ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10276    
Old July 7th, 2009 (1:40 PM).
Full Metal's Avatar
Full Metal Full Metal is offline
C(++) Developer.
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my mind.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 806
would ANYONE know the table offset for pokecries in FireRed or Leafgreen?!?!?!
It's kinda crucial for sinnoh pokemon and all
__________________

★ full metal.

I like to push it,
and push it,
until my luck is over.

Relevant Advertising!

  #10277    
Old July 7th, 2009 (1:48 PM).
PlatniumPiano's Avatar
PlatniumPiano PlatniumPiano is offline
You are now breathing manually
     
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: Yesterday
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Lax
    Posts: 480
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
    you mean do something like this: trainer battle.midi
    well that's don't work....
    No, he means listen to the track, buy a music writing program with some good midi sounds and create the MIDI on your own. I use Sibileus, it's a great program, but the MIDI isn't as good as I'd hoped.
    __________________

    If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
      #10278    
    Old July 7th, 2009 (2:14 PM).
    HackMew's Avatar
    HackMew HackMew is offline
    Mewtwo Strikes Back
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Posts: 1,314
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
    well I have an mp3 file that I want to put in my game,however I can't find a progrm that will convert it to MIDI,someone can suggest me a usefull program?
    Converting a .wav file to a MIDI is hard enough. Converting a MP3 file is ever harder. Avoid such conversions anyway, as they're not worth the effort. You will experience enough problem to make your .mid file play the right way in the game. Just get the MIDI version of the song.


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by The blob of blobs View Post
    would ANYONE know the table offset for pokecries in FireRed or Leafgreen?!?!?!
    It's kinda crucial for sinnoh pokemon and all
    It's kinda crucial that you learn to find things yourself, sometimes. The table offset for FireRed US v1.0 is 0x48C914.
    __________________
      #10279    
    Old July 7th, 2009 (5:15 PM).
    BananasGoMoo's Avatar
    BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
    Pokemon Electrum
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Location: Richmond, California
      Age: 25
      Gender:
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 149
      erm, i'm back, firstly, dunno how many people remember me, wasn't here very long before, but i have a question:
      how do I expand a rom?
      __________________
      This signature has been disabled.
      Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
      Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

      You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

      Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
        #10280    
      Old July 7th, 2009 (8:15 PM).
      0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
      0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
      Im comin' home...
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2008
      Location: Superjail Penitentiary
      Age: 24
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Gentle
      Posts: 1,812
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by BananasGoMoo View Post
      erm, i'm back, firstly, dunno how many people remember me, wasn't here very long before, but i have a question:
      how do I expand a rom?
      XSE has a ROM expansion tool built into it...
      __________________
      >Boot Jailbot
      >Pass *****
      .
      .
      Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
      Greetings Warden
      of Superjail Penitentiary
      Awaiting user input...

      >Display User_Info
      ╠══User Info══╣
      Username:
      0m3GA ARS3NAL
      Age: 18
      Sex: Male ♂
      Race: Caucasian
      Quote:
      "What is this
      I don't even..."

      M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
      ╠══End of File══╣
      Awaiting user input...

      >
        #10281    
      Old July 7th, 2009 (11:30 PM).
      BananasGoMoo's Avatar
      BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
      Pokemon Electrum
         
        Join Date: Dec 2008
        Location: Richmond, California
        Age: 25
        Gender:
        Nature: Lax
        Posts: 149
        really? i didnt know that. xD

        i guess XSE is even more awesome than i thought.
        __________________
        This signature has been disabled.
        Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
        Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

        You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

        Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
          #10282    
        Old July 8th, 2009 (12:43 AM).
        onyx79's Avatar
        onyx79 onyx79 is offline
        Red Dead Revolver
           
          Join Date: Jan 2009
          Location: Orange Islands (=
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 503
          damn I gave to my friend to insert sprites,the sprites are awesome,but when he sent me the hack back the O\W sprites are now looking like this on a-map:
          however on the game they are looking good like normal only at a-map they look like this,what to do?
          __________________
          my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
            #10283    
          Old July 8th, 2009 (12:48 AM).
          ShyRayq's Avatar
          ShyRayq ShyRayq is online now
          Unprofessional Unprofessional
             
            Join Date: Aug 2007
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 1,482
            to above-
            um in the top row of options. You'll find the face of the player. Just press and TA DA the sprites appear
            __________________
            3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
            IGN: Peter; (X, Y, OR, AS, M)
            Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
            Living Pokedex Complete: LG, E, Pl, Y, OR, M
            Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

            PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
              #10284    
            Old July 8th, 2009 (12:54 AM).
            onyx79's Avatar
            onyx79 onyx79 is offline
            Red Dead Revolver
               
              Join Date: Jan 2009
              Location: Orange Islands (=
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 503
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Dragoon View Post
              to above-
              um in the top row of options. You'll find the face of the player. Just press and TA DA the sprites appear
              omg!why I'm so noob???????thanks!
              __________________
              my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                #10285    
              Old July 8th, 2009 (2:34 AM).
              HackMew's Avatar
              HackMew HackMew is offline
              Mewtwo Strikes Back
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Jun 2006
              Posts: 1,314
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by BananasGoMoo View Post
              really? i didnt know that. xD

              i guess XSE is even more awesome than i thought.
              You would know that if you read the built-in guide. Make sure you're using the newest version.
              __________________
                #10286    
              Old July 8th, 2009 (3:11 AM).
              onyx79's Avatar
              onyx79 onyx79 is offline
              Red Dead Revolver
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2009
                Location: Orange Islands (=
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 503
                wow! music hacking is preety easy! however I inserted a music and I saw this messeage:

                also why is converting mp3 to midi is hard?,I mean I used to convert WMV to AVI or MPG and stuff like that and it was easy,however the only related programs I find for this are programs the converts midi to mp3 and I need to oposit thing -____-
                __________________
                my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                  #10287    
                Old July 8th, 2009 (3:51 AM).
                Wichu's Avatar
                Wichu Wichu is offline
                Project Amethyst
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2007
                  Location: North Herts, England
                  Age: 24
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Naive
                  Posts: 2,051
                  It's because a MIDI file stores notes played by instruments, while a MP3 file stores the actual sound wave. If you know how an instrument sounds, it's easy to convert the notes into a sound wave. However, good luck figuring out which notes are played on which instruments from a sound wave...
                  __________________
                    #10288    
                  Old July 8th, 2009 (4:02 AM).
                  HackMew's Avatar
                  HackMew HackMew is offline
                  Mewtwo Strikes Back
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2006
                  Posts: 1,314
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
                  wow! music hacking is preety easy! however I inserted a music and I saw this messeage:
                  Spoiler:

                  also why is converting mp3 to midi is hard?,I mean I used to convert WMV to AVI or MPG and stuff like that and it was easy,however the only related programs I find for this are programs the converts midi to mp3 and I need to oposit thing -____-
                  Can you read the message? :P
                  You're missing that file. It comes with MID2AGB, so don't ask it.


                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Wichu View Post
                  It's because a MIDI file stores notes played by instruments, while a MP3 file stores the actual sound wave. If you know how an instrument sounds, it's easy to convert the notes into a sound wave. However, good luck figuring out which notes are played on which instruments from a sound wave...
                  Not to say MP3 files are compressed sound vawes. So the conversion is going to be even less successfull.
                  __________________
                    #10289    
                  Old July 8th, 2009 (5:33 AM).
                  Doom Chaos's Avatar
                  Doom Chaos Doom Chaos is offline
                  I don't have a title
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2008
                    Location: Canada
                    Age: 23
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 44
                    I tried editing the rival's intro sprite, but it becomes a screwy palette if I give him a custom name (the first time he looks fine, after I give him a custom name), the shading of the red becomes green (which looks horrible) and the skin becomes blue and white. I used BLUE's face colours, but it doesn't work for crap. Help!!
                      #10290    
                    Old July 8th, 2009 (6:14 AM).
                    Full Metal's Avatar
                    Full Metal Full Metal is offline
                    C(++) Developer.
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2008
                    Location: In my mind.
                    Age: 21
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Timid
                    Posts: 806
                    Thank you hackmew, i would like to learn how to find these things but i don't know where to begin. maybe if i understood asm more (at all), it would be easier, but for me it's very challenging.
                    Would you have a website with some tuts for me to learn how to find these sort of things for myself?
                    If posting answer to that is against this thread rules just pm me if ya could.
                    __________________

                    ★ full metal.

                    I like to push it,
                    and push it,
                    until my luck is over.
                      #10291    
                    Old July 8th, 2009 (7:30 AM).
                    Corvus of the Black Night's Avatar
                    Corvus of the Black Night Corvus of the Black Night is offline
                    Wild Duck Pokémon
                    • Gold Tier
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2009
                    Location: With the Birds
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Other
                    Nature: Impish
                    Posts: 3,429
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
                    I tried editing the rival's intro sprite, but it becomes a screwy palette if I give him a custom name (the first time he looks fine, after I give him a custom name), the shading of the red becomes green (which looks horrible) and the skin becomes blue and white. I used BLUE's face colours, but it doesn't work for crap. Help!!
                    Maybe you overwrote the sprite's pallate...
                      #10292    
                    Old July 8th, 2009 (8:12 AM).
                    HackMew's Avatar
                    HackMew HackMew is offline
                    Mewtwo Strikes Back
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                    Posts: 1,314
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
                    I tried editing the rival's intro sprite, but it becomes a screwy palette if I give him a custom name (the first time he looks fine, after I give him a custom name), the shading of the red becomes green (which looks horrible) and the skin becomes blue and white. I used BLUE's face colours, but it doesn't work for crap. Help!! :S
                    How did you edit it, exactly?


                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by The blob of blobs View Post
                    Thank you hackmew, i would like to learn how to find these things but i don't know where to begin. maybe if i understood asm more (at all), it would be easier, but for me it's very challenging.
                    Would you have a website with some tuts for me to learn how to find these sort of things for myself?
                    If posting answer to that is against this thread rules just pm me if ya could.
                    Stay tuned on my Knowledge thread.
                    __________________
                      #10293    
                    Old July 8th, 2009 (1:34 PM).
                    BananasGoMoo's Avatar
                    BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
                    Pokemon Electrum
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2008
                      Location: Richmond, California
                      Age: 25
                      Gender:
                      Nature: Lax
                      Posts: 149
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                      You would know that if you read the built-in guide. Make sure you're using the newest version.
                      right after i learned that i could expand my rom in XSE i read the guide to see what else i could do. lol

                      newest is 1.1.1 right?
                      __________________
                      This signature has been disabled.
                      Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
                      Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                      You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                      Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                        #10294    
                      Old July 8th, 2009 (1:55 PM).
                      HackMew's Avatar
                      HackMew HackMew is offline
                      Mewtwo Strikes Back
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2006
                      Posts: 1,314
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by BananasGoMoo View Post
                      right after i learned that i could expand my rom in XSE i read the guide to see what else i could do. lol

                      newest is 1.1.1 right?
                      Yeah, the newest version is 1.1.1. The Live Update will confirm that.
                      __________________
                        #10295    
                      Old July 8th, 2009 (2:27 PM).
                      Doom Chaos's Avatar
                      Doom Chaos Doom Chaos is offline
                      I don't have a title
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2008
                        Location: Canada
                        Age: 23
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 44
                        I pasted the sprite I made on the RIVAL sprite, the colours automaticaly changed so it would fit the format (PNG). How was I supposed to edit it?
                          #10296    
                        Old July 8th, 2009 (2:30 PM).
                        HackMew's Avatar
                        HackMew HackMew is offline
                        Mewtwo Strikes Back
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2006
                        Posts: 1,314
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
                        I pasted the sprite I made on the RIVAL sprite, the colours automaticaly changed so it would fit the format (PNG). How was I supposed to edit it?
                        Now I understand... that's normal. Take you sprite and index it. Then, insert it through unLZ.
                        __________________
                          #10297    
                        Old July 8th, 2009 (3:01 PM).
                        Doom Chaos's Avatar
                        Doom Chaos Doom Chaos is offline
                        I don't have a title
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2008
                          Location: Canada
                          Age: 23
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 44
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                          Now I understand... that's normal. Take you sprite and index it. Then, insert it through unLZ.
                          What do you mean by "indexing"? (My English sucks by the way)
                            #10298    
                          Old July 8th, 2009 (3:40 PM).
                          sab's Avatar
                          sab sab is offline
                          Now too much of a life.
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2008
                            Location: Midgar
                            Age: 21
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Timid
                            Posts: 995
                            Indexing (to my knowledge) means to assign a palette to the picture. In gba pokemon hacking the pallette will be either 16bit (meaning it has 16 colors) or 256bit (meaning it has 256). That is the clearest I can explain it.
                            __________________
                              #10299    
                            Old July 8th, 2009 (3:54 PM).
                            PlatniumPiano's Avatar
                            PlatniumPiano PlatniumPiano is offline
                            You are now breathing manually
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2008
                              Location: Yesterday
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Lax
                              Posts: 480
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
                              What do you mean by "indexing"? (My English sucks by the way)
                              To index the sprite, download irfanview. Then go to "image" and "decrease color depth" and make sure it is decreased to 16 colors.
                              __________________

                              If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
                                #10300    
                              Old July 8th, 2009 (4:33 PM).
                              Doom Chaos's Avatar
                              Doom Chaos Doom Chaos is offline
                              I don't have a title
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2008
                                Location: Canada
                                Age: 23
                                Nature: Calm
                                Posts: 44
                                Tried it. I tried it in two ways (probably not the right ones).
                                1- I take my original rival sprite and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. I take the 16-bit sprite and paste it on the BLUE sprite. Results: Same problem as before.
                                2- I paste my original rival sprite on the BLUE sprite. I save and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. Results: Worse than before. All the colours are screwed up. None match and there is no transparency.

                                What did I do wrong?
                                Closed Thread
                                Quick Reply

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:21 AM.