The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games Game Development
General game making help

Game Development Your number one stop for anything related to creating games (except ROM hacks). You can even make your own!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old April 2nd, 2010 (5:36 AM). Edited April 2nd, 2010 by Avatar.
Avatar's Avatar
Avatar Avatar is offline
Savant
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Denmark
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,417

Contents


What is allowed
What isn't allowed
When troubleshooting

Info


Requests

If you wish to request resources for your game, please go here.

Essentials

If you need help with the Essentials starter kit, please go here.

Game Development help


Having trouble with a script and/or event in RPG Maker? Or maybe there's something you don't understand about programming?

You may ask as much as you like in this thread!

Thread guidelines


What is allowed:

  • Requesting a tutorial to be written for you.
  • Asking for help on how to do a simple action.
  • Asking for certain programs to help you with your game development.
    For example, a sprite conversion program.
  • Requesting assistance when your code isn't working like intended.

What isn't allowed:

  • Asking how to do a completely custom system like a CBS.
  • Requesting a member to create a script exclusively for your use.
  • Requesting warez.

When troubleshooting

  • Provide a demonstration screenshot.
  • Provide a description of the steps taken prior to the problem.
  • Provide a thorough, comprehensive and easy to understand description.
  • Provide the exact information on the error that occured.

TopRevised thread written by Avatar.
Some parts rewritten from older threads, by Berserk and Dawson.

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old April 2nd, 2010 (8:19 AM).
Poeman Poeman is offline
Banned
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 760
    Wow this is a useful thread, hopefully it won't get flooded with dumb questions that belong in the help and request thread though :@

    EDIT: Oh it is the help and request thread :O
      #3    
    Old April 2nd, 2010 (8:58 AM).
    Peeky Chew's Avatar
    Peeky Chew Peeky Chew is offline
    Master of Palettes
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Sep 2009
    Location: Great Britain
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 852
    Is there a way to automatically save a screen in rmxp without print screening, pasting and saving?
    Just to start off the thread.
    __________________



    Demo Beta out Now!

      #4    
    Old April 2nd, 2010 (9:01 AM).
    KingCharizard's Avatar
    KingCharizard KingCharizard is offline
    C++ Developer Extraordinaire
       
      Join Date: Dec 2009
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Age: 28
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 1,250
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Peeky Chew View Post
      Is there a way to automatically save a screen in rmxp without print screening, pasting and saving?
      Just to start off the thread.

      just press f8, it takes a screenshot...
      __________________
        #5    
      Old April 2nd, 2010 (9:02 AM).
      Peeky Chew's Avatar
      Peeky Chew Peeky Chew is offline
      Master of Palettes
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Location: Great Britain
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 852
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by KingCharizard View Post
      just press f8, it takes a screenshot...
      Okay, thanks for the help.
      __________________



      Demo Beta out Now!

        #6    
      Old April 2nd, 2010 (9:06 AM).
      BadSamaritan BadSamaritan is offline
      Gone Fishin'
         
        Join Date: May 2009
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Rash
        Posts: 81
        I just started using RPG maker xp a day ago, and I was adding one of the old tilesets I made a year or two ago in their, but realized that its 16x16 pixels, not 32x32. So I was wondering if either A) If their is a specific way of seperating the tiles so they do work even if they are 16x16, or B) If thats not possible, a program that could resize the tiles without blurring the image to do so.

        Thanks for any help. Also once I get 15 posts or whatever, I'll be more than willing to let anyone use them if they want, although they aren't exactly the greatest in the world, but they do have most of the outdoor basics.
          #7    
        Old April 2nd, 2010 (9:11 AM).
        Conan Edogawa's Avatar
        Conan Edogawa Conan Edogawa is offline
        One Truth Prevails
           
          Join Date: Jan 2009
          Location: Massachusetts
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 1,061
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Rickyboy View Post
          I just started using RPG maker xp a day ago, and I was adding one of the old tilesets I made a year or two ago in their, but realized that its 16x16 pixels, not 32x32. So I was wondering if either A) If their is a specific way of seperating the tiles so they do work even if they are 16x16, or B) If thats not possible, a program that could resize the tiles without blurring the image to do so.

          Thanks for any help. Also once I get 15 posts or whatever, I'll be more than willing to let anyone use them if they want, although they aren't exactly the greatest in the world, but they do have most of the outdoor basics.
          That is what ms paint is for. Just select the tiles, and resize them by 200 percent.
          __________________
            #8    
          Old April 2nd, 2010 (9:50 AM).
          BadSamaritan BadSamaritan is offline
          Gone Fishin'
             
            Join Date: May 2009
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Rash
            Posts: 81
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Conan Edogawa View Post
            That is what ms paint is for. Just select the tiles, and resize them by 200 percent.
            I see, thanks. I thought that it would have screwed up the pixels, as it has with many of my other projects, but I guess not.
              #9    
            Old April 2nd, 2010 (11:18 AM).
            Poeman Poeman is offline
            Banned
               
              Join Date: Nov 2008
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 760
              Is it possible to take a screenshot without pressing F8? Like is there a line of script I can execute a screenshot with? Just curious :3
                #10    
              Old April 2nd, 2010 (12:12 PM).
              VEGET@ VEGET@ is offline
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2010
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 69
                How i can do a life simulator with variables like hungry, fun, happynness, and others??
                Sorry for my english.
                  #11    
                Old April 2nd, 2010 (12:44 PM).
                Yuoaman's Avatar
                Yuoaman Yuoaman is offline
                Legen- wait for it...
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2005
                Location: Ontario, Canada
                Age: 24
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 4,675
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by VEGET@ View Post
                How i can do a life simulator with variables like hungry, fun, happynness, and others??
                Sorry for my english.
                You're going to have t be far more specific if you want an answer... For example: What program are you using?
                __________________

                Suit Up!
                Awesome REGULAR MEMBER THAT OCCASIONALLY FREQUENTS FORUMS.

                "pps new screenie" - No, really shut up yuoaman.

                Haaave you read my LP?
                Pokémon Quartz - The only one of mine really worth reading.

                What about my [Un]Abridged series?
                Aquaman the Unabridged Parody Series - Language warning.

                The Playbook: My Anime List | Raptr | BackLoggery | Twitter


                83% of this signature is empty space.

                -dary!
                  #12    
                Old April 2nd, 2010 (12:44 PM).
                Poeman Poeman is offline
                Banned
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2008
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 760
                  Not only that, as stated in the post people CAN'T request a full engine and such.
                    #13    
                  Old April 2nd, 2010 (3:26 PM).
                  VEGET@ VEGET@ is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 69
                    I use RPG Maker XP.

                    And my question is how i can do diferents variables, and change it.
                    Good bye
                      #14    
                    Old April 2nd, 2010 (4:17 PM).
                    Maruno's Avatar
                    Maruno Maruno is offline
                    Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2008
                      Location: England
                      Posts: 5,173
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by VEGET@ View Post
                      I use RPG Maker XP.

                      And my question is how i can do diferents variables, and change it.
                      Good bye
                      Go learn the basics of RPG Maker XP, then. There are plenty of tutorials on the Internet.
                      __________________
                      Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

                      | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
                      | All Animations Project |

                      Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


                        #15    
                      Old April 2nd, 2010 (5:53 PM).
                      Karel_Kazuki's Avatar
                      Karel_Kazuki Karel_Kazuki is offline
                      Wants to Learn about PKMN Rmxp
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2008
                        Location: U.s.a.
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quiet
                        Posts: 375
                        Okay made first town now working on interior, I feel so noobish ut how can i fix the bed so it can look normal?I will Printscreen if necessary .
                        __________________
                        Yes,I am Karel Kazuki or Kareru.
                        Im an all around guy who does everything,from play sports to trying to learn to design games.

                        I am a university student, currently studying C# and looking for any practice pertaining to building my skills.I'm also a concept designer and storyline designer.

                        contact me here or at [email protected].

                        Screw Banners.I support all that is made.But Join these Forums!

                        http://z15.invisionfree.com/Pokemon_BN/index.php?act=idx
                          #16    
                        Old April 2nd, 2010 (5:56 PM).
                        Poeman Poeman is offline
                        Banned
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2008
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 760
                          Use layers?
                          I think thats what you mean, take a picture...
                            #17    
                          Old April 3rd, 2010 (3:09 AM).
                          Luka S.J.'s Avatar
                          Luka S.J. Luka S.J. is offline
                          Jealous Croatian
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2008
                            Location: Croatia
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 1,087
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Poeman View Post
                            Is it possible to take a screenshot without pressing F8? Like is there a line of script I can execute a screenshot with? Just curious :3
                            Well...the simple line of code needed is just
                            Code:
                            pbScreenCapture
                            But if you'd like to do any in depth adjustments to it, the code can be found in the script PokemonSystem around line 80. It should look something like this
                            Code:
                            def pbScreenCapture
                             capturefile=nil
                             5000.times {|i|
                              filename=sprintf("*/capture%03d.bmp",i)
                              if !FileTest.exist?(filename)
                               capturefile=filename
                               break
                              end
                              i+=1
                             }
                             if capturefile
                              takescreen=Win32API.new("rubyscreen.dll","TakeScreenshot","%w(p)","i")
                              takescreen.call(capturefile)
                              if FileTest.exist?(capturefile)
                               Audio.se_play("Audio/SE/expfull.wav")
                              end
                             end
                            end
                            Also you can change the default input for taking a screenshot in PokemonSystem. Search for "module Input" and you should find something like this.
                            Code:
                            module Input
                             unless defined?(update_KGC_ScreenCapture)
                              class << Input
                                alias update_KGC_ScreenCapture update
                              end
                             end
                             def self.update
                                update_KGC_ScreenCapture
                                if trigger?(Input::F8)
                                 pbScreenCapture
                                end
                                if trigger?(Input::F7)
                                 pbDebugF7
                                end
                             end
                            end
                            There make any changes you want.
                            __________________

                              #18    
                            Old April 3rd, 2010 (7:42 AM).
                            RanodasCruxis's Avatar
                            RanodasCruxis RanodasCruxis is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2010
                              Location: Canada
                              Age: 22
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 2
                              Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to RanodasCruxis
                              so i have 3 somewhat problems
                              1. my character doesn't pop up on screen when i start game i am using the Wally character set.all i see is the map and the map still moves but no one pops up

                              2. is i am getting this error when warping to another map.exmaple from gaia(starter city) to route 1? i get this error
                              Spoiler:
                              ---------------------------
                              Pokemon Cruxis
                              ---------------------------
                              Exception: TypeError

                              Message: cannot convert Fixnum into String

                              Sprite_Character:93:in `+'

                              Sprite_Character:93:in `update_or'

                              PerspectiveTilemap:408:in `shadow_update'

                              Shadow:179:in `update'

                              Sprite_Character:33:in `perspectivetilemap_initialize'

                              PerspectiveTilemap:404:in `shadow_initialize'

                              Shadow:155:in `initialize'

                              Spriteset_Map:147:in `new'

                              Spriteset_Map:147:in `_animationSprite_initialize'

                              AnimationSprite:42:in `shadow_initialize'



                              This exception was logged in ./errorlog.txt.

                              Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
                              ---------------------------
                              OK
                              ---------------------------


                              3. is i can not end events it keeps going back to the start after it gets to the command "End Event Processing" and when i use "erase event" prof.oak disappears so yeah

                              if you can help me on any of these 3 issues that would be great =D

                              *sorry for posting this in the wrong place last time)
                                #19    
                              Old April 3rd, 2010 (9:31 AM).
                              ~Frozen Darkness~'s Avatar
                              ~Frozen Darkness~ ~Frozen Darkness~ is offline
                              It's watching you...
                                 
                                Join Date: Apr 2008
                                Location: Staten Island, NY
                                Age: 19
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Docile
                                Posts: 502
                                Quick question:

                                How can I change a Pokemon's base stats when it is holding an item?

                                I'm trying to implement the Origin Form of Giratina, Sky Shaymin, etc. Looks good; in-battle sprites are working, and I'm working on icon sprites.

                                So, basically how can I make it so when Giratina holds a Griseous Orb, it's base stats will change?
                                __________________
                                Signature is blank right now :/
                                  #20    
                                Old April 3rd, 2010 (11:43 AM).
                                Maruno's Avatar
                                Maruno Maruno is offline
                                Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                                  Location: England
                                  Posts: 5,173
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by ~Frozen Darkness~ View Post
                                  Quick question:

                                  How can I change a Pokemon's base stats when it is holding an item?

                                  I'm trying to implement the Origin Form of Giratina, Sky Shaymin, etc. Looks good; in-battle sprites are working, and I'm working on icon sprites.

                                  So, basically how can I make it so when Giratina holds a Griseous Orb, it's base stats will change?
                                  Quick answer:

                                  See the Wiki for some hints. I can't tell you specifically because I haven't looked it up yet. It requires some non-trivial scripting, though.

                                  If you find out what's needed, why not add it to the Wiki?


                                  EDIT: Oh, and this isn't the Essentials thread. This is the "General game making help" thread. If you want to ask anything related to Pokémon, ask it in the Essentials thread.
                                  __________________
                                  Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

                                  | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
                                  | All Animations Project |

                                  Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


                                    #21    
                                  Old April 5th, 2010 (6:34 AM).
                                  Gigatom~'s Avatar
                                  Gigatom~ Gigatom~ is offline
                                  Pokemon Ruthenium Creator ~
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2010
                                    Age: 21
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 116
                                    One Question, how can I change that the tiles in Rpgmaker xp aren't 32x32 anymore. Hope this works.

                                    Gigatom~
                                    __________________


                                    Check out my deviantArt! :3
                                      #22    
                                    Old April 5th, 2010 (8:22 AM).
                                    aquakip's Avatar
                                    aquakip aquakip is offline
                                    Art Director, Pokemon Ethereal Gates
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2008
                                      Location: United States
                                      Age: 22
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Naive
                                      Posts: 192
                                      Um...I was just wondering if anyone knew how to change the positions of the sprites(in battle) in RMXP?
                                      __________________





                                        #23    
                                      Old April 5th, 2010 (9:26 AM).
                                      Maruno's Avatar
                                      Maruno Maruno is offline
                                      Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jan 2008
                                        Location: England
                                        Posts: 5,173
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Gigatom~ View Post
                                        One Question, how can I change that the tiles in Rpgmaker xp aren't 32x32 anymore. Hope this works.

                                        Gigatom~
                                        You don't. Simple as that. What do you want to do that for, anyway?


                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by aquakip View Post
                                        Um...I was just wondering if anyone knew how to change the positions of the sprites(in battle) in RMXP?
                                        That's a Pokémon-related question, and therefore you should be asking it in the Essentials thread, not here.
                                        __________________
                                        Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

                                        | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
                                        | All Animations Project |

                                        Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


                                          #24    
                                        Old April 5th, 2010 (9:31 AM).
                                        aquakip's Avatar
                                        aquakip aquakip is offline
                                        Art Director, Pokemon Ethereal Gates
                                           
                                          Join Date: Nov 2008
                                          Location: United States
                                          Age: 22
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Naive
                                          Posts: 192
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Maruno View Post
                                          That's a Pokémon-related question, and therefore you should be asking it in the Essentials thread, not here.
                                          Oh...ok. I thought it was related to game making...but I figured it out anyway. I'll post in the right thread next time.
                                          __________________





                                            #25    
                                          Old April 5th, 2010 (9:56 AM).
                                          Peeky Chew's Avatar
                                          Peeky Chew Peeky Chew is offline
                                          Master of Palettes
                                          • Crystal Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                                          Location: Great Britain
                                          Age: 23
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 852
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Maruno View Post
                                          That's a Pokémon-related question, and therefore you should be asking it in the Essentials thread, not here.
                                          Actually, Maruno, you're wrong. Pokémon Helio version isn't using the essentials starter kit, so Aquakip's question did belong here.
                                          __________________



                                          Demo Beta out Now!

                                          Closed Thread
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:55 AM.