• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Would you play a hack without custom tiles?

Years
  • Age 24
  • Seen Apr 8, 2019
I'm new to ROM hacking, and I'm creating my first game.

I write fiction, so I know that the storyline that I have come up with will be exciting and entertaining, but I'm worried about the look of my game. I know how to map but I have no idea how to create or insert custom tiles since I'm so new to this.

My question is; will any of you play a game that only uses basic tiles already in the game?

Natzen

Creator of Pokémon: Sanguine
Years
Short answer: Probably

Long answer: Being graphically appealing is usually one thing I look out for before playing a rom, but if you've got something that grabs my attention and makes me want more right from the get go it's probable that i'll stick around to see how things play out (As long as you've got decent grammar and such).

Also it's not too hard to add custom tiles, you could definitely teach yourself quickly with the use of some youtube guides, they are definitely all over the place!

Good luck with your hack, nonetheless! The PC is almost always supportive of somebody and their endeavors to create something whether it's pretty looking or not.

Years
  • Age 31
  • Seen Nov 24, 2023