• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Improved Battle Menu and Summary Screen [v17.2]

658
Posts
7
Years
  • Doing that means I can now enter battles without crashing, nice. But it's still using the vanilla in-battle Pokemon Summary Screen.

    I just went through the Party Plus script and found out that it overrides many of the changes made in the Improved Battle Menu. It will overwrite the Summary and also break double battles.
     
    465
    Posts
    7
    Years
    • Seen May 9, 2024
    So for move details, (since someone asked and golisopod you said you wouldnt work on it yet) is just have a new button input, and with a key press it'd give the description(?) since you can grab the selected move surely and get its desc from that. not actually looked into adding it yet, mainly since you can just view it in the summary, but it would be a nice touch;

    also i have worked on a stat-overlay, but it requires changing how the bars work and i designed it for ebs, but it works for me atleast. not looke voerally into how the hp and stuff window generates/works in base essentials but guessing it uses the actual graphic as the base and nothing can go beyond it.
     
    429
    Posts
    4
    Years
  • Could a "Lite" version of this be made that just affects how your own move selection options look in-battle, without making any changes to the pokemon select screen or anything else?
     
    658
    Posts
    7
    Years
  • Could a "Lite" version of this be made that just affects how your own move selection options look in-battle, without making any changes to the pokemon select screen or anything else?

    Just turn USE_NEW_SUMMARY to false and that will fix the Summary Screen.

    If by Pokemon select you mean selecting a target in double battles then no, that's not possible.
     

    Pokeminer20

    PDM20, Coder of Chaos!
    412
    Posts
    10
    Years
  • I actually installed your script with mine. his initial error is he didn't change the instance of
    Code:
    @sprites["fightwindow"]=FightMenuDisplay.new(nil,@viewport)
    in my script to what you put in the install instructions. other than that the only other issue is that your script forbids access to pokemon past slot 6 in battles. to fix that def pbSwitch(index,lax,cancancel) needs to have lines 524-526 changed from
    Code:
        for i in 0...6
          modparty.push(party[partypos[i]])
        end
    to
    Code:
    	if $Trainer.partyplus>=1
        for i in 0...$Trainer.partyplus
          modparty.push(party[partypos[i]])
        end
    	else
        for i in 0...6
          modparty.push(party[partypos[i]])
        end
    	end
     
    Last edited:
    429
    Posts
    4
    Years
  • I have changed USE_NEW_SUMMARY to false, and changed the modparty.push script as instructed. My new error is:

    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    [Pokémon Essentials version 17.2]

    Exception: RuntimeError

    Message: Script error within event 30 (coords 27,5), map 3 (AA's house):

    Exception: ArgumentError

    Message: morepokemonparty:1691:in `>='comparison of String with 1 failed

    ***Full script:

    pkmn = pbGenPkmn(:PIKACHU,1)
    pbAddForeignPokemon(pkmn)


    Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

    morepokemonparty:1691:in `pbAddForeignPokemon'

    (eval):2:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:1606:in `eval'

    Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:1606:in `command_355'

    Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:193:in `update'

    Interpreter:106:in `loop'

    Interpreter:198:in `update'



    Interpreter:276:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:1606:in `command_355'

    Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:193:in `update'

    Interpreter:106:in `loop'

    Interpreter:198:in `update'

    Scene_Map:163:in `update'

    Scene_Map:161:in `loop'

    Scene_Map:170:in `update'

    Scene_Map:234:in `main'



    This exception was logged in

    C:\Users\MYNAME\Saved Games\Pokemon Essentials\errorlog.txt.

    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    Is this new error a step in the right direction? I have both PartyPlus and Improved Battle Menu scrips in separate newly-inserted script blocks above Main. Should I put PartyPlus on top or IBM? And should these script blocks have names?

    EDIT:

    I tried combining my "set party size" NPC and "Give me a pikachu" NPC, didn't help.

    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    [Pokémon Essentials version 17.2]

    Exception: RuntimeError

    Message: Script error within event 31 (coords 28,5), map 3 (AA's house):

    Exception: ArgumentError

    Message: PartyPlusv2:1691:in `>='comparison of String with 1 failed

    ***Full script:

    $Trainer.partyplus='30'
    pkmn = pbGenPkmn(:PIKACHU,1)
    pbAddForeignPokemon(pkmn)


    Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

    PartyPlusv2:1691:in `pbAddForeignPokemon'

    (eval):3:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:1606:in `eval'

    Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:1606:in `command_355'

    Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:193:in `update'

    Interpreter:106:in `loop'

    Interpreter:198:in `update'



    Interpreter:276:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:1606:in `command_355'

    Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:193:in `update'

    Interpreter:106:in `loop'

    Interpreter:198:in `update'

    Scene_Map:163:in `update'

    Scene_Map:161:in `loop'

    Scene_Map:170:in `update'

    Scene_Map:234:in `main'



    This exception was logged in

    C:\Users\Jason\Saved Games\Pokemon Essentials\errorlog.txt.

    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
     
    Last edited:

    Pokeminer20

    PDM20, Coder of Chaos!
    412
    Posts
    10
    Years
  • I have changed USE_NEW_SUMMARY to false, and changed the modparty.push script as instructed. My new error is:



    Is this new error a step in the right direction? I have both PartyPlus and Improved Battle Menu scrips in separate newly-inserted script blocks above Main. Should I put PartyPlus on top or IBM? And should these script blocks have names?

    EDIT:

    I tried combining my "set party size" NPC and "Give me a pikachu" NPC, didn't help.

    change it from this
    $Trainer.partyplus='30'
    to this
    $Trainer.partyplus=30
     
    429
    Posts
    4
    Years
  • It worked, I now have a full team of 30 Pokemon! There are some visual glitches where the 7th pokemon in a row doesn't have his highlighter-selection-indicator-thing show up right, but it doesn't seem to impact overall functionality.

    New error, this one comes up when I try using more than 6 pokemon in a battle against an NPC.

    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    [Pokémon Essentials version 17.2]

    Exception: RuntimeError

    Message: Script error within event 18 (coords 30,5), map 3 (AA's house):

    Exception: NoMethodError

    Message: IBM:358:in `refresh'undefined method `battlers' for #<Viewport:0xfafc430>

    ***Full script:

    pbTrainerBattle(:CAMPER,"Liam",_I("A very good battle, indeed."),false,0,false,0)

    Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

    IBM:340:in `initialize'

    IBM:200:in `new'

    IBM:200:in `initialize'

    PartyPlusv2:3371:in `new'

    PartyPlusv2:3371:in `pbStartBattle'

    PartyPlusv2:2668:in `pbStartBattleCore'

    PartyPlusv2:2564:in `pbStartBattle'

    PartyPlusv2:2631:in `pbTrainerBattle'

    PartyPlusv2:2630:in `pbSceneStandby'



    Interpreter:276:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:794:in `command_111'

    Interpreter:320:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:193:in `update'

    Interpreter:106:in `loop'

    Interpreter:198:in `update'

    Scene_Map:163:in `update'

    Scene_Map:161:in `loop'

    Scene_Map:170:in `update'

    Scene_Map:234:in `main'



    This exception was logged in

    C:\Users\MYNAME\Saved Games\Pokemon Essentials\errorlog.txt.

    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
     
    658
    Posts
    7
    Years
  • I don't know exactly how Party Plus works but as I told yoe earlier, it seems to override many of the things that the Improved Battle Menu does.

    For example. The line I told you to overwrite in the Instructions is rewritten in the Party Plus. You need to replace it there too.
     
    429
    Posts
    4
    Years
  • I have replaced the code in both sections of script. When I Shift-CTRL-F there are now 5 instances of modparty.push(party and so on. Two in partyplus, two in IBM, and one in PokeBattle_Scene.

    edit: make that six. Tried replacing the code as commanded in PokeBattle_Scene, got another error when attempting to battle.

    ---------------------------
    Pokemon Essentials
    ---------------------------
    [Pokémon Essentials version 17.2]

    Exception: RuntimeError

    Message: Script error within event 18 (coords 30,5), map 3 (AA's house):

    Exception: NoMethodError

    Message: IBM:358:in `refresh'undefined method `battlers' for #<Viewport:0xfaf72e0>

    ***Full script:

    pbTrainerBattle(:CAMPER,"Liam",_I("A very good battle, indeed."),false,0,false,0)

    Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

    IBM:340:in `initialize'

    IBM:200:in `new'

    IBM:200:in `initialize'

    PartyPlusv2:3371:in `new'

    PartyPlusv2:3371:in `pbStartBattle'

    PartyPlusv2:2668:in `pbStartBattleCore'

    PartyPlusv2:2564:in `pbStartBattle'

    PartyPlusv2:2631:in `pbTrainerBattle'

    PartyPlusv2:2630:in `pbSceneStandby'



    Interpreter:276:in `pbExecuteScript'

    Interpreter:794:in `command_111'

    Interpreter:320:in `execute_command'

    Interpreter:193:in `update'

    Interpreter:106:in `loop'

    Interpreter:198:in `update'

    Scene_Map:163:in `update'

    Scene_Map:161:in `loop'

    Scene_Map:170:in `update'

    Scene_Map:234:in `main'



    This exception was logged in

    C:\Users\Jason\Saved Games\Pokemon Essentials\errorlog.txt.

    Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
     
    Last edited:
    429
    Posts
    4
    Years
  • I have made the changes everywhere, to all 3 places in the code that try to get my party. (i think that's what the code does)

    Those parts of the code now use your modified code, but I'm still getting the same bug whenever I try to battle someone with my full party of thirty pokemon VS someone with only two.

    Is there something extra I need to code onto NPC battles?
     

    Pokeminer20

    PDM20, Coder of Chaos!
    412
    Posts
    10
    Years
  • I have made the changes everywhere, to all 3 places in the code that try to get my party. (i think that's what the code does)

    Those parts of the code now use your modified code, but I'm still getting the same bug whenever I try to battle someone with my full party of thirty pokemon VS someone with only two.

    Is there something extra I need to code onto NPC battles?

    that would count as a mod for my script. if you can, please send me your data through discord. it's not a problem with Golisipods script at this point
     
    429
    Posts
    4
    Years
  • Battles work now, but the Pokemon Menu's "display all Pokemon" state still has a weird bug when I've got a full team of 30 Pokemon exactly and a maximum team size of 30.

    Every first Pokemon slot from the second row down acts strangely, as if it's mis-aligned and hidden behind another slot. I can only access those slots by pressing right enough times, and the slot doesn't highlight normally when it's highlighted. But if I press right again, that slot is highlighted correctly, though a different Pokemon above the first is selected. The bottom-left Pokemon slot is missing.

    I don't think I described this very well. Should I make a video to show this?
     
    658
    Posts
    7
    Years
  • "display all Pokemon"? You mean the party screen or the Improved Summary Screen. If you mean the improved Summary Screen then yeah, it doesn't support more than 6 Pokemon so you may see some bugs.
     
    22
    Posts
    10
    Years
    • Seen Nov 24, 2023
    wonderful script, thanks for share!
    i did some edits to look like HGSS style
    Spoiler:
     
    658
    Posts
    7
    Years
  • wonderful script, thanks for share!
    i did some edits to look like HGSS style
    Spoiler:

    Looks sweet. I'm not much of an art/UI person so I just ripped the Summary Scren from BW2 and made some edits.

    Also, here's the progress I've made with the script. Feedback would ne appreciated.

    Improved Battle Menu and Summary Screen [v17.2]
     
    Back
    Top