The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
Help Thread Patching & Emulation

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #476    
Old January 9th, 2012 (3:43 PM).
BOBcorevette BOBcorevette is offline
     
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Gender:
    Posts: 9
    When running Mac Boy Advance and loading a game it makes the screen half pink and half the game(red version & and newest Mac OS). Has anyone else had this problem on Mac and know how to fix it? Or any other good emulators that work on mac?

    thanks!
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #477    
    Old January 10th, 2012 (3:02 AM).
    leafjammer leafjammer is offline
       
      Join Date: Jan 2012
      Posts: 5
      Hey i've been posting because of my problem so this is it how do i fix my ttds wont load it keeps loading but not load help
      Reply With Quote
        #478    
      Old January 12th, 2012 (4:07 AM). Edited January 12th, 2012 by pokejohn01.
      pokejohn01 pokejohn01 is offline
         
        Join Date: Jan 2012
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 7
        i need some help with this no exp thing.
        my rom works fine but the emulator desmume wont give exp when playing pokemon white on it.
        if i play it on the ds i get exp, so there is nothing wrong with the rom and i dont need to patch the rom

        edit: ok problem solved. i found a action replay code for the xp problem and now it works
        Reply With Quote
          #479    
        Old January 15th, 2012 (6:16 AM).
        MachoPony's Avatar
        MachoPony MachoPony is offline
        Resident Brony
           
          Join Date: Aug 2011
          Location: Equestria
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 173
          im Running he Latest VBA Link so i can play through Firered
          Problem is that i cant save so no trading all that happens is it says *saving* and then stays there eternally
          the weird thing is i started gain on a diff File (need something to trade to) and it worked absolutely fine so what can i do?
          Reply With Quote
            #480    
          Old February 2nd, 2012 (5:07 PM).
          Jill Valentine's Avatar
          Jill Valentine Jill Valentine is offline
          Nexios Leader
             
            Join Date: Jan 2012
            Age: 25
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Sassy
            Posts: 9
            did'nt know where to post this probably here anyways umm I'm making a Firered Hack based on Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire but I need help this first is the message when you start firered you know the one with pikachu at the top how can I changed the text there Also where on here can I get help with the professors script I need help
            __________________
            September 28th Daylight, the monsters have overtaken the city somehow....I'm still alive...
            Reply With Quote
              #481    
            Old February 2nd, 2012 (11:42 PM).
            Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
            Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
            Memento Mori
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Jul 2008
            Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 14,447
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Jill Valentine View Post
            did'nt know where to post this probably here anyways umm I'm making a Firered Hack based on Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire but I need help this first is the message when you start firered you know the one with pikachu at the top how can I changed the text there Also where on here can I get help with the professors script I need help
            Professor's script can be changed with A-Text or better by using Hex Editor.
            __________________
            ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

            Anime List | PSN Trophy List
            Reply With Quote
              #482    
            Old February 3rd, 2012 (2:27 PM). Edited February 3rd, 2012 by Tman.
            Tman's Avatar
            Tman Tman is offline
               
              Join Date: Jan 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 144
              1. Is it possible to have all the pokemon (through Gen 5), or at least through gen 4, on a FR/LG or a R/S/E rom? if so how?
              2. How do you put the overworld pokemon sprites in on a rom map?
              Reply With Quote
                #483    
              Old February 4th, 2012 (12:20 AM).
              Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
              Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
              Memento Mori
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Jul 2008
              Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
              Age: 24
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 14,447
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Tman109ner View Post
              1. Is it possible to have all the pokemon (through Gen 5), or at least through gen 4, on a FR/LG or a R/S/E rom? if so how?
              2. How do you put the overworld pokemon sprites in on a rom map?
              1. Not possible yet.
              2. ROM map? Do you mean world map or map in game?
              If you mean in-game map then just put them like normal OW :D
              If you mean world map then I don't think that's possible =D
              __________________
              ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

              Anime List | PSN Trophy List
              Reply With Quote
                #484    
              Old February 6th, 2012 (6:37 PM).
              Jill Valentine's Avatar
              Jill Valentine Jill Valentine is offline
              Nexios Leader
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2012
                Age: 25
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Sassy
                Posts: 9
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post

                Professor's script can be changed with A-Text or better by using Hex Editor.
                I use pksvui and I know how to change it but there was a bunch of stuff when I opened it I got confused and I still need help with that welcome message also now I got a problem I really need help with Ive completed Littleroot, route 101,olddale,Route 102,route 103 and petalburg everything fine scripts, warps, changed music, wild pokemon nothing wrong any ways I made route 104 the map works fine I connected it to Petalburg now my Petalburg map frezes when I enter it when it worked fine before
                __________________
                September 28th Daylight, the monsters have overtaken the city somehow....I'm still alive...
                Reply With Quote
                  #485    
                Old February 8th, 2012 (6:02 AM).
                G-Six G-Six is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 3
                  hey guys,

                  pretty dumb question maybe but, where can I get support for a little bigger problem? I have a Scripting problem and have to post a few files to get help. But I don't quite know where to post it '

                  ~g-six
                  Reply With Quote
                    #486    
                  Old February 10th, 2012 (12:49 AM).
                  Perry_'s Avatar
                  Perry_ Perry_ is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2008
                    Posts: 20
                    Just looking for an IPS patcher for macs, havent played hacks since my PC days
                    Reply With Quote
                      #487    
                    Old February 10th, 2012 (1:17 AM).
                    zantetsu122's Avatar
                    zantetsu122 zantetsu122 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2012
                      Gender: Female
                      Posts: 201
                      Go to Suicune's Expert Emerald, I think I saw a Patcher for MAC.
                      __________________
                      Challenges
                      Water UMC: FR: 6/8 Badges
                      C: UE: 1/16
                      E: 0/8
                      D/P: 0/8
                      B: 0/8
                      Ultimate Solo Challenge:
                      Excadrill: 0/8( still confirming.)
                      Dragonite; LG>LC>E>PT>BB/VW(still confirming)
                      Random Solo Challenge Platinum 0/8:
                      Snorlax
                      Milotic
                      Luxray
                      Pelipper
                      Mamoswine
                      Lickylicky
                      0/8
                      Reply With Quote
                        #488    
                      Old February 10th, 2012 (1:43 AM).
                      Perry_'s Avatar
                      Perry_ Perry_ is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Posts: 20
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by zantetsu122 View Post
                        Go to Suicune's Expert Emerald, I think I saw a Patcher for MAC.
                        Checked it, couldnt find anything
                        Reply With Quote
                          #489    
                        Old February 10th, 2012 (2:16 AM).
                        mysteryme's Avatar
                        mysteryme mysteryme is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2011
                          Location: Netherlands
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 66
                          I am busy with my fire red hack, and I am always testing it. I made it up to gym 2. it all worked perfect. I just edited some trainers on the next route but when i try to launch the game in vba, it only gives me a white screen! the game won't load. my previous demo (till mt.moon) is working perfect, but my new beta just gives me a white screen.

                          what could it be?
                          __________________
                          Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #490    
                          Old February 10th, 2012 (2:59 AM).
                          DrFuji's Avatar
                          DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                          Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                          • Crystal Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                          Location: Downia-upside
                          Age: 24
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Jolly
                          Posts: 1,326
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by G-Six View Post
                          hey guys,

                          pretty dumb question maybe but, where can I get support for a little bigger problem? :S I have a Scripting problem and have to post a few files to get help. But I don't quite know where to post it ^_^'

                          ~g-six
                          If it's a scripting problem then you should post in the Script Help Thread. Just write a reply with your script in it and the chances are that somebody will be able to help. Uploading files generally isn't necessary to get your problem solved :)

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by mysteryme View Post
                          I am busy with my fire red hack, and I am always testing it. I made it up to gym 2. it all worked perfect. I just edited some trainers on the next route but when i try to launch the game in vba, it only gives me a white screen! the game won't load. my previous demo (till mt.moon) is working perfect, but my new beta just gives me a white screen.

                          what could it be?
                          If you're encountering a never ending white screen then you have most likely overwritten or corrupted important data while you were editing your ROM. It is next to impossible to recover from this so the best/ easiest thing to do is to start work from your most recent working file and reinsert all of your newer improvements. Be sure to use safe offsets and back up your files regularly to prevent this from happening again!
                          __________________
                          Reply With Quote
                            #491    
                          Old February 10th, 2012 (3:12 AM). Edited February 10th, 2012 by mysteryme.
                          mysteryme's Avatar
                          mysteryme mysteryme is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2011
                            Location: Netherlands
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 66
                            Thanks for help. Now i have 1 more question:
                            Where can i find a tutorial for making a rival? Or where can i find a rival script?
                            __________________
                            Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #492    
                            Old February 10th, 2012 (4:00 AM).
                            DrFuji's Avatar
                            DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                            Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2009
                            Location: Downia-upside
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 1,326
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by mysteryme View Post
                            Thanks for help, another quick question:
                            Where can i find a script tutorial for making a rival?
                            There is no real tutorial for making a rival as there is no set way for making one. You just need to use a combination of commands like you would in any other script. If you want their Pokemon to change depending on which starter you chose you can set a flag/ variable when you receive the Pokemon and then check it when you encounter you rival. You could write something along the lines of this:

                            Code:
                            ...
                            compare 0x4031 0x0 // variable 0x4031 determines which starter you chose in an unedited FR ROM
                            if 0x1 call @BattleCharmander
                            compare 0x4031 0x1
                            if 0x1 call @BattleBulbasaur
                            compare 0x4031 0x2
                            if 0x1 call @BattleSquirtle
                            msgbox @YouBeatMe 0x2
                            ...
                            
                            #org @BattleCharmander
                            trainerbattle 0x3 0x30 0x0 @after
                            return
                            
                            #org @BattleBulbasaur
                            trainerbattle 0x3 0x31 0x0 @after
                            return
                            
                            #org @BattleSquirtle
                            trainerbattle 0x3 0x32 0x0 @after
                            return
                            __________________
                            Reply With Quote
                              #493    
                            Old February 10th, 2012 (5:13 AM).
                            mysteryme's Avatar
                            mysteryme mysteryme is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2011
                              Location: Netherlands
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 66
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
                              There is no real tutorial for making a rival as there is no set way for making one. You just need to use a combination of commands like you would in any other script. If you want their Pokemon to change depending on which starter you chose you can set a flag/ variable when you receive the Pokemon and then check it when you encounter you rival. You could write something along the lines of this:

                              Code:
                              ...
                              compare 0x4031 0x0 // variable 0x4031 determines which starter you chose in an unedited FR ROM
                              if 0x1 call @BattleCharmander
                              compare 0x4031 0x1
                              if 0x1 call @BattleBulbasaur
                              compare 0x4031 0x2
                              if 0x1 call @BattleSquirtle
                              msgbox @YouBeatMe 0x2
                              ...
                              
                              #org @BattleCharmander
                              trainerbattle 0x3 0x30 0x0 @after
                              return
                              
                              #org @BattleBulbasaur
                              trainerbattle 0x3 0x31 0x0 @after
                              return
                              
                              #org @BattleSquirtle
                              trainerbattle 0x3 0x32 0x0 @after
                              return
                              I just want to make a second rival. I have gary, and now i want to make a second one. so, i don't need the codes with starters.
                              I want her to meet me, battle, than walk away and disappear.
                              __________________
                              Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
                              Reply With Quote
                                #494    
                              Old February 10th, 2012 (5:37 AM).
                              DrFuji's Avatar
                              DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                              Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2009
                              Location: Downia-upside
                              Age: 24
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Jolly
                              Posts: 1,326
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by mysteryme View Post
                              I just want to make a second rival. I have gary, and now i want to make a second one. so, i don't need the codes with starters.
                              I want her to meet me, battle, than walk away and disappear.
                              If that's what you need help with then I think you would be better of by reading diegoisawesome's XSE tutorial as it gives detailed instructions on making applymovement scripts and how a lot of the scripting commands work. Also, try looking at scripts that other people/ Gamefreak have made to learn their structures. If you're still having problems with your script then you should post in the Script Help Thread from now on.
                              __________________
                              Reply With Quote
                                #495    
                              Old February 10th, 2012 (6:25 AM).
                              mysteryme's Avatar
                              mysteryme mysteryme is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2011
                                Location: Netherlands
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 66
                                Ok thank you i found it.
                                Another quick and very different question:
                                How long does it take for an admin or mod to confirm a new topic in hacks showcase and progressing hacks? i am waiting for 2 days now..
                                __________________
                                Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #496    
                                Old February 19th, 2012 (5:53 PM). Edited February 19th, 2012 by Hamel.
                                Hamel's Avatar
                                Hamel Hamel is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2011
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Posts: 4
                                  This may have been answered before or there may be a tutorial on this, if there are, I'm not finding something that is helping me at all, or it could be that I'm just too frustrated in trying to find it that I'm blinded in actually seeing it. I'm trying to make a hack but I'm having a few problems.

                                  1) I'm trying to figure out how to change the selecting options on the side of advanced map, (where you pick the selections for grass/buildings etc, I'd post a pic but it won't allow me to without 15 posts, I'm not exactly sure the exact term or name for this either so searching for how to change it around is hard) I don't want to use the options for Ruby and want to have something a bit more updated looking but I'm not understanding or seeing how to change it. I'm on a Mac (which some might say is the problem) and am using Advanced Map through Wine.

                                  2) Are there hacking tools for Mac? I'd really like to use the A-Mart, A-Text and A-Starter not to mention YAPE but wine won't open them and when I tried to use them on another computer (PC) it won't load them and keeps telling me that trojans are attached to them I have this really awesome idea for a hack but I feel that the task may be outside my abilities for what I'm working with.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #497    
                                  Old February 20th, 2012 (6:50 AM).
                                  BDHORNZ BDHORNZ is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2012
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 9
                                    I have a question which came in my mind yesterday.is it possible to play hacks online? I want to play pokemon b/w online and I am playing Blaze Black(a b/w hack),so can I just play online with normal b/w players even though I play a hack??
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #498    
                                    Old February 25th, 2012 (12:34 AM).
                                    Hamel's Avatar
                                    Hamel Hamel is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2011
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Posts: 4
                                      Not sure if allowed to bump this up, because I'd really like some answers to my questions since I can't seem to find any answers through threads. Thanks~!
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #499    
                                      Old March 2nd, 2012 (6:27 PM).
                                      Outkin's Avatar
                                      Outkin Outkin is offline
                                      OM*G PIKMIN 3!!!
                                         
                                        Join Date: Feb 2012
                                        Location: Canada B.C.
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Quirky
                                        Posts: 281
                                        What are the diffrences between roms for hacking purposes? Diffrent people seem to keep saying diffrent ones are better which leads me to believe it's down to the type of hack and personal choice. This is confusing me a bit, but I'm sure once I get the facts I'll figure it out.

                                        Thanks1
                                        __________________





                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #500    
                                        Old March 3rd, 2012 (5:16 PM).
                                        bwburke94's Avatar
                                        bwburke94 bwburke94 is offline
                                        Still Aspertia's Aspie
                                           
                                          Join Date: Mar 2010
                                          Location: Conway, Massachusetts
                                          Age: 22
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Lonely
                                          Posts: 742
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by BDHORNZ View Post
                                          I have a question which came in my mind yesterday.is it possible to play hacks online? I want to play pokemon b/w online and I am playing Blaze Black(a b/w hack),so can I just play online with normal b/w players even though I play a hack??
                                          This is a late response, but the answer is yes. You just have to make sure everything you use for battles or trading was hatched from an egg, in order to make sure everything's considered to be legal by the servers.
                                          __________________
                                          3DS Friend Code: 0645-5804-7602
                                          Reply With Quote
                                          Reply
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:11 AM.