• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Developing] Openmon, the open source web game

Days
    • Seen today
    Hey everyone !

A bit of context

My name's Mickael, I'm a web developer and of course a Pokemon addict.
    I decided about 3 months ago to make my own Pokemon fan game, but choose hard way.
    I'm a developer and so I wanted to create my game from scratch. No rom hacking, no rpg-maker, not even a game engine ! Everything is written in Typescript using Svelte for the UI.
    It's a web application so big plus is that you don't need anything to play it and it'll work on any devices.

Map, pokedex & plot

Might be one of my issues, I enjoy the development journey but did not started it with a clear idea in mind.
    I want the game to have much more exploration than official games. So I drawn a big map, an island with different biomes, started making it using Tiled but then got bored and did not finish.

Since I'm a developer I wondered if generating randomized maps could work and could be great as part of the game features (new map every game = deployability !)
    It could work but I already know I will have a hard time setting up towns, biomes and not mess with the story.
    Would you be interested in random generated map ? (1 example in attachments)

About the plot.

I wanted to avoid the classic boring young boy that got its started from the region professor.

So instead when you start the game you already are a trainer, but some crazy strange storm made you faint and lose memory.