• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Discussion] What type of writer would you say you are?

Palamon

Silence is Purple
Years
  • By that I mean what kind of thing do you mainly focus on? Examples: are you a writer focused on lore? Are you a writer focused on building your characters? Are you a writer focused on writing ships? Do you prefer to write existing characters, or ocs? Etcetera.

I'd say I'm an of focused lore writer. I don't write ships all that often and primarily focus on writing original characters. Although, that isn't to say I don't write canon characters. I, for example, have written Razor three times in my main oc fanfiction I'm working on right now. So, I do write canon characters, but they'll never be my primary focus. I like to focus on my own. In fact, to be honest, I don't think I'd be able to write with just canon characters unless I'm really heavily focused.

I have rped some canon characters, though, outside of fanfic, but only like, three or so.

Bay

Years
  • In the past when I was very active with writing Pokemon I tend to do OCs but lately when I branched out I do canon characters with a mixture of ship and gen stuff. One thing I learn if writing for a fandom is most will read for the canon characters and their favorite ship, so that's why I shy away from OCs the majority of the time. I also write mixture of plot and character focused stuff.

Years
    • they/them
    • Seen Apr 19, 2024
    I tend to be pretty bad at descriptions and world building. My focus is the characters and relationships.

Hyzenthlay

[span=font-size: 16px; font-family: cinzel; color:
    Years