• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Discussion] Need Advice: How Do I Continue This Nuzlocke?

Reginald Cosmic

Big Shot
Years
    • Age 26
    • He/Him/His
    • Seen today
    I started playing Pokemon Leaf Green under nuzlocke rules again. I did one "baby's first nuzlocke" run with Squirtle where each gym badge was a checkpoint, and I was allowed three revives. Then I did a nuzlocke (with the gym badge checkpoint but no revives) with Bulbasaur (as I'd never used him as a starter all the way through Kanto before, unless you count Yellow and LGPikachu), and I got all the way to Sevii Islands before I got tired and put it aside for a while.

So in this run, I got immeasurably lucky, and I found the 1% encounter rate Nidoran(male) and caught it and added it to my team. Unfortunately, the Rival (just north of Cerulean) was spamming leech seed and sleep powder with his Bulbasaur, and instead of sacrificing the freshly caught Sandshrew, I sent out Wartortle, and I ended up losing the poor thing. It bothers me so much losing my Wartortle as my first "death." I'm so ashamed.

I don't know how to continue the run, but I really want to make use of the potential Nidoking. Is it even worth it for a nuzlocke newbie to continue the run after losing the starter so early?