The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Tutorial [TUTORIAL] Easy OW indexing and insertion

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old December 5th, 2009 (8:24 PM). Edited April 15th, 2010 by Logan.
~Teh Panda~'s Avatar
~Teh Panda~ ~Teh Panda~ is offline
Sea of Dreams - Redux
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 906

[TUTORIAL] Easy OW indexing and insertion



What tools do we need?


All are free!

  • IRFranView
  • Gimp
  • OW Editor Rebirth Edition (or Darthatron's)

Step 1: Indexing


For this step we will be using IRFranView and Gimp


First off, open up IRFranView and the table of overworlds which you have chosen, for this tutorial I will use a set from Zelix's sheet.
Link to Zelix's sheet here

Now to index the whole set at just one time go to

Image.>.Decrease color depth...


Once in that dialogue make sure you UNCHECK Floyd-Steinberg Dithering unlike the image. Now click 16 colors and press ok. Now save it as a bitmap to wherever.

So where does gimp come in on the indexing? Well it is a small step, but VERY important for your Overworld to come out with the smexiness you want :3.

Now in Gimp, go to here

Windows.>.Dockable Dialogs.>.Colormap

From here click on the arrow on the top right and press edit colormap, now put your transparent color as the first color! Now your done indexing your table of OW's.


Step 2: Frame by frame easy insertion!


For this step we will be using Gimp and OWE Rebirth/Darthatron's



Now in gimp with your table we must make them into frame by frame representations such as all ow's in the game.

A frame of an OW of a normal person is 16(width)x32(height) pixels.
But we cannot just start any old one in Gimp, no we must reopen your table and have two of it open, to do this just save your table as another name.
Now with that we will resize one of them to 16x32 pixels.

Now you must paste the first frame of your sprite into here. Now save it as 1.bmp. Do this for every frame and keep saving up one more number.

Once you are done you have all your frames ready to insert.

Now in OWE Rebirth/Darthatrons go to the OW you want to edit, press import Sprite...
Now browse and choose your image, also check import pallet. Then press OK! Frame one = done!
Now do the same thing for each frame and you are done!

.......

Final product:


__________________




Mystic still in work to let you know...
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old December 18th, 2009 (11:44 AM).
Jemzx's Avatar
Jemzx Jemzx is offline
Guardian Trainer
     
    Join Date: Nov 2009
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 44
    thanks, this is an useful tutorial
    Reply With Quote
      #3    
    Old December 20th, 2009 (2:50 PM).
    piercesj piercesj is offline
       
      Join Date: Aug 2008
      Gender:
      Posts: 32
      Nice tutorial dude, thanks
      Reply With Quote
        #4    
      Old February 6th, 2010 (8:10 AM).
      FireEmblemTSS's Avatar
      FireEmblemTSS FireEmblemTSS is offline
         
        Join Date: Mar 2008
        Location: Are you stalking me?
        Gender:
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 21
        Wait, I don't understand one part.

        Quote:
        Now with that we will resize one of them to 16x32 pixels.

        Now you must paste the first frame of your sprite into here.
        How do we resize it? And where do we paste it?
        __________________

        http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y93/New_zoo_York/PokemonMetallicIce.png


        YouTube: FESacredStones
        Reply With Quote
          #5    
        Old February 11th, 2010 (5:53 AM).
        Count's Avatar
        Count Count is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2009
          Location: Amsterdam.
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 169
          this really helped me and it's hell easy. (:
          Reply With Quote
            #6    
          Old February 16th, 2010 (1:27 PM).
          altariaking's Avatar
          altariaking altariaking is offline
          Needs NO VMs...
             
            Join Date: Dec 2009
            Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
            Age: 42
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Naive
            Posts: 1,098
            Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to altariaking
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by FireEmblemTSS View Post
            Wait, I don't understand one part.



            How do we resize it? And where do we paste it?
            if your using paint then click image>attributes and then type 16 in the first box and 32 in the next. great tutorial! i already knew this but it will help begginers
            __________________
            http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
            Reply With Quote
              #7    
            Old February 16th, 2010 (1:33 PM).
            Lord Varion's Avatar
            Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
            Guess who's back?
               
              Join Date: Feb 2009
              Age: 22
              Gender: Other
              Nature: Naughty
              Posts: 2,644
              does this work also by using d/p or hg/ss sprites onto a GBA rom
              __________________
              gone.
              Reply With Quote
                #8    
              Old February 17th, 2010 (5:43 AM).
              Reygok's Avatar
              Reygok Reygok is offline
              Beginning Hacker
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2009
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 60
                My problem is the palette I'm importing with my new OW. That palette is also used for some other OWs, and they look extremely weird now :p
                Reply With Quote
                  #9    
                Old March 2nd, 2010 (2:37 PM). Edited March 2nd, 2010 by PeregrineFig.
                PeregrineFig's Avatar
                PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
                Starting Pokémon Obsidian
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                  Location: Michigan, USA
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Hardy
                  Posts: 202
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Reygok View Post
                  My problem is the palette I'm importing with my new OW. That palette is also used for some other OWs, and they look extremely weird now :p
                  I had the same problem, so found a simple solution. I was importing sprites into FR from Emerald, and they badly screwed up my palettes, so I reverted the palettes (I had a backup of the rocket's normal sprite with the old palette) and switched the old sprite's palette to one that isn't used for anything, 19 in this case. Then I imported the new sprite again and imported the palette, swapping out the old unused one with the new one. The new sprite is the only one in the whole game to use palette 19 anyway, so nothing else was screwed up.

                  EDIT: I found that the hero sprites use the odd palettes, so it may be a good idea to make your hero sprites look normal with the palettes used by regular NPCs.
                  Reply With Quote
                    #10    
                  Old April 1st, 2010 (11:24 AM).
                  DingoDD's Avatar
                  DingoDD DingoDD is offline
                  I'll Import your Sprites
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2010
                    Location: Kanto
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 10
                    Great tutorial I just need to know which
                    color is your transparent one.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #11    
                    Old April 1st, 2010 (1:56 PM).
                    ShinyBill ShinyBill is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Hardy
                      Posts: 62
                      It's usually the first color.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #12    
                      Old April 1st, 2010 (10:56 PM).
                      DingoDD's Avatar
                      DingoDD DingoDD is offline
                      I'll Import your Sprites
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2010
                        Location: Kanto
                        Age: 26
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quiet
                        Posts: 10
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by ShinyBill View Post
                        It's usually the first color.
                        But what color do we replace our transparent one with.

                        I know I'm a noob
                        Reply With Quote
                          #13    
                        Old April 6th, 2010 (6:15 PM).
                        Darkerm's Avatar
                        Darkerm Darkerm is offline
                        Darkness is Not always Evil
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2010
                          Location: Bangladesh
                          Age: 24
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Gentle
                          Posts: 401
                          Nice tutorial but some image would be good for better understanding. Anyways thanks for the tutorial.
                          __________________
                          This signature has been disabled.
                          Exceeds the 350px height limit.
                          Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                          You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                          Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #14    
                          Old March 4th, 2011 (11:48 PM).
                          vicblade vicblade is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2010
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 8
                            Umm a problem in terms of palette...


                            It seems that I can't put two good customized Overworld sprites in the same map. I tried putting Espeon and Arcanine OW sprites together, both having different palettes of course.. and well the sprite that was first applied gets screwed up by the following sprite. In my case, if Arcanine(turns purplish) was first its color gets screwed up in gameplay by Espeon. Same when Espeon(turns orange) is first the color it then gets screwed up by Arcanine.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #15    
                            Old March 12th, 2011 (6:30 AM).
                            SKRoy SKRoy is offline
                            Pokémon Hacker
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2010
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 66
                              Nice tutorial!
                              Thank you!
                              Reply With Quote
                                #16    
                              Old April 15th, 2011 (5:50 PM).
                              darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2008
                                Gender:
                                Posts: 79
                                i got it to work fine for my hero sprite. nice tut, but one question. when you see your reflection in a pool of water, its all messed up for me. how do i fix that?
                                Reply With Quote
                                Reply
                                Quick Reply

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:54 AM.