New to the game

  • 1
    Posts
    13
    Years
    • Seen Aug 30, 2011
    Hi all, just started playing the card game, was reading over the rules and what not and came across some unexplained confusing rules. When playing, I was able to get Swanna out. She has two different things on her, one is colorless and says, During your next turn, each of this Pokémon's attacks does 40 more damage(before applying Weakness and Resistance). But it has no number next to it. Below that is the following, Aqua Ring 40, Switch this Pokémon with 1 of your Benched Pokémon. My question is this. If I have one energy on Swanna, can she attack? If I have two energy, and attack, do I have switch Swanna out with a different pokemon or is it a choice? If I have 3 energy on Swanna, does that mean I can use both feather dance and attack? The rule book uses a pokemon card that has no text other than what the attack is called and the damage. Help?
     
    Tossing this in Pokémon TCG. This forum is just for questions about Pokécommunity itself, not any of the games/media associated with the fandom.
     
    Hi all, just started playing the card game, was reading over the rules and what not and came across some unexplained confusing rules. When playing, I was able to get Swanna out. She has two different things on her, one is colorless and says, During your next turn, each of this Pokémon's attacks does 40 more damage(before applying Weakness and Resistance). But it has no number next to it. Below that is the following, Aqua Ring 40, Switch this Pokémon with 1 of your Benched Pokémon. My question is this. If I have one energy on Swanna, can she attack? If I have two energy, and attack, do I have switch Swanna out with a different pokemon or is it a choice? If I have 3 energy on Swanna, does that mean I can use both feather dance and attack? The rule book uses a pokemon card that has no text other than what the attack is called and the damage. Help?

    If you have just 1 energy on Swanna, you can attack. The first attack boosts the attack power of Swanna's Aqua Ring attack by 40 if you use Aqua Ring on your next turn.

    If you have 2 energy on Swanna, you can choose to use either of the attacks, but if you choose to use Aqua Ring, you do have to switch Swanna out, as it would have the word "may" in the attack description if it were giving you a choice.

    You can only use one attack a turn, no matter how many energy you have attached to your Pokemon, unless a card specifically says it can attack twice in a turn (there are only a few cards like this, and they're all in older sets).
     
    Back
    Top