• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

FireRed Rom-Hacking with Added Pokemon - HELP

Years
  • Hello,

I'm new to Pokemon ROM-Hacking and I want to create a story-driven Rom-Hack with some unique gameplay (or at least try it 😃 ). I've found a bunch of tutorials, but none of them could fix my major problem:

This hack heavily relies on Pokémon newer then Gen.3 ! (Mainly Gen.4 & 5 + Custom one's I will create for Gen.8, Gen7 isn't needed)

So, I searched for a base rom that supports these Pokemon and I found Epsilon's artifical RED rombase and I decided to use this (https://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=360603)

I figured out, that the problem is that the programms I use (Advance Map 1.95, YAPE 0.9, UnnamedTrainerEditor) don't seem to show these extra Pokemon.
    - Advance Map only shows Bulbasaur to Chimecho
    - YAPE can't read the base stats and won't load the rom at all
    - Unnamed Trainer Editor: The Trainers Pokemon become invisible in the dropdown-menus

So my question is: Has anyone a good and detailled tutorial for me on how to make these extra pokemon work in the programms mentioned?

Thank you very much!

Best regards,
    Xero3

Last edited:
    Years

• For Advanced Map, it is in the hex data itself, and as for the other tools (majority of them), are based on their .ini file.

For Advanced Map:
    • What is the number of your expanded Pokémon? Let's say it is 550.
    • Convert it into hex. The hex for 550 is 226.
    • Open A-Map 1.92 in a Hex Editor.
    • Locate to the offset D027C.
    • Change the 9C 01 to the hex number which you obtained, in reverse hex. So 226 would be 26 02.