• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

The Way Of The Photographer [Advice and Terms Explained]

Years
  • The Way Of The Photographer

Keeping in theme with Gav's title XD
    Since a lot of members have asked me for some advice on how to take some pictures and how I did certain photos, I thought I would post a thread on all the tips, advice and terms explained. I should say a bit about myself really.
    I have never taken a photography class or taken any tutorials. I have taught myself how to use a camera, how to use effective settings to compliment the scene, no matter what it is. I have just over 5 years of experience in photography, so I hope I can pass on my knowledge to anyone who wants to be an up and coming photographer.

The equipment that I use is a Nikon D7000, with battery grip, with two batteries and my main lens is a 18mm - 105mm and 70mm - 300mm.

Please note, you can ask me any questions in this thread!

Cameras Cameras Everywhere

Well, it is the big question isn't it; 'what camera should I buy and which brand?'
    The answer to that is, there is no answer. There are many good brands out there and when considering which brand to choose, you will just have to find the one that suits you best. The brands you should, however, look at are:

• Olympus
    • Canon
    • Nikon
    • Sony
    • Panasonic
    They are my personal favorites since they have been around for a while and they are very good makes, but that doesn't mean to say brands not listed there aren't decent, they are just my personal preference.