• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

6th Gen Looking for advice with EV/IV training

Years
    • Seen Jan 20, 2017
    I was curious what those of you who have had a hand at ev/iv training think about this. I just started ev training so I'm brand new at it but I can't seem to find any information on wether it is better to put your EV's into low IV stats or if I should put them into high IV stats? I don't want to put the EV's to waste but I was thinking if I stuck them in one of my stats that has low IV maybe it would round out my pokemon's stats better?

Nah

Years
    • Age 31
    • she/her, they/them
    • Seen today
    I was curious what those of you who have had a hand at ev/iv training think about this. I just started ev training so I'm brand new at it but I can't seem to find any information on wether it is better to put your EV's into low IV stats or if I should put them into high IV stats? I don't want to put the EV's to waste but I was thinking if I stuck them in one of my stats that has low IV maybe it would round out my pokemon's stats better?
    Typically you want to invest EVs in the Pokemon's strengths, though there are exceptions (SpDef Skarmory), or ones where it's not readily apparently or there's multiple right ways to do it (Landorus-Therian). There's also the matter of tweaking EV spreads/making custom ones for certain purposes but it's best not to worry too much about that when just starting out.

As for IVs, you want those as high as possible in everything except for the one stat the Pokemon isn't going to make use of, like SpA on a physical attacker or something.

Years
    • Seen Jan 20, 2017