The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22751    
Old October 7th, 2012 (2:07 AM). Edited October 7th, 2012 by tamsheel.
tamsheel's Avatar
tamsheel tamsheel is offline
     
    Join Date: Jun 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 22
    For adding extra trainers try a-trainer. That is advanced trainer,and try pokemon amplifier for addind more moves. You can find the tutorials on this site. I have successfully tried both,and it works.have added about 25 extra trainers and 250 moves to my rom. Pet doesnt work,nor does yape.

    1.I used a-trainer to get one new trainer inserted.
    2.then just copied its id,changed its sprite to nurse joy,and gave her a chansey and blissey.
    3.next i wrote a trainer script,and put my id i got from a-trainer there.
    4.now just remember.,you put a special command in this trainer script.
    5.i think its in thethethe tutorial.see there is a script called special,which makes your pokemon heal.
    6.i just wrote that script after the trainer script,so that when the line to commence trainer fight is over,the next line starts from the special script line.and that line is executed next,before being released.
    7.compile using pokescript,and check.
    8.make necessary changes using pksvui. Ex.you can put special command lines before,after,before and after both,etc...
    9.in my hack, when you go to a pokemon centre,and talk to nurse joy,she says that you cant get treatment for free.then fight starts,and at the end,irrespective of fight output,she says that my pokemon looks weakend out,let me cure them,the screen fades,comes back and my pokemons are healed. After that she says,do come again sometimes.
    9.i also removed checkflag so that i can go again and again in that pokecentre,and and this nurse joy fights and heal me...

    Hope you understood.

    1.I used a-trainer to get one new trainer inserted.
    2.then just copied its id,changed its sprite to nurse joy,and gave her a chansey and blissey.
    3.next i wrote a trainer script,and put my id i got from a-trainer there.
    4.now just remember.,you put a special command in this trainer script.
    5.i think its in thethethe tutorial.see there is a script called special,which makes your pokemon heal.
    6.i just wrote that script after the trainer script,so that when the line to commence trainer fight is over,the next line starts from the special script line.and that line is executed next,before being released.
    7.compile using pokescript,and check.
    8.make necessary changes using pksvui. Ex.you can put special command lines before,after,before and after both,etc...
    9.in my hack, when you go to a pokemon centre,and talk to nurse joy,she says that you cant get treatment for free.then fight starts,and at the end,irrespective of fight output,she says that my pokemon looks weakend out,let me cure them,the screen fades,comes back and my pokemons are healed. After that she says,do come again sometimes.
    9.i also removed checkflag so that i can go again and again in that pokecentre,and and this nurse joy fights and heal me...

    Hope you understood.
      #22752    
    Old October 7th, 2012 (7:29 AM).
    mewmasterify's Avatar
    mewmasterify mewmasterify is offline
    Actual Mew
       
      Join Date: Apr 2011
      Location: Faraway Island
      Age: 18
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quiet
      Posts: 71
      is it possible to make a Hack where you can be Good or Evil and if you can Please tell me How?
      __________________
        #22753    
      Old October 7th, 2012 (8:13 AM).
      Renegade's Avatar
      Renegade Renegade is offline
      Time for real life...
         
        Join Date: Nov 2011
        Location: United States
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Careful
        Posts: 998
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by mewmasterify View Post
        is it possible to make a Hack where you can be Good or Evil and if you can Please tell me How?
        Yes, I am currently making a hack that is like that. I can't really explain it though, you just need to know a lot about scripting.
          #22754    
        Old October 7th, 2012 (7:17 PM).
        PokemonMasters's Avatar
        PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
        Always Remember Forever&After
           
          Join Date: Jun 2012
          Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 403
          how do you change the background in the prof. birch intro for ruby? like in light platinum and silver legend.
          __________________

          +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
            #22755    
          Old October 8th, 2012 (2:45 AM). Edited October 8th, 2012 by Sensui.
          Sensui's Avatar
          Sensui Sensui is offline
          Ascend
             
            Join Date: Nov 2011
            Location: South Harrow
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 19
            I haven't seen this posted anywhere, so I'll just ask: how do you find the X,Y coordinates for HG/SS to put into PPRE?

            When I open it, and look at the events, they all take the coordinates from very small units of space. i.e. x-693,y-392

            And anything I've used to find the coordinates like say, map editors, it always treats the coordinates as 1 per tile, so I get x-12,y-8.

            So when I want to add a Pokemon to interact with into HG, what do I do for it's coordinates? (I know the rest, just not this!)

            Okay, update. Through trial and error I found the coordinates are still done as 1 per tile in PPRE and the actual ROM, I had my new overworld appear (y-3) under another sprite and it did just that. But why are the numbers so big, like 600/400? My conclusion is they probably start at a number much higher than 0, because I doubt it's taken from every tile in the game for every coordinate.
            __________________
            http://www.pokecommunity.com/signaturepics/sigpic292140_1.gif
              #22756    
            Old October 8th, 2012 (5:31 AM). Edited October 8th, 2012 by LugiaMZ.
            LugiaMZ's Avatar
            LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2011
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 74
              Hello everyone, I having a question hope has someone to answer me.

              I want to make my hack rom like a animation, for example I taking to a team rocket membars, and suddenly have a earthquake, and moving to a black screen, after that show a Groundon at a lava cave destroying the cave, that's all.

              I use warpmuted command to moving the screen to lave cave, but I don't want player ow sprite showing at the map, I tried to use movement command to hide it but need a few time to make it dissapear, have a method to make the hero ow sprite not showing at the lava cave?

              Sorry for my bad english hope have someone know what I'm saying

              Hello everyone, I having a question hope has someone to answer me.

              I want to make my hack rom like a animation, for example I taking to a team rocket membars, and suddenly have a earthquake, and moving to a black screen, after that show a Groundon at a lava cave destroying the cave, that's all.

              I use warpmuted command to moving the screen to lave cave, but I don't want player ow sprite showing at the map, I tried to use movement command to hide it but need a few time to make it dissapear, have a method to make the hero ow sprite not showing at the lava cave?

              Sorry for my bad english hope have someone know what I'm saying
                #22757    
              Old October 8th, 2012 (11:08 AM).
              Dudlas Dudlas is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 1
                hi I have one guestion! how can I edit the textbox? by that I mean on this
                textboxv.png
                  #22758    
                Old October 8th, 2012 (11:56 AM).
                MrSandman64's Avatar
                MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
                Pokemon Moon Creator
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2012
                  Location: Massachusetts
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 28
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Dudlas View Post
                  hi I have one guestion! how can I edit the textbox? by that I mean on this
                  Attachment 66274
                  yes you can
                  in NSE classic one of the bookmarks is text boxes, you can edit them there

                  And I also have a question:
                  does anybody know if it is possible to remove the nidorino intro
                  if it is could you please tell me how
                    #22759    
                  Old October 8th, 2012 (12:50 PM).
                  Rise_of_Darkrai's Avatar
                  Rise_of_Darkrai Rise_of_Darkrai is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 7
                    How do I get back to the outside of my cave? Every time I exit I end up in the middle of the town instead of outside the cave
                      #22760    
                    Old October 8th, 2012 (12:55 PM).
                    PokemonMasters's Avatar
                    PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                    Always Remember Forever&After
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2012
                      Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Calm
                      Posts: 403
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Rise_of_Darkrai View Post
                      How do I get back to the outside of my cave? Every time I exit I end up in the middle of the town instead of outside the cave
                      you have to do both warps. the one inside and the one outside.
                      __________________

                      +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                        #22761    
                      Old October 8th, 2012 (4:27 PM).
                      Rise_of_Darkrai's Avatar
                      Rise_of_Darkrai Rise_of_Darkrai is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 7
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
                        you have to do both warps. the one inside and the one outside.
                        I've done that, everything is linked correctly, but it still doesn't want to work correctly
                          #22762    
                        Old October 8th, 2012 (5:28 PM).
                        AquaticFlareon AquaticFlareon is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 4
                          I'm currently hacking my first romhack, a pokemon ruby hack, and I Am trying to edit the back in-battle sprite for my character, but whenever i do, it just becomes a horrid, messy, bad pallete, also, i use unLZGBA, and Paint.net for the recoloring, also, I Only use colors from the actual sprite, with the dropper tool. CAN ANYONE HELP ME?!?!?!!?!?!?!?! I Can't find anything for RUBY, But theres tons of programs for fire red, I'm hacking ruby, SO SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!
                            #22763    
                          Old October 8th, 2012 (7:53 PM). Edited October 8th, 2012 by dreamengine.
                          dreamengine's Avatar
                          dreamengine dreamengine is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 68
                            does anyone know how the wild unown forms work? I want to have a hack with like different shellos and stuff. So first it would help to know how different unown forms work

                            edit: is it possible to somehow make multiple pokemon link back to the same pokedex entry?
                              #22764    
                            Old October 9th, 2012 (12:20 PM).
                            Renegade's Avatar
                            Renegade Renegade is offline
                            Time for real life...
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2011
                              Location: United States
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Careful
                              Posts: 998
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by AquaticFlareon View Post
                              I'm currently hacking my first romhack, a pokemon ruby hack, and I Am trying to edit the back in-battle sprite for my character, but whenever i do, it just becomes a horrid, messy, bad pallete, also, i use unLZGBA, and Paint.net for the recoloring, also, I Only use colors from the actual sprite, with the dropper tool. CAN ANYONE HELP ME?!?!?!!?!?!?!?! I Can't find anything for RUBY, But theres tons of programs for fire red, I'm hacking ruby, SO SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!
                              That's because you arn't changing the palette in APE. Here's a link to a video that shows how to do this:

                              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oGihhXkQOPk
                                #22765    
                              Old October 9th, 2012 (7:20 PM).
                              AquaticFlareon AquaticFlareon is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 4
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                                That's because you arn't changing the palette in APE. Here's a link to a video that shows how to do this:
                                I Did EVERYTHING In that video TO THE LETTER, And it Didn't work, remember, I'm working with ruby, here. if that is universal, Then what the heck? Shouldn't it have worked? also,I Removed the url, because i havent posted 15 or more posts yet
                                  #22766    
                                Old October 11th, 2012 (3:44 AM).
                                poisonhearts628 poisonhearts628 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2011
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 3
                                  Alright. First time post here. I am having a few problems but I am pretty sure they are linked to the same cause, I just don't know how to go about fixing it. 1) When you enter cycling road entrance arrows appear between my character. 2) When exiting buildings a portion of my character's head appears at the bottom of the door instead of the arrow. 3) When surfing/flying my character's sprite splits when entering/exiting the surf/fly animation. Any Ideas?
                                    #22767    
                                  Old October 11th, 2012 (8:31 AM).
                                  PunsAreFun PunsAreFun is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2012
                                    Posts: 13
                                    Hey all, quick question. I'm using advanced map 1.92 to hack Fire Red. I have 2 sprites in 2 positions on the map (they are not the only sprites). When I run the game to test it they appear in 2 completely different spots. What's the deal?
                                      #22768    
                                    Old October 11th, 2012 (8:43 AM).
                                    .parado✗'s Avatar
                                    .parado✗ .parado✗ is offline
                                    paranormal user
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2012
                                      Location: Ha✗land
                                      Age: 22
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Gentle
                                      Posts: 38
                                      You must erase the levelscript of type 03.
                                      They contain movesprite and thats why..
                                      __________________
                                      If you are interested in a german romhacker forum, go to

                                      www.board.romresources.net

                                      ;) I'm registered under the name: "Laz0r" there.
                                        #22769    
                                      Old October 11th, 2012 (8:48 AM).
                                      PunsAreFun PunsAreFun is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jul 2012
                                        Posts: 13
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by .parado✗ View Post
                                        You must erase the levelscript of type 03.
                                        They contain movesprite and thats why..
                                        Thank you! Now everything works!
                                          #22770    
                                        Old October 12th, 2012 (1:11 AM). Edited October 12th, 2012 by Dylanrockin.
                                        Dylanrockin's Avatar
                                        Dylanrockin Dylanrockin is offline
                                        That guy
                                           
                                          Join Date: May 2011
                                          Age: 23
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Timid
                                          Posts: 276
                                          I'm having troubles editing Pokemon Trainers, A-Trainer keeps giving me the "Subscript out of range" bs, and PET sometimes wont let me fully edit the Pokemon, and by that I mean it wont let me edit their movesets, and abilities. For example: I hover over the moves that the Pokemon can learn, and the scroll bar does not appear.

                                          Any help would be greatly appreciated.

                                          This is the specific problem: Subscript out of range [email protected]
                                          Someone said it had something to do with sprites, first off I disagree, because I ran this on a clean rom, and it did not matter at all.
                                            #22771    
                                          Old October 12th, 2012 (7:44 AM).
                                          raging-inferno-1986 raging-inferno-1986 is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jul 2012
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 21
                                            Hi, does anyone know of a Fire Red patch with full decapitalisation (one that includes the scripts)?

                                            Thank you.
                                              #22772    
                                            Old October 12th, 2012 (8:07 AM).
                                            .parado✗'s Avatar
                                            .parado✗ .parado✗ is offline
                                            paranormal user
                                               
                                              Join Date: Sep 2012
                                              Location: Ha✗land
                                              Age: 22
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Gentle
                                              Posts: 38
                                              Only for the german firered on board.romresources.net
                                              But you can easily do it in 3 Steps.
                                              1: Take Amplifier, open the name changer and export the item/pokemon/whatever list.

                                              2:Open Excel or Openoffice and change all letters except the first of each line. In both there is a function for it.

                                              3: Import the list with amplifier and click "patch".

                                              Then you are finished!
                                              __________________
                                              If you are interested in a german romhacker forum, go to

                                              www.board.romresources.net

                                              ;) I'm registered under the name: "Laz0r" there.
                                                #22773    
                                              Old October 12th, 2012 (8:43 AM).
                                              itman itman is offline
                                              Back to ROM hacking. :D
                                                 
                                                Join Date: May 2007
                                                Age: 24
                                                Nature: Adamant
                                                Posts: 100
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by raging-inferno-1986 View Post
                                                Hi, does anyone know of a Fire Red patch with full decapitalisation (one that includes the scripts)?

                                                Thank you.
                                                Look in the Rom Hacking Resources thread, I'm pretty sure somebody posted one a while ago. But doing it yourself doesn't take as long as you would think.

                                                YAPE to decapitalize the pokemon names.
                                                Download "Move Editor" which has an option to decapitalize all the moves for you.
                                                A-text for things such as "RUN" and "FIGHT"
                                                Item editors can easily do the items.
                                                This way you can modify it without the possibility of your work being messed up...
                                                  #22774    
                                                Old October 12th, 2012 (9:50 AM).
                                                PunsAreFun PunsAreFun is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Jul 2012
                                                  Posts: 13
                                                  Hey all, my friend and I both use emulators to play fire red. They have macs and their speed up maxes out around 200% while my pc version and almost touch 1000%. Is there a way to allow there's to be as fast as mine? What causes the difference?
                                                    #22775    
                                                  Old October 12th, 2012 (9:52 AM).
                                                  Spherical Ice's Avatar
                                                  Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Nov 2007
                                                  Location: Bristol, UK
                                                  Age: 20
                                                  Posts: 5,235
                                                  Try turning the sound off; not muting it, but turning it off. Though it may depend on your computer's specs etc.
                                                  __________________
                                                  Closed Thread

                                                  Quick Reply

                                                  Join the conversation!

                                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                                  Thread Tools

                                                  Posting Rules
                                                  You may not post new threads
                                                  You may not post replies
                                                  You may not post attachments
                                                  You may not edit your posts

                                                  BB code is On
                                                  Smilies are On
                                                  [IMG] code is On
                                                  HTML code is Off

                                                  Forum Jump


                                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:03 AM.