• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Discussion] Balancing a game with multiple regions in it

Years
  • Age 32
  • Seen Jun 10, 2016
hey there i started with my own game 2 days ago. as i am pretty new to game maker xp and pokemon essentials i still have some open questions i need to have answers for to see my possibilities for my idea.

first of all - without telling too much about the big idea - i thought about having more than one region in my game.
as we all look back to g/s/c it was pretty cool to have the second region after completing the league but as you got pokemon at level 60 or higher up to then you just went through it like a berserker
and the second region was only a xp grind method to be ready for mount silver (is it called like that in english?)

so i thought about a proper balancing for this.

one way would be to set the max level to like (exaggerated) 1000 so you could start having trainers with lvl 101 pokemon in region 2 which would be much more challenging (well i would play gold again and see what level i would get until the end of the first league)
it was possible to reach level 142 in red and blue with the missingno glitch so the number as such should generally be possible its just the 100 cap value that would need a change right?
dont know if i would need to adjust the main stats sheet up to 200 in that case.