• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Yellow hack: Pokemon Yellow - 151

Years
  • Hello, everyone! I am new to Pokecommunity and thought that I would start off by sharing a rom-hack that I've created...

This rom-hack is intended for emulator players, like me, who simply want to play through the original Pokemon Yellow, complete their pokedex 100%, and have access to the surfing beach-house. The problems with playing on emulators these days is that there are no promotional pokemon events to go to, there is no connectivity to Pokemon Stadium, and trading across games, while possible, is not only tricky to do, but also feels totally unnatural. Many players have solved the problem by using cheat-codes to temporarily activate the abilty to capture the "missing pokemon", but to many players it still feels unnatural and, well, like cheating.

The solutions I have implemented here are supposed to feel as natural as possible, where players should not feel as if they've cheated or that they are even playing a hack - think of this project as more of a patch. Players will have the ability to encounter all missing Pokemon in the most natural ways possible, where each encounter, trade, and shop edit has been carefully planned, with strong consideration of:

1) Where and how Pokemon have appeared in all Red, Blue, and Green games
    2) Where and how specific Pokemon have appeared in the anime series (which Pokemon Yellow strives for)
    3) Game story
    4) Game balancing
    5) Playability