• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

HOW TO USE: PERISH TRAP

Days
    • Age 16
    • He-Him
    • Hoenn
    • Seen yesterday
    Hey there! I'm a new user, I am a VGC player, I occasionally play the TCG and enjoy playing casually as well. (Im also a big pokemon unite nerd LOL)

But anyways, Today i would like to discuss how to use my FAVORITE STRATEGY in competitive pokemon: Perish Trap. You might be wondering: Well im a total newbie and dont know anything, what is Perish Trap sableye? Well it revolves around the Move Perish Song which puts a timer on all pokemon starting at 3, falling to 2, falling to 1, and after that ALL pokemon that heard the song will faint.

Sounds broken right? Well not really. All you need to do to get rid of the timer is switch out. So Perish Song itself is a niche move only really used When you KO two of your opponents pokemon. But, this is where the ability Shadow Tag comes in. Shadow tag prevents the opposing pokemon from switching out, sounds simple right?

Well not really, there are TWO problems with Shadow Tag. One, ghost type pokemon are Immune to shadow tag and are still able to switch out, and two: Moves like U-turn, volt switch, Parting Shot, etc. Still switch you out, which unfortunatley means that you might only be able to kill ONE pokemon with perish trap.