• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

1st Gen your favorite glitch?

Flowerchild

fleeting assembly
Years
  • I just started playing Pokémon Blue for the first time recently - first time of any Gen I game, actually - and I've been having a lot of fun messing with some of the glitches. Brock skip is fun, as is the fact that you can use an extension of it to skip Mount Moon entirely. Everyone also knows about the Mew and MissingNo glitches, which are also very cool.
    I'm just wondering, for those of you who've messed with some of the more complex ones, which was your favorite? What did you use it to do?

The full list for anyone who wants to read more about how hilariously broken Gen I can be.

clefairydesuyo

fairy type pokétrainer
    Years
    • Age 33
    • UK
    • Seen May 13, 2018
    Although like you say, everyone knows it now, hunting for Missingno. and lv100 Pokémon by Cinnebar Island was my favorite past time. I've not tried it recently but when I played Blue originally about 15yrs ago, that was my favourite thing to do post-game.

Years
  • Using the old man/Missingno. glitch is by far and away my favorite, and definitely the most time I spent exploiting (I mean, who didn't want infinite Rare Candies as a kid?). Getting to Glitch City after leaving the Safari Zone was another one of my favorites too, and I remember picking up the game on more than one occasion just to try and get there, haha.

I kind of forgot how many glitches there actually were in the first gen games, though. When I get a chance, I should probably try a couple out, as there are plenty (like the Mew glitch) that I've never even attempted.

Years