The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games Game Development Scripts & Tutorials
Essentials Script Display your game version on the title screen

Scripts & Tutorials This forum is for scripts and code, as well as all kinds of tutorials, software, tools and so forth. Remember to give credit!
The thread revival limit does not apply here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old September 13th, 2015 (1:44 PM). Edited September 19th, 2015 by TheTrain2000.
TheTrain2000's Avatar
TheTrain2000 TheTrain2000 is offline
     
    Join Date: Aug 2015
    Posts: 76


    Difficulty: Easy

    -----

    This tutorial will show you how to display the downloaded version of the client on the title screen, like the picture above.
    You can do this with NO scripting knowledge whatsoever!

    This first thing that you want to do is go to the Settings script. You could really put this line of code anywhere, but I find it is easiest to access in Settings.
    Above everything else in settings, add this line of code:
    Code:
    #CURRENT VERSION
    $currentGameVersion = "0.10"
    It should look like this. The "0.10" is where you will change the version number. Make sure to never remove the quotation marks!

    Next, go to PScreen_Load. The lines we are going to modify start at around 312. If you modified your PScreen_Load, search for
    Code:
    commands[cmdContinue=commands.length]=_INTL("Continue") if showContinue
    If you search for that, it will take you to where we are going to edit the code.
    So, once you are where we want to be, you are going to add this line of code in two places:
    (If you want the text to say something different, like "Current Version", change that here! Also, make sure there is a space after the colon.)
    Code:
    commands[cmdVersion=commands.length]=_INTL("Downloaded Version: " + $currentGameVersion)
    The first place you are going to want to put it, is immediately after this:
    Code:
    commands[cmdContinue=commands.length]=_INTL("Continue") if showContinue
    commands[cmdNewGame=commands.length]=_INTL("New Game")
    commands[cmdMysteryGift=commands.length]=_INTL("Mystery Gift") if (trainer.mysterygiftaccess rescue false)
    commands[cmdOption=commands.length]=_INTL("Options")
    The second place you are going to want to put it, is after this:
    Code:
    commands[cmdNewGame=commands.length]=_INTL("New Game")
    commands[cmdOption=commands.length]=_INTL("Options")
    That should be it! Click Apply, then start your game. The finished result should be exactly like the picture at the top of the post. Enjoy!
    __________________
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old October 6th, 2015 (7:43 AM).
    jchumillas jchumillas is offline
       
      Join Date: Sep 2015
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 13
      nice! work
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old October 13th, 2015 (4:35 AM).
      ItachiVolcanion ItachiVolcanion is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2015
        Location: Vietnam
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 43
        Great, but when load save file and mystery gift, it missed.
        Should put like this http://www.upsieutoc.com/image/WDs2
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old June 16th, 2016 (4:04 PM).
        FizzleRicks FizzleRicks is offline
           
          Join Date: Jun 2016
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 7
          Thanks! I shall be using this!
          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old August 11th, 2017 (4:54 PM). Edited August 11th, 2017 by Ulithium_Dragon.
          Ulithium_Dragon's Avatar
          Ulithium_Dragon Ulithium_Dragon is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2015
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Timid
            Posts: 74
            Thanks for the quick tutorial! :]

            Spoiler:

            Just wanted to say that if you add the new line added to PScreen_Load above the "Continue" line, it will actually get absorbed into the much larger "Continue" element box, which imo looks very nice:

            Spoiler:

            *Note that this only works for the "Continue" variation. For the "New Game" one, it still creates its own element box.

            _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

            EDIT: Actually my first idea above kinda just displaces the "Continue" button. I've come up with a cleaner way to implement a simple version display that doesn't use a unselectable menu entry:

            Spoiler:

            To do this, edit this part of PScreen_Load and add the part in red:
            Code:
              def pbStartScene(commands,showContinue,trainer,framecount,mapid)
                @commands=commands
                @sprites={}
                @viewport=Viewport.new(0,0,Graphics.width,Graphics.height)
                @viewport.z=99998
                
                @sprites["title"]=Window_UnformattedTextPokemon.newWithSize(
                   _INTL("Downloaded Version:  " + $currentGameVersion),40,-15,Graphics.width,64,@viewport)
            
                addBackgroundOrColoredPlane(@sprites,"background","loadbg",
                   Color.new(248,248,248),@viewport)
            *The only problem with this now is that it stays fixed to the top of the viewport when the page scrolls. I don't know how to fix this.
            Reply With Quote
            Reply

            Quick Reply

            Join the conversation!

            Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

            Create a PokéCommunity Account

            Sponsored Links
            Thread Tools

            Posting Rules
            You may not post new threads
            You may not post replies
            You may not post attachments
            You may not edit your posts

            BB code is On
            Smilies are On
            [IMG] code is On
            HTML code is Off

            Forum Jump


            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:34 PM.