• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Scripting Question] Scripting Pokemon Field Effects!

Years
    • Seen Dec 21, 2022
    Hey all, I'm pretty new to this and really want to implement field effects into my game, similar to those in Pokemon Reborn. But I can't for the life of me work out how to do this. It's incredibly confusing and I can't even get as far as altering moves for the field. Can anybody offer some form of tutorial that may help? Or am I simply out of my league here?

Years
    • Seen Jun 13, 2024
    I love how most of the time the biggest inspiration for field effects is Reborn

That aside, I would suggest you to simply download reborn additional files and open them with RPGMaker to see how its fields work on the scripts BUT, Reborn was built in an older version (v15 I belive) so if you happen to be using that version its mostly copy-paste and editing a few things

If you are ussing a more up to date vesion I would recommend you download the Gen 8 project and simply looking in the scripts how the gen 6 terrains work.
    You can easily do this by going in the script editor, Ctrl + Shift + F to search in the entirity of the scripts and searching "grassy" or "misty" for grassy terrain and misty terrain respectively since those are they IDs. You can do the same with "Electric" and "Psychic" for they terrains but those are also types so they wont be so obvious to find
    Afther that is the same, just a matter of copy-pasting and editting to your liking. These terrains however work differently than Reborn's fields in three major ways: