• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Turning off EV gain, setting all IV to zero, etc (Fire Red)

Years
    • Seen Jul 3, 2023
    Hullo, I just have a query regarding starting out in editing Fire Red, in particular setting all EV gain from battles to zero, and ensuring all pokemon have zero IV totals.
    I suppose a little background is in order! I am new to rom hacking, and this is my first attempt at all this, and I have spent several days scouring this and other forums for a solution to this requirement, with very little success.
    I have assembled all the tools I need, and developed my rom to the point where a new player is basically placed outside near a dying NPC, who hands over a starter pokemon and dex, and all this is working fine; from here though I wanted to ensure that EV and IV influence were negated going forward in a world that is totally wild battles.
    I have edited the representation of all types to my new desired flavours, and I am currently looking into how to alter type-effectiveness in combat.
    I was also very interested in finding a way to cap the pokemon's levels at something a lot lower than 100, but have had no luck finding a solution for this either.
    My script editing and hex manipulation skills are very basic, to say the least, but I have managed to get this far into editing the rom, and need this next hurdle overcome so that I may go on to the mountain of sprite editing and such that lies ahead.
    So, in a nutshell, I need a way to:
    - Turn off EV gain from battle
    - Set all pokemon IV to zero
    - Reduce the level cap
    - Edit type-effective combat balance.