The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games Game Development
Question Impassible Grass

Game Development Your number one stop for anything related to creating games (except ROM hacks). You can even make your own!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 15th, 2013 (7:45 AM).
Ooka's Avatar
Ooka Ooka is offline
<3
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Challenging The E4
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,612
Hopefully this is the right place, I don't see a General Q&A anywhere.

I've been working on a tileset but I ran into a pretty annoying problem. Basically you can't walk over the grass tiles I added (I've checked all the categories of permissions, they're good to go). It's weird, a couple of spots I "can" walk through, but then I just get stuck on more of them. Here's the tileset I'm using (Again, it's just the basic permissions, they should work fine for a regular grass tile), the grass is at the bottom:

http://i2.minus.com/iRS0I5zZr15cQ.png
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old February 15th, 2013 (10:13 AM).
Pharetra's Avatar
Pharetra Pharetra is offline
zzzz
     
    Join Date: Jun 2011
    Age: 21
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 455
    Have you checked the layers above the one where the grass is on? Maybe they're filled with transparent tiles with the wrong permissions.
    Reply With Quote
      #3    
    Old February 15th, 2013 (5:50 PM).
    Ooka's Avatar
    Ooka Ooka is offline
    <3
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Aug 2007
    Location: Challenging The E4
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 2,612
    Yeah they're clear. See I have tons of the tree tiles (With the same permissions as the grass currently, I haven't gotten to changing them) which I can walk on just fine. Then I go to the grass and it's like "nope".
    __________________
    Hi
    Reply With Quote
      #4    
    Old February 16th, 2013 (1:18 PM).
    FL's Avatar
    FL FL is offline
    Pokémon Island Creator
       
      Join Date: Sep 2010
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 1,686
      Are you sure that you checked permissions (four arrows) and invisible tiles in other layers? Did you cheked in the right tileset? Besides this, I can only think that you set the grass as long grass (some terrain numbers can only be seen in the Essentials Editor) and trying to pass with bicycle.
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #5    
      Old February 17th, 2013 (11:49 PM).
      BlazingLink's Avatar
      BlazingLink BlazingLink is offline
      Sergeant Serious
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Location: Rhode Island, USA
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 139
      "Walking on trees"? You mean like with the top of the tree covering the character, right? Hmm, if it's a big deal, you could always re-create the tileset, and set permissions again.

      Sort of the game developer answer to the "shut it off and turn it back on."
      __________________


      Reply With Quote
        #6    
      Old February 18th, 2013 (2:44 AM).
      tImE's Avatar
      tImE tImE is offline
      It's still me, 44tim44 ;)
         
        Join Date: Mar 2007
        Location: Somewhere in Scandinavia...
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 685
        If you previously used a different tileset, or was just unlucky when mapping, you may have accidentally filled another layer on top of the grass with "unpassable empty tiles". Try remaking the map from scratch, or using the proper "empty tile" in the topleft corner to refill the "empty areas" on the higher layers.

        That's all I can think of.
        __________________
        Reply With Quote
          #7    
        Old February 18th, 2013 (2:45 AM).
        Riansky's Avatar
        Riansky Riansky is offline
        Purr
           
          Join Date: Jan 2012
          Location: Slovenia
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 199
          I tried the tileset by myself and It works alright. Can't understand what your problem would be really. And just a friendly advice, resize your tiles as they will look really small in the game compared to overworlds.
          __________________
          Reply With Quote
            #8    
          Old February 18th, 2013 (4:30 AM).
          Maruno's Avatar
          Maruno Maruno is offline
          Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: England
            Posts: 5,173
            Try filling in every supposedly blank tile on each layer with an actual visible tile. Then fill them all in with the top-left blank tile. This helps to make sure that your map is made correctly.

            The [X] tiles I put in the tilesets that come with Essentials are very useful for this.
            __________________
            Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

            | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
            | All Animations Project |

            Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


            Reply With Quote
              #9    
            Old March 1st, 2013 (9:51 AM).
            kudoms kudoms is offline
               
              Join Date: Jun 2012
              Posts: 9
              Try remaking the map? o.o
              Reply With Quote
              Reply
              Quick Reply

              Sponsored Links
              Thread Tools

              Posting Rules
              You may not post new threads
              You may not post replies
              You may not post attachments
              You may not edit your posts

              BB code is On
              Smilies are On
              [IMG] code is On
              HTML code is Off

              Forum Jump


              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:54 PM.