• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

2nd Gen Starting With Chikorita

Years
So, you know, it's my first time playing Gen 2 and I decide I'd like to be different and start with Chikorita. Going against the grain here.

Then I come to realize, the first two gyms are flying and bug... complete pains in the butt.

Who else started with Chikorita and struggled? After beating the first two gyms, I actually remember not finding Whitney very difficult. How did you beat them?

It's been a while, but I think my strategy involved crazy grinding and a Hoothoot.

kyuubi93

What a bother
Years
  • Age 31
  • Seen Dec 24, 2018
I remember the Chikorita struggle, but I loved my first Chikorita. I didn't let it evolve past a Bayleef, just like Ash's in the anime and it was a very strong Bayleef indeed. The first two gyms proved to be difficult, but I still managed to push through them. I think I caught a Geodude to fight in those two gyms specifically while still catching and raising other Pokemon on my team.

Cool_Porygon

Lurking in the shadows
Years
I went with chikorita the first time. I enjoyed it and used Meganeum until I finished the game.
The first gym can be beaten if you get onyx or geodude.

tokyodrift

[i]got me looking for attention[/i]
Years
  • Age 30
  • Seen Mar 8, 2024