• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Scripting Question] Having trouble with coding a form change mid battle

Years
    • Seen Oct 1, 2023
    Hey guys!

I've never coded before, and decided to tackle a custom ability.

Essentially, I want the specific pokemon to change into a different sprite when they become Poisoned.

I tried my best to make this happen, replicating the Form Change info from Castform, but, it isn't working. Nothing happens when the Pokemon is Poisoned.

If someone could help, I'd be extremely grateful!

Here is the code I have atm!

Code:
     if isSpecies?(:AIPOM)
          if hasActiveAbility?(:HUNGRYFORNOODLES)
            newForm = 0
            case pbHasAnyStatus?
            when :POISON then newForm = 1
            end
            if @form != newForm
              @battle.pbShowAbilitySplash(self, true)
              @battle.pbHideAbilitySplash(self)
              pbChangeForm(newForm, _INTL("{1} transformed!", pbThis))
            end
          else
            pbChangeForm(0, _INTL("{1} transformed!", pbThis))
          end
        end

Last edited by a moderator:

StCooler

Mayst thou thy peace discover.
    Years
    • Seen May 5, 2024
    The problem resides in these lines:
    Code:
            case pbHasAnyStatus?
            when :POISON then newForm = 1
            end
    You should use "case" only when you want to check a value and have different outcomes depending on that value. Also note that there is a syntax error; there is no "then" after a "when". If you write on one line, you have to replace "then" with ";".
    In your case here, you could write:

Code:
            case @status