already initalized....
     
    Last edited:
    102
    Posts
    15
    Years
    • Seen Jul 19, 2017
    I have got it to work but you have to disable the part of the code that generates the foreign trainer ID. This means the Pokemon will have your ID. I have tried a few ways to get the foreign ID to work but it isn't cooperating. If you would like to know what I have I will tell you.
     
    1,748
    Posts
    14
    Years
  • Heyy guys,
    I was wondering if anybody has yet to figure out how to fix this runtime error I'm getting when I try to add a foreign pokemon to my party using pokemon essentials. Here is the error I'm getting...

    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    Exception: RuntimeError

    Message: Script error within event 2, map 51 (Intro):

    (eval):1:in `pbAddForeignPokemon'wrong number of arguments(3 for 4)

    ***Full script:

    pbAddForeignPokemon(PBSpecies::PIKACHU,100,_I("Prof. Oak"))

    Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'

    (eval):1:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:789:in `eval'

    Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:789:in `command_111'

    Interpreter:322:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:190:in `update'

    Interpreter:104:in `loop'

    Interpreter:195:in `update'

    Scene_Map:100:in `update'



    Interpreter:279:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:789:in `command_111'

    Interpreter:322:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:190:in `update'

    Interpreter:104:in `loop'

    Interpreter:195:in `update'

    Scene_Map:100:in `update'

    Scene_Map:98:in `loop'

    Scene_Map:111:in `update'

    Scene_Map:67:in `main'



    This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.

    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    Can anybody fix this problem?? Please, let me know!! Thanks!! Bye!! P.S. The first person who fixes this problem will be in my game as the 8th Gym Leader.... Anyways, thanks again.... bye!!

    Delete audio.dll that's how it's fixed.
    Oh wait sorry wrong thing.
     
    81
    Posts
    15
    Years
    • Seen Apr 8, 2021
    where can i edit the QuickAttack script? i need to fix a problem. similiar to OG's problem which was sprites being cut in battle. can anyone help?
     
    1,748
    Posts
    14
    Years
  • ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    Exception: NoMethodError
    Message: undefined method `setBitmap' for #<SpriteWrapper:0x477cd20>
    PokemonEditor:1084:in `refresh'
    PokemonEditor:879:in `pbListScreenBlock'
    PokemonEditor:874:in `loop'
    PokemonEditor:899:in `pbListScreenBlock'
    PokemonEditor:2919:in `pbTrainerTypeEditor'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbEditorMenu'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbFadeOutIn'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbEditorMenu'
    EditorMain:26:in `loop'
    EditorMain:97:in `pbEditorMenu'

    This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.
    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    Thats what happens when I want to edit the trainer battles (using existing Graphics) otherwise I can only edit or make new trainer graphics, please help!
     

    Maruno

    Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
    5,286
    Posts
    16
    Years
    • Seen May 3, 2024
    Still getting the same error, even in a conditional branch.... I think it was coded wrong when the code was written... If I was better at programming, which i am currently learning at ITT Tech. for Computer Networking, I would try and rewrite the script... But, I don't know much, so, I can't... But... Has anybody gotten it to work at all..?? So you guys know, the reason I say it was coded wrong, in my opinion, is because when I looked at the code in PokemonUtilities, it seems to only have an "if" statement, and there is no "then" or "else" statements... For example...

    def pbAddForeignPokemon(species,level,ownerName,nickname)
    if $Trainer.party.length==6
    return false
    end

    There should be an "else" statement right after the "if" statement, but it just continues on with the code below...

    speciesname=PBSpecies.getName(species)
    Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("{1} received a Pokémon from {2}.\1",$Trainer.name,ownerName))
    pokemon=PokeBattle_Pokemon.new(species,level,$Trainer)
    # Set ID and OT name to a foreign one
    pokemon.id=$Trainer.getForeignID
    pokemon.ot=ownerName
    # Set nickname
    if nickname
    pokemon.name=nickname[0,10]
    end
    # Recalculate stats
    pokemon.calcStats
    pbStorePokemon(pokemon)
    return true
    end

    Let me know if you think there should be an "else" statement also.... Another thing is that to me it does not look like "ownerName" is an actual variable, b/c i looked through it, and i can't even find it initalized anywhere... And, variables are supposed to be initalized so that the memory for it doesn't get used by something else that is already initalized....
    The part at the beginning is fine as it is. If you have a full party, it immediately returns "false" without going on to the rest of the script. If it doesn't return "false" immediately, then you have space in your party and the rest of the script is worked through.

    Regarding the "ownerName" thing, see what's been highlighted in red in the quote...
     

    |Maximus|

    I'm back~
    836
    Posts
    16
    Years
    • Seen Sep 10, 2010
    Is there a way to create a light on a lampost without having a shadow cast.
     

    Luke128th

    These days shall pass...
    83
    Posts
    16
    Years
    • Age 32
    • Seen Jun 1, 2012
    I mentioned this problem with the Trainer Types Editor earlier:
    Hey, guys. Saw this error posted earlier, and the dude said he fixed it(I think) but I need to find out how. Here's the error:



    I checked the scripts for the editor, and everything seems to be in order. What's the problem?

    Can someone throw me a bone here?:\

    EDIT:
    I've also got another problem here! Dang, this is bad... Anyway, I'm trying to create a dependent event, and I set the event to be a parallel process, but I keep getting this:

    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Regions Project
    ---------------------------
    Exception: RuntimeError

    Message: Script error within event 8, map 31 (CHERRYGROVE CITY):

    (eval):1:in `pbExecuteScript'compile error
    (eval):1: syntax error
    Kernel.pbAddDependancy2(009, P, 011)
    ^

    ***Full script:

    Kernel.pbAddDependancy2(009, P, 011)




    Interpreter:258:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:1652:in `command_355'

    Interpreter:496:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:190:in `update'

    Interpreter:104:in `loop'

    Interpreter:195:in `update'

    Game_Event_:230:in `update'

    Game_Map_:305:in `update'

    Game_Map_:303:in `each'

    Game_Map_:303:in `update'



    This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.

    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    Any ideas?
     
    Last edited:

    Thingula

    How do you change this text?
    315
    Posts
    14
    Years
    • Seen Jun 19, 2014
    How can I disable the header (says the name of cities, for example, in the top left corner) for a map? (I.E. Not have it show when I go inside a house)
     

    thepsynergist

    Vinemon: Sauce Edition Programmer and Composer
    795
    Posts
    15
    Years
  • Ok, i found an interesting glitch in Pokemon Essentials.

    1.) you select a Pokemon move and your Pokemon goes second.

    2.) The defending Pokemon suicides with a move like Curse(if ghost type) or self destruct.

    3.) Your pokemon survives and you are asked to switch out. You say yes.

    4.) When you switch out, The Pokemon that you switched uses the move the previous move that you selected.

    I.E. Your Charmander is about to use Ember, the defending Pokemon dies before you use it. You switch to Totodile. Totodile uses Ember.

    Is there anyway to fix this error. It's kind of a big one.


    This is a large Pokemon Essentials error that needs fixing, can someone please help me. I'm sure that this problem exists within everyone's current Pokemon Fangame, not just mine.
     
    8
    Posts
    14
    Years
    • Seen Oct 2, 2009
    I can't register a Partner Trainer.

    Am I doing this right? To register a partner trainer I used this script command:

    Code:
    pbRegisterPartner(PBTrainers::LEADER1,"SANDY",0)
    The trainer type is LEADER1 (not the displayed type, I changed that in the
    trainer names file), her name is SANDY, and her ID is 0.

    It's not working. It just errors and says that
    Code:
    (PBTrainers::LEADER1,"SANDY",0)
    shouldn't have a "(" at the beginning of it.
     
    4
    Posts
    14
    Years
    • Seen Oct 2, 2009
    Foreign Pokémon Fix with Foreign Trainer ID as well!!

    Heyy everybody, I know I don't know much on programming. But here is the code fix for PokemonUtilities... Change the line 260 in PokemonUtilities from
    Code:
    Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("{1} recieved a pokemon from {2}.\1",$Trainer.name,
    Code:
    [I][B]ownername))[/B][/I]
    <-- (Notice the un-camelCased variable?) to
    Code:
      [B][I]Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("{1} received a Pokémon from {2}.\1",$Trainer.name,ownerName))[/I][/B]
    (or just change ownername to ownerName, for experienced programmers they should know of something called camelCase for variables. Basically you lowercase the first word, and then capitalize the first letter of every other word after that in the variable name. This line, origionally, however, was not camelCased, and yet every other instance of the word ownername actually looked like this throughout the code ==> ==> ownerName <== <==)

    Then, after that, to get the ForeignID to work correctly, change the part in like 263 from
    Code:
    [B]pokemon.id=$Trainer.getForeignID[/B]
    to
    Code:
    [B][I]pokemon.ot=$Trainer.getForeignID[/I][/B]
    It worked fully when I tested it... The pokémon even had a different ID number like it is supposed to!!! Yay!! Hope anybody who is/was having a problem with this please with this... I give myself some kudos for this.... lol... Well, have funn... peace...

    Am I doing this right? To register a partner trainer I used this script command:

    Code:
    pbRegisterPartner(PBTrainers::LEADER1,"SANDY",0)
    The trainer type is LEADER1 (not the displayed type, I changed that in the
    trainer names file), her name is SANDY, and her ID is 0.

    It's not working. It just errors and says that
    Code:
    (PBTrainers::LEADER1,"SANDY",0)
    shouldn't have a "(" at the beginning of it.

    Did you try copying the example from the cave?? Try that and see how it is set up... Then, tell me if you've got any errors and I'll look @ the code and try to debug it... :)
     
    Last edited:
    1,748
    Posts
    14
    Years
  • ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    Exception: NoMethodError
    Message: undefined method `setBitmap' for #<SpriteWrapper:0x477cd20>
    PokemonEditor:1084:in `refresh'
    PokemonEditor:879:in `pbListScreenBlock'
    PokemonEditor:874:in `loop'
    PokemonEditor:899:in `pbListScreenBlock'
    PokemonEditor:2919:in `pbTrainerTypeEditor'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbEditorMenu'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbFadeOutIn'
    EditorMain:58:in `pbEditorMenu'
    EditorMain:26:in `loop'
    EditorMain:97:in `pbEditorMenu'

    This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.
    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
    Thats what happens when I want to edit the trainer battles (using existing Graphics) otherwise I can only edit or make new trainer graphics, please help!
     

    Luke128th

    These days shall pass...
    83
    Posts
    16
    Years
    • Age 32
    • Seen Jun 1, 2012
    I figured out my second problem, and now I have one more question. What(If there is one) is the script used to check the position of any Pokemon in the trainer's party? i.e. 1st pokemon, 2nd, etc.
     
    24
    Posts
    15
    Years
    • Seen Apr 24, 2013
    ive been working on this game now for a while and dont want to lose it over a stupid mistake....[using rpg maker xp + pokemon starter kit]

    i simply changed the weather effect of a map and it gave me this error message...
    (i can no longer use the playtest, editor, or game function)

    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    Exception: Errno::ENOENT
    Message: File PBS/townmap.txt not found.
    Compiler:498:in `initialize'
    Compiler:498:in `open'
    Compiler:498:in `pbCompilerEachCommentedLine'
    Compiler:583:in `pbCompileTownMap'
    Compiler:3504:in `pbCompileAllData'
    Compiler:3636

    This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.
    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    any help would be really appreciated...
     
    Status
    Not open for further replies.
    Back
    Top