• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Game Help: Help a new player out

Years
    • Seen Aug 26, 2018
    Hello everybody. I'm really new to pokemon (1st time playing), and I need help.

So, I thought to myself that Pokèmon Emerald would be the best way to get into the games. I'm playing one on a GBA emulator on my phone (I don't own a GBA, but I'm looking to buy a Nintendo handheld, any of the DS ones. Probably a handheld that has backwards compatibility with older gameboy games)

So, with that aside, I'm gonna ask you. What kind of skills/knowlege does it take to become a good trainer?

I'm currently on my 1st Emerald playtrough, my starter is a Torchic. I'm LVL 13 with it. I don't do much outside of roaming and leveling up my chic, so I wouldn't mind starting over if I did something wrong. I have a few general questions:

-When should I start catching other Pokèmon?
    -What types should I catch and what should I avoid?
    -What should I even be doing in the game other than trying to defeat the four guys at the end?
    -How do I get really good and knowlegable of the game?
    -Lastly, are there any good guides/youtube videos that generally explain Pokèmon stuff to really new players?

Thanks in advance, I appreciate every little bit of help.

Nah

Years
    • Age 31
    • she/her, they/them
    • Seen today
    There is, um, something I'm in the middle of writing that I think would probably be of use to you, but it's not ready yet and I'm not sure when it will be ready, so.....

But I can still answer your questions as best I can.

When should I start catching other Pokèmon?