• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

How to prepare for a threat

Years
    • Seen Dec 18, 2014
    I'm new to this competitive battling thing, and I know the basics about tiers and stuff, but I'm having trouble preparing for stuff. The exmple I'm going to use here is Shell Smash Cloyster. I keep getting wrecked by it. So, this means I need to prepare and have adequate preventive measures. But the problem is, it seems like when I try to prepare for one thing, I lose something else I was preparing for. I'm pretty sure this is just noob problems that get easier to deal with as time goes on, but how do you prepare for different threats? What do you do when you have to choose to deal with one problem instead of another one?

Nah

Years
    • Age 31
    • she/her, they/them
    • Seen today
    It's impossible to deal with everything. If you could, then you'd be undefeatable, and therefore anyone could be undefeatable, and things would be less fun. So the best you can do is minimize the number of things that threaten your team.

Some Pokemon that can deal with Shell Smash Cloyster are: Jellicent, Vaporeon, and Ferrothorn. Conkeldurr is also capable of checking it if the Cloyster isn't using a White Herb or Focus Sash.

Also, perhaps it would help if you post your team here for us so we can critique it?

Years