• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Other] Need Help with R/B Map Editing Please?

RaidenRaider

I WILL Catch'em ALL!!!!
    Years
    • Seen Apr 15, 2020
    Hey all, I require some help please!!!

I'm currently working on a hack of Pokemon Red using the disassembly on Github, but I have no experience of creating new maps, which are all in .blk format, so I've been using a vanilla Red ROM to create the new maps in UltraMap, then work on the events and Wild Pokemon in ClassicMap, but what I'd like to do is extract the maps from the Red ROM and save them as .blk files which I can then add to my disassembly. Now my problem is that I know there is a newer program called RBMap, which can save edited maps out as files on the computer, but it is a .jar file requring a Linux system and I'm running Windows 7, so it won't work for me.

- Is there any other way I can extract these edited maps from the Red ROM, save them to my PC and place them in my disassembly?
    - Is there a way to use the pokemontools/redtools files in the pokered disassembly to decompile a Red ROM with my modified maps in place?
    - Plus, is there a way to get ShantyTown's RBMap Editor working on Windows 7?

- Power Plant - Floor 2 : https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwcLhqV-5CLmaWZTbDZQc2dnVWc
    - Seafoam Islands - Basement Level 6 : https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwcLhqV-5CLmQlU5eVExTnlYUkE
    - Victory Road - Basement Level 4 : https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwcLhqV-5CLmWVYyQTM2dFhNX1E
    Need Help with R/B Map Editing Please?

Need Help with R/B Map Editing Please?

Last edited:
    Years