A Rule Dispute: Who is Right?

  • 1
    Posts
    15
    Years
    • Seen Mar 11, 2010
    The situation:

    player 1 (Tony) is about to kill player 2's (Jacob) last pokemon. It is Jacob's last turn before getting destroyed.

    His pokemon has NO energy cards attached to it. So, Jacob attaches one, then immediately discards it so that it can cover the retreat cost.

    Is playing an energy card only to immediately discard it for the sake of withdrawing a pokemon in play a legal move?

    Tony said no, because (aside from having victory snatched from his fingers) it simply did not make sense that one would be allowed to conduct that move. Jacob said it was perfectly legal as any player is allowed to play one energy card per turn, and is also allowed one retreat per turn.

    Thank you if you can clear this up.
     
    The situation:

    player 1 (Tony) is about to kill player 2's (Jacob) last pokemon. It is Jacob's last turn before getting destroyed.

    His pokemon has NO energy cards attached to it. So, Jacob attaches one, then immediately discards it so that it can cover the retreat cost.

    Is playing an energy card only to immediately discard it for the sake of withdrawing a pokemon in play a legal move?

    Tony said no, because (aside from having victory snatched from his fingers) it simply did not make sense that one would be allowed to conduct that move. Jacob said it was perfectly legal as any player is allowed to play one energy card per turn, and is also allowed one retreat per turn.

    Thank you if you can clear this up.

    Jacob is correct. That is exactly how the rules regarding retreating work.
     
    Right, you can certainly attach an energy just to switch out, as long as you havn't already attached energy that turn.
     
    Back
    Top