The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Tutorial Inserting tiles without replacing.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 8th, 2014 (1:19 PM). Edited May 9th, 2014 by Kenny1.
Kenny1's Avatar
Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
     
    Join Date: Nov 2013
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 86
    Tile Inserting

    Hello today i am going to teach you how to insert tiles without replacing the originals.
    Unfortunately this is a bit buggy if youre lazy, it takes a lot of effort and determination.
    If you lack this turn back now.

    So lets begin, shall we?
    What you will need:
    Spoiler:

    Advance map 1.92 + 1.95 (AM)
    Irfan view (IV)
    Paint (P)
    Tiles to insert
    Pokemon rom


    Phase 1 (Indexing tiles)
    Spoiler:

    Step 1:
    Open AM 1.95, and load your rom.
    Go > Tools > Block Editor

    Step 2:
    Go > Tileset > Insert New Tileset
    Choose yes or no depending on what you want.

    Step 3:
    Now go to IV and load your Tiles,
    Go > Image > Decrease Color Depth,
    Tick 16 Color (4PBB)
    Click Ok
    Go > File > Save as... (Save as a PNG!! This is very important if you don't the tiles will become corrupted!)


    Phase 2 (Syncing AM's and IV's paletts)
    Spoiler:

    Step 1:
    Go to AM 1.92 (accept license agreement)
    Load Rom
    Open any map
    Go > Tools > Block Editor
    Go > Pallets > Show Pallet Editor.

    Step 2:
    Go to IV and Go > Image > Pallet > Edit Pallet.

    Step 3:
    Here comes the tricky part:
    In AM's Pallet Editor click on the first colour in the pallet'
    Then click select color and point the mouse cursor at the first color of IV's Pallet Editor, Now hit enter, then in AM's Pallet editor click apply.

    Step 4:
    Go to the second one in AM's Pallet Editor(PE)
    repeat the process but point the cursor at the second color of IV's PE.Do this for all the colors.

    Step 5:
    When done in AM click on the first color and write down the RGB,
    Then Go to IV's PE and double click the first color and replace its RGB with the one you just wrote down.
    do this with all of the colors: 2=2 3=3 4=4 etc.
    Save this as something else.


    Phase 3 (Preparing to insert tiles)
    Spoiler:

    Part 1:
    Spoiler:

    Step 1:
    Now Quit AM's PE and then click pallets write pallet to rom (or something like that)
    Step 2:
    Now Go > Picture > Save Tileset X (whichever one you want.)

    Part 2:
    Spoiler:

    Now open the tiles you made in Phase 2 Step 5, (IN PAINT)
    as well as the tiles from Phase 1 Step 3 (IN PAINT)
    and paste the second one over the first one
    save as anything and delete the other 2

    Phase 4: (Inserting tiles)
    Spoiler:

    Spoiler:

    Step 1:
    Open the file you just made in paint,
    Open the tileset you saved earlier.


    Step 2:
    Spoiler:

    Copy the tiles over onto the the tileset.
    Save


    Step 3:
    Spoiler:

    In Am Go to the block editor'
    Go > Picture > Load tileset,
    Select the file you just made.










    if anything goes wrong please pm me the problem aswell as a description of what is wrong. I'll update this someday again and add pics, maybe show you how to replace old tiles
    __________________
    I'm no longer active here, I check back every now and then to see what happens, but that's it. I no longer hack either.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old February 11th, 2014 (2:09 PM).
    reillyj99 reillyj99 is offline
       
      Join Date: Jul 2010
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 6
      Thank you for this, it sure will be helpful!
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old February 13th, 2014 (12:03 AM).
      wael96 wael96 is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2013
        Location: Beijing,China
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 38
        Thank you very much! But how to make those index tiles appear similar to the origin tiles , you know when indexing the image, the color looks horrible...
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old February 14th, 2014 (8:13 AM).
        Kenny1's Avatar
        Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
        On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
           
          Join Date: Nov 2013
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 86
          When they have the wrong colors after indexing it means they had to many colors to begin with, try using tiles with the same colors.
          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old February 21st, 2014 (10:03 AM).
          Donut's Avatar
          Donut Donut is offline
          Spriter
             
            Join Date: Feb 2014
            Location: USA, Ohio
            Age: 17
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Brave
            Posts: 24
            I basically got screwed over at the end. I hope our future advanced technology can make it so that we can just make it so we can import an image and it converts it to all multiple 8 rgb's and the lets us use it as a tile.
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #6    
            Old March 15th, 2014 (8:52 PM).
            Near~'s Avatar
            Near~ Near~ is offline
            The End is Near...
               
              Join Date: Dec 2013
              Location: Berlín, Alemania
              Age: 19
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 339
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Donut View Post
              I basically got screwed over at the end. I hope our future advanced technology can make it so that we can just make it so we can import an image and it converts it to all multiple 8 rgb's and the lets us use it as a tile.
              Now I hope not... Seriously most hacks are looking cool because of graphics XD thats what I here...
              But That would make people lazy In reality tile insertation is easier than it seems
              Reply With Quote
                #7    
              Old March 20th, 2014 (8:07 PM).
              Kenny1's Avatar
              Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
              On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2013
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 86
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Donut View Post
                I basically got screwed over at the end. I hope our future advanced technology can make it so that we can just make it so we can import an image and it converts it to all multiple 8 rgb's and the lets us use it as a tile.
                hey sure the way i used to sync the palettes is a LONG process, but i warned you in the beginning that you would need patience, trial and error.

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by SynBit View Post
                Now I hope not... Seriously most hacks are looking cool because of graphics XD thats what I here...
                But That would make people lazy In reality tile insertation is easier than it seems
                You are right, it is easy if you have patience
                __________________
                I'm no longer active here, I check back every now and then to see what happens, but that's it. I no longer hack either.
                Reply With Quote
                  #8    
                Old March 21st, 2014 (6:27 PM).
                Near~'s Avatar
                Near~ Near~ is offline
                The End is Near...
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2013
                  Location: Berlín, Alemania
                  Age: 19
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 339
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Kenny1 View Post
                  hey sure the way i used to sync the palettes is a LONG process, but i warned you in the beginning that you would need patience, trial and error.



                  You are right, it is easy if you have patience
                  As some n00b who could not insert tiles i went to someone who could do it in 30 minutes then 5 minutes... Patience ^___^
                  Reply With Quote
                    #9    
                  Old May 7th, 2014 (8:05 PM).
                  Sniper's Avatar
                  Sniper Sniper is offline
                  ふゆかい
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2013
                    Location: Philippines
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 1,453
                    So does that means I can insert new palettes without replacing the original one?
                    __________________


                    Reply With Quote
                      #10    
                    Old May 9th, 2014 (8:05 AM).
                    Kenny1's Avatar
                    Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
                    On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2013
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 86
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by V.V View Post
                      So does that means I can insert new palettes without replacing the original one?
                      Yeah kinda, that tileset will kinda have it's own personal set of 12 palettes, for itself.
                      __________________
                      I'm no longer active here, I check back every now and then to see what happens, but that's it. I no longer hack either.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #11    
                      Old May 13th, 2014 (4:41 PM).
                      Maglor's Avatar
                      Maglor Maglor is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Apr 2013
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 63
                        This is gooood.
                        I always hated those few blocks on the top of already existing tilesets, takin up all the space...
                        There's no bugs or glitches encountered after inserting a couple of new tilesets ye? Seeing as it assigns new offsets and whatnot.
                        Reply With Quote
                          #12    
                        Old May 17th, 2014 (5:00 AM).
                        rom hunter's Avatar
                        rom hunter rom hunter is offline
                        tongue-tied
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2014
                          Location: Tropics
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 73
                          I tried the steps in the tutorial but its giving me "palette is missing" error. I was bit confused about the last part (phase 3 - part 2 onwards). I didn't quite got what I am supposed to paste on what. What I did was I pasted tiles from my palette-adjusted tileset to the in-built tileset (palette with rgb adjustments) saved as dib file. When I tried to load this merged tileset file I got the error.
                          __________________
                          Reply With Quote
                            #13    
                          Old May 17th, 2014 (10:40 AM).
                          Kenny1's Avatar
                          Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
                          On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2013
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 86
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by rom hunter View Post
                            I tried the steps in the tutorial but its giving me "palette is missing" error. I was bit confused about the last part (phase 3 - part 2 onwards). I didn't quite got what I am supposed to paste on what. What I did was I pasted tiles from my palette-adjusted tileset to the in-built tileset (palette with rgb adjustments) saved as dib file. When I tried to load this merged tileset file I got the error.
                            You open the tileset you saved in A-Map,
                            then you copy your indexed tiles across.
                            __________________
                            I'm no longer active here, I check back every now and then to see what happens, but that's it. I no longer hack either.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #14    
                            Old July 27th, 2014 (5:06 PM).
                            BlackStorm20x's Avatar
                            BlackStorm20x BlackStorm20x is offline
                            idek
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2014
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 476
                              This was a great tutorial! Thank you!
                              __________________
                              Reply With Quote
                                #15    
                              Old July 31st, 2014 (6:32 AM).
                              tzujm33 tzujm33 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2014
                                Posts: 130
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Kenny1 View Post
                                Yeah kinda, that tileset will kinda have it's own personal set of 12 palettes, for itself.
                                SO i can have in the end more than 12 palettes for the whole game?
                                Sorry if the question sounds dumb but this would be total great.
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #16    
                                Old July 31st, 2014 (7:02 AM).
                                Kenny1's Avatar
                                Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
                                On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2013
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 86
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by tzujm33 View Post
                                  SO i can have in the end more than 12 palettes for the whole game?
                                  Sorry if the question sounds dumb but this would be total great.
                                  Kinda, the tileset you create can be used on any map, but only one tileset per map, the GBA can only
                                  Display 16 palettes at one time, 12 for tiles, and the rest are other things, like textboxes.
                                  __________________
                                  I'm no longer active here, I check back every now and then to see what happens, but that's it. I no longer hack either.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                  Reply
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:39 PM.