• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Is Rom Hacking Illegal?

Years
Help! I really want to make my own pokemon game but I am worried it is illegal. I don't deal with illegal stuff nor do I want to so if someone could answer this question that would be great! Is ROM hacking Illegal?

Years
  • Age 27
  • OH
  • Seen Feb 26, 2024
I'm not an expert in any sense of the word, but as I understand it, yes, ROM hacking as we do it on this forum is legal as it falls under fair use.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fair_use
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reverse_engineering#Legality

There are a few important points to consider before ROM hacking though.
  • It is not legal have a copy of a ROM file that you do not own a physical copy of -- this is sort of like the legality of music downloading.
  • Fair use in reverse engineering is dependent on the previous point
  • Distribution of ROM files still under copyright is illegal -- this is why we use patch files. Won't name any specifics, but some websites out there have been taken down because of this.
  • You cannot attempt to make a profit or claim a hack as your own unique creation -- you didn't program the original ROM, someone else did.

Of course it could be argued that a hack is a derivative work, and in that case copyright would only apply if the work was obtained legally (see first point again).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derivative_work

So short answer: yes, just don't try and sell it or share the actual ROM.

BluRose

blu rass
Years
Technically, yes, as obtaining a software copy of something you have in real life does not entitle you to another (at least how I understand it).