• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Reading physical volumes or online?

Years
  • Age 34
  • Seen Apr 19, 2024
Do you prefer reading your pokémon manga online, or do you buy the real volumes and magazines? Or maybe you do a bit of both with different manga titles?

Do you think everyone should buy the series or do you think it is okay and a decent thing to read online?

Please do not post links to online manga sites or sites that sell manga in this thread, just discuss the phenomena.

Sir Codin

I usually read PokeSpe and other Pokemon manga online because I'm a poor college student and I have no money.

I do have a few physical copies of PokeSpe, though.

Years
  • Age 34
  • Seen Apr 19, 2024
Me too, read online :< I guess I could buy volumes online, if I had that kind of money yeah. I would buy PokéSpe. But I think it's okay to read a bit online when just checking out a new manga, like when I wanted to see what RéBurst was about. It's kind of like just reading a teaser and getting more eager to buy the real thing.

Years
I prefer the physical volumes, but as I've got limited spending money and varied interests, I've only recently managed to collect 12 of the 14 volumes of the RBGY and GSC sagas, yet from that point I only have a pair of volumes from the middle of the DPPt arcs. Seeing as Viz only recently started releasing RSE, I suppose that lack of volumes after the end of GSC does make sense. It's also difficult to find the exact next volume I need for my collection, so I tend to have to skip around and buy the volumes out of order.

Draco Razr

Elite Dragon Trainer
Years
  • Seen Jul 26, 2013